We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked our six-night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13742 50 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T5A 5J6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #35 of 90 hotels in Edmonton
San Marino, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“We liked our six-night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The good:
The room was furnished very well, was spacious with plenty of furniture and still had walking-around room for two. Pillows labeled as soft or firm. Bathroom counter and mirror were large. Quiet refrigerator and a microwave. Our room on the front was quiet. The LRT is a 15-minute walk. Many stores and restaurants within walking distance. The breakfast was full of choices: eggs and bacon/sausage, a pancake-making machine which I had not seen before. Much easier and faster than waffle machines. The breakfast hostess was hard working. All-Asian front desk and management.

The bad:
Only one slow elevator for a six-storey hotel. We had to "share" with too many maids and their big carts. The bed making was sloppy. I had to re-make the bed each night. Slow internet connection that went dormant often. Check-in took too long because of many procedures. And I had prepaid.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the front. The Light Rail Train and regular trains pass on the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    20
    14
    2
    5
See reviews for
21
3
4
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed there with our Lacrosse team and won't ever stay there again and they will be losing our teams. Started with having problems reserving in the block if rms, and continued from there. My mom was paying for my room with her credit card and phoned during business hours to pay and leave her card and she also asked many times if they needed anything else then just the number and they said no. Appone check in I had to give my credit card and was told my mom hAd to fax things to them after she had asked when we booked the rm and to top it off she was not near a fax machine and it was 8 pm on a Friday night. The hot tub was disgusting all weekend and they were not accommodating when we asked if we could use thier breakfast rm to feed our team lunch since we were getting sandwiches brought in for them. I will not stay at this hotel again. And we do come every year for tournments and league games often.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Jenntaylor1,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. I am disappointed you did not enjoy your overall experience with us, and apologize for misunderstanding regarding the credit card authorization process. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to improve the quality and services we offer. Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback. I hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Regards,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provost, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Poor sleep, had room on back (west side) of hotel side, LRT tracks 60 feet from window, not overly noisey, but enough to wake up several times through the nght!! Nice, clean, rooms. Would stay again, just be sure to request room on front side of hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear oilers94,

Thank you for staying with us. I am deeply sorry to hear you did not sleep well. If you have a request for a different room on your next stay,
Please let us know. Thanks again.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel. Our room was clean and equipped with everything we needed including a microwave. The pool is small but serves it's purpose. The breakfast was awesome and the price was great for all we got. We will definately stay at this hotel again. We stayed here because we had booked at the Wingate by Wyndham but when we arrived we didn't have a room because they made a mistake on our reservation and they basically said "sorry about that" and sent us packing. Nice!

Room Tip: There doesnt' seem to be any bad rooms. Don't be affraid of the train tracks you see behind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We booked this room for four nights using Holiday Inn points. The hotel is in north Edmonton, which will be too far out for some guests, so you have to want to come to this end of Edmonton.

There is LOTS of shopping nearby, so if you want to shop, this is the place. The shopping is mainly big box stores and retail chains along with some independent stores. Restaurant selection in the area is much the same, with some mom and pop operations that we took advantage of. There is no restaurant in the hotel as it is an Express.

The staff were very pleasant and the room was spacious and clean. The hotel feels new and well cared for. Staff welcomed our 14-year-old grandson to come and visit for 2 nights without extra charge.

The rooms were quiet, housekeeping was good, and the beds were comfortable and clean. There is lots of parking, and guests can use the membership gym right next door for free, as much as they want.

There is a nice continental breakfast offered with a lot of selections including eggs, meat, yogurt, milk, fruit, and then the typical breads, pancakes, muffins and pastries. The dining room was very clean and well attended by pleasant staff. My grandson loved this, as most kids do. But stay away from the eggs - they come out of a carton or something.

Overall I found this to be great value for our Holiday Inn points. We enjoyed our stay and would return if we needed to come to this end of Edmonton.

Note: If you are using a GPS to find your way here, the GPS may not be able to find the location and will want you to go around in circles. Use the intersection of 50 St and 137 Avenue NW as your destination, and the hotel will be right behind the Swiss Chalet (northwest corner of the intersection).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in January and found the service to be excellent! When we arrived I asked for an upgrade and immediately , they were very happy to provide us with it. No hesitation. The rooms were clean, beds were comfortable and there is a breakfast bar provided in the morning...free:).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

My only real complaint is the Internet. Very slow. Pool was ok but the hot tub is very small. Rooms were nice. Did not have the breakfast. Elevators are also quite slow, we used the stairs, faster every time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North

Address: 13742 50 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T5A 5J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 90 hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Edmonton North Hotel. We are located minutes from Rexall Place, Commonwealth Stadium, Northlands Agricom, Clareview Recreational Centre , shopping centers, and within walking distance to Clareview LRT station.Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton North Hotel is a non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Edmonton North
North Edmonton Hotel
North Hotel Edmonton
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.