We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and a good sleep!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Edmonton

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Edmonton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Edmonton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11330 170th Street, Edmonton, Alberta T5T 4M2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 90 hotels in Edmonton
Canmore, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great value and a good sleep!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great value for dollar and the beds are awesome. Comfy pillows and very clean rooms. A great base to explore Edmonton or for a stay for business. Restaurant needs a bit of work - cold food and slow service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdmonton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Edmonton, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear guest, thank you taking the time sharing your review of our lovely hotel. We are very happy to see that our services and amenities are to your satisfaction. We also noted the area which we need to improve on. Thank you for your feedback and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    33
    7
    1
    7
See reviews for
17
13
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Like the hotel. Good value for the area. No included breakfast, good restaurant in the hotel. Fast internet, good signal. The only down side would be poorly insonorized washroom plumbing. You can hear shower and toilet flush from above.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdmonton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Edmonton, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Breton, thanks very much for your review and recent stay with us. Particularly, we would like to thank you for sharing those professional quality photos of the room. They look great! We look forward to having you back soon and don't forget to bring your camera sir!

Warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The hotel itself was very nice. Clean room with a comfortable bed. The hotel staff was very friendly. Our only issue was with the snow removal in the parking lot next door to the hotel. There is a large engineering firm next door and the snow removal service they hire starts at 3 o'clock in the morning and wraps up around 5 o'clock in the morning. It was very loud and made it impossible to sleep. Not the hotels fault but it did make our stay less comfortable.

Room Tip: We initially booked a king room but it was above the fan over the back door. Too noisy. If it helps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdmonton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Edmonton, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear guest,
Thanks very much for taking the time sharing your stay experience at our hotel with the rest of the Tripadvisor users. We are very glad that you really enjoyed our friendly services and great facilities. Please be advised that the business managers at our neighbouring companies have been notified of the situation and we were told that they are trying their best to rearrange the snow removal hours. Please accept our apologies as you were not able to rest well. Have a great holiday season!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

They have a very noisy hvac system located on the west side of hotel. The noise is high pitch and will keep you awake all night. I have stayed at this hotel about a dozen times and have pointed this out on their online surveys they email me. I have also mentioned this to the staff on my most recent stay. I asked for a manager to call me back in regard to this problem. I did not receive a response to from my request for a call back, Clearly nobody there cares. If you're looking for a good nights sleep at this hotel you may be out of luck. I will not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Edmonton, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Traveller5200,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the noise you have experienced and for the unsatisfactory service you received from our staff. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Rest assured that this matter will be looked into. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manning, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Room was clean, quiet and the bed was comfortable. Only about a 10 minute drive to ghetto West Edmonton Mall. There is a restaurant at the hotel and a Tim Hortons down the block. We will stay here again while shopping in Edmonton.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Booked this hotel for a 2 night stay. Bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. Small problem with the hair dryer not working but that was minor. Quiet place to stay - didn't hear any outside noises from the hallway (but maybe we were lucky!). I didn't use the pool but I checked it out - it is your standard rectangular pool with a small hot tub - nothing fancy. Too deep for me to take my toddlers (no shallow end). The parking was absolutely atrocious both nights - not the hotel's fault (some people parked in multiple spots with trailers) but there is no one monitoring the parking lot (we asked after a truck and trailer took up 10 spaces!). Very close to WEM - not walking distance but a short drive. I'd recommend this hotel for the business traveler, adult couple, or a family who is just staying there to sleep (no fun extras in the pool for kids). The fast and free WiFi, location, and value are worth staying here vs right in the mall.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Clean, comfortable and quiet. Staff was courteous and helpful. Wifi worked great. AC was good too. Not much more to wish for a business trip.

This hotel is close to the west edmonton mall and right next to a car rental company. The airport is quite far but theres a shuttle service that you can purchase.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Edmonton

Address: 11330 170th Street, Edmonton, Alberta T5T 4M2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 90 hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Edmonton 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel in Edmonton, Alberta Offers Full Service Located in western Edmonton, the Holiday Inn West Edmonton is the newest hotel in the area. Our location is convenient to businesses, attractions and Edmonton Municipal Airport (YXD), which is only 10 kilometers away. Corporate guests know our Edmonton hotel's location is near Finning Canada, the Royal Bank, ATB Financial and the Brick. The Shaw Convention Center is just 15 kilometers from our hotel in Edmonton. In addition, we offer free high-speed Internet access and three meeting rooms. The city of Edmonton offers leisure guests a variety of attractions. Within just a few minutes of our hotel in Edmonton you can visit the TELUS World of Science and the Art Gallery of Alberta. We're only 3 kms. from West Edmonton Mall with its 800 shops, a miniature golf course and the Galaxyland Amusement Park. Canada's largest living history museum, Fort Edmonton Park, is six kilometers away. Our new, smoke free hotel in Edmonton, Alberta has been designed to provide you with the best possible stay. You can enjoy a delicious meal at our Chef's Grill & Bar. There's a lovely, indoor pool with a whirlpool waiting for you. Our new accommodations feature the indulgent 'Dream Royale' therapedic beds in our stylish new rooms. When you stay at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites of West Edmonton, you find relaxation and hospitality. Discover why we're the best of Edmonton's hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites West Edmonton
Edmonton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edmonton
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Edmonton Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Edmonton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.