We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay elsewhere.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13742 50 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T5A 5J6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #39 of 90 Hotels in Edmonton
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Would stay elsewhere.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed here one night. The hotel itself is under renovation, and the night we were there. I have stayed in hotels under renovations before, but for the entire stay, the elevator was not working. Also, our rooms were not ready at 4pm even though check in is at 3.
The bed in my room was quite nice, and comfortable. However, some friends, also staying at the hotel seemed to have a different bed entirely. Hopefully the difference is which rooms have been renovated vs. those that have not. My friend's room also refused to lock. And rather than move their room, the hotel kept trying to fix their door. We were late for a concert, and had to leave the door unlocked while the hotel "fixed" it. The next morning, no apology was issued for their door lock not working.
Based on the lack of customer service with the check in, and the broken door lock, I would not stay here again.
The good news is that the room was clean, and my bed was comfortable. If you are going to stay here, I would suggest asking for one of the renovated rooms for this reason.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear baad_14,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I am glad that you found the room clean and the bed comfortable. However, please do accept our apologies for not being able to deliver an exemplary quality and service during your stay. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    20
    17
    2
    5
See reviews for
23
3
4
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rumsey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Staff are always friendly and helpful!
Rooms are clean; beds are new and very comfortable; there is a choice of hard and soft pillows; substantial continental breakfast with cinnamon buns is included; and parking is very accessible even for a 3/4ton truck.
Food at restaurant is good and the prices are reasonable; and room service is wonderful.
Many other amenities are within walking distance, although in places there are no sidewalks. Perhaps the owners of this hotel would consider putting in a second elevator, as a second elevator may assist the staff with their carts get to their destinations in a more timely fashion.
I have stayed here many times over the past 3 years and always found the service and the staff to be consistently good to exceptional.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevator are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ontario
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a good cost effective hotel attached to a great gym, so if you are away for business and you need some exercise this is a good choice for the money.

Lots of restaurants near by Earls is within walking distance and there's a Swiss Chalet and a Tim's in the parking lot. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments as any and all feedback is gifts to our team. Yes our hotel is conveniently located close to shopping, restaurants, and LRT station, as you mention in your review.
We are also 15 minutes drive from Northlands, and Rexal Place you can also take the advantage of the LRT (Edmonton Light Transit System), to easy access to Downtown Edmonton or the Common Wealth Stadium.

We look forward to welcome you back to our Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton North.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

I really like Holiday Inn properties in Alberta. This one does not dissappoint. It's immaculately clean. The whole hotel smells great. Thee beds are new and comfortable. The breakfast has many of my favorite breakfast foods with eggs, bacon, Raisin Bran cereal, and a nice selection of breads. Of course, they also have awesome cinnamon rolls!
I love the rooms with microwaves and mini fridges, and a coffee maker. I would like it if they would get their first floor ice maker fixed. It's a little inconvenient to go all the way up to the 5th floor for guests who enjoy ice.
The staff is nice and helpful.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marino, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The good:
The room was furnished very well, was spacious with plenty of furniture and still had walking-around room for two. Pillows labeled as soft or firm. Bathroom counter and mirror were large. Quiet refrigerator and a microwave. Our room on the front was quiet. The LRT is a 15-minute walk. Many stores and restaurants within walking distance. The breakfast was full of choices: eggs and bacon/sausage, a pancake-making machine which I had not seen before. Much easier and faster than waffle machines. The breakfast hostess was hard working. All-Asian front desk and management.

The bad:
Only one slow elevator for a six-storey hotel. We had to "share" with too many maids and their big carts. The bed making was sloppy. I had to re-make the bed each night. Slow internet connection that went dormant often. Check-in took too long because of many procedures. And I had prepaid.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the front. The Light Rail Train and regular trains pass on the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed there with our Lacrosse team and won't ever stay there again and they will be losing our teams. Started with having problems reserving in the block if rms, and continued from there. My mom was paying for my room with her credit card and phoned during business hours to pay and leave her card and she also asked many times if they needed anything else then just the number and they said no. Appone check in I had to give my credit card and was told my mom hAd to fax things to them after she had asked when we booked the rm and to top it off she was not near a fax machine and it was 8 pm on a Friday night. The hot tub was disgusting all weekend and they were not accommodating when we asked if we could use thier breakfast rm to feed our team lunch since we were getting sandwiches brought in for them. I will not stay at this hotel again. And we do come every year for tournments and league games often.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Jenntaylor1,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. I am disappointed you did not enjoy your overall experience with us, and apologize for misunderstanding regarding the credit card authorization process. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to improve the quality and services we offer. Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback. I hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Regards,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provost, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Poor sleep, had room on back (west side) of hotel side, LRT tracks 60 feet from window, not overly noisey, but enough to wake up several times through the nght!! Nice, clean, rooms. Would stay again, just be sure to request room on front side of hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear oilers94,

Thank you for staying with us. I am deeply sorry to hear you did not sleep well. If you have a request for a different room on your next stay,
Please let us know. Thanks again.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North

Address: 13742 50 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T5A 5J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 90 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Edmonton North Hotel. We are located minutes from Rexall Place, Commonwealth Stadium, Northlands Agricom, Clareview Recreational Centre , shopping centers, and within walking distance to Clareview LRT station.Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton North Hotel is a non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Edmonton North
North Edmonton Hotel
North Hotel Edmonton
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.