We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delish!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barb+Ernie's

Barb+Ernie's
9906 72 Ave, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
780-433-3242
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #404 of 2,020 Restaurants in Edmonton
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Delish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Went for a Saturday morning breakfast. Great food. Good service. Big meals. Awesome mimosas! Worth the wait in line!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    47
    21
    12
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great place if you're hungry.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We rolled out of this restaurant without being able to complete the huge portions, and were still full the next morning! Dessert was simply TO DIE FOR. In fact, I think next time we are just going for the dessert. YUM!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Okay German food (if you are not German or Austrian)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The food was ok & the service was ok. We found the food a little bland and not very authentic. Grew-up on German & Austrian food and it all seemed a little short of being "great". It seemed like something with missing with every dish. Sorry but the schnitzel was very greasy & the strudle was soggy.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hearty breakfasts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The breakfasts are wonderful. Huge portions and delicious. Try the German bacon pancakes and the breakfast specials.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I really love this restaurant. I love going for breakfast for one of their monster-sized pancakes, though sometimes I'll have their yummy eggs benedict. Be prepared for huge servings, but the food is really tasty and authentic. My dad used to live in Germany and loves eating here. If you're lucky enough to get to go there while Ernie is around, he's a great person and super entertaining.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barb+Ernie's also viewed

 

Been to Barb+Ernie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barb+Ernie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.