We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable food and atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chianti Cafe & Restaurant

Chianti Cafe & Restaurant
10501 82 Ave NW, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada (Queen Alexandra)
(780) 439-9829
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #133 of 1,979 Restaurants in Edmonton
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Queen Alexandra
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Enjoyable food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Some friends and I came here for lunch on a weekday. It was a very enjoyable and relatively stress-free experience.

The service overall was very good, and the food was just wonderful. I was especially impressed that the restaurant was able to customize orders for those who have specific dietary requirements, so that no one in our party felt left out or unable to enjoy the cuisine. I also was impressed that one could order 1/2 orders of pretty much everything on the menu.

Given the service, good food, and the ability to tailor your meal to work for you, this is a place I would recommend visiting again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    56
    28
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Chianti Cafe Whyte Ave Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Ate there last night after leaving the Keg next door and getting no food after a 2 hour wait and a rude manager.
Walked in at 9pm, waiter was great, got us a cold beer and took our orders and wer eating in 30 min. What a contrast to next door at the Keg, We had 4 beers and 2 wines along with 4 entrees for 91 bucks, we tipped out our great waiter 25 bucks, Food is always good, never an issue here. Will never go back to the Keg on Whyte, 140 bucks for drinks, then never got food after 2 hours? ridiculous, manager at the Keg didnt care. Chianti treats you good, they appreciate business and cook good food, go there and enjoy your dinner, you wont be dissapointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Carlos, SP
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice italian food on whyte”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Nice italian food on whyte avenue! Good atmosphere and value in a good location. Their coffee is just amazing for Edmonton standards.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Great service but food was disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great atmosphere and great service. Unfortunately they were not able to execute traditional Italian dishes such as bolognese sauce and carbonara. The bolognese sauce tasted like canned pasta sauce and the eggs in the carbonara were overcooked. There were clumps of egg whites and cooked egg yolks in the pasta, which was also overcooked. I used to frequent this restaurant (Old Strathcona location) when I lived Edmonton in the late 90s, but when I returned recently for a meal I was disappointed. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This gorgeous location gives a realistic Italian feel. The menu is good. The wine selections are good. The three of us all ordered a varies of dishes; veal, baked pasta, and regular pasta plus appys. All the dishes were, good. Not brilliant, not unique in flavours, just good. But the service we got, WOW. From entrance to wine delivery, food delivery to exit, was five star. That is a team effort. Thanks for that because it made our evening special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chianti Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chianti Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chianti Cafe & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.