We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13742 50 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T5A 5J6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #39 of 90 Hotels in Edmonton
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in January and found the service to be excellent! When we arrived I asked for an upgrade and immediately , they were very happy to provide us with it. No hesitation. The rooms were clean, beds were comfortable and there is a breakfast bar provided in the morning...free:).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    20
    18
    2
    5
See reviews for
24
4
4
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

My only real complaint is the Internet. Very slow. Pool was ok but the hot tub is very small. Rooms were nice. Did not have the breakfast. Elevators are also quite slow, we used the stairs, faster every time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012 via mobile

Very nice attentive staff. They have a pool and hot tub as well as complementary breakfast in the morning. Rooms are modern and very clean. Lots of parking outside and shops nearby. I'll definitely stay here again when I'm in Edmonton.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

What you expect from a Holiday Inn

Pretty good overall, standard breakfast with yogurts, omelettes etc…

In a crappy area, right beside the LRT and train track . .
It was not too loud but some could complain.

In an area with not much to do, there's a Superstore not too far and restaurants on 50th street.

The room was good, as what you typically find at Holiday inn

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

What I like about this hotel:
Restaurants in walking distance
Helpful and friendly front desk
Speedy check in
Complimentary pass to the World Health Fitness (Great gym)
Hot breakfast was generous
Wifi
Room was clean


What I don't like about this hotel:
Location not the best. Far away from Downtown and Airport.
Bed was not really comfortable
Typical choices of soft and firm pillows but they are not as comfortable as other Holiday Inns.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

The hotel staff is excellent and the location is decent.

The breakfast is outstanding given it is included. The automatic pancake machine was a blast.

Costco is nearby and several decent restaurants as well.

Amazingly this hotel probably had the best t.v. reception of any I have been to recently, though no HBO.

The biggest downside to the hotel is it is located right next to the train tracks and the trains run all day and night.

I would definitely stay there again :) but next time I will be bringing earplugs.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

This hotel was ok. The person at the front desk was not the sharpest knife in the drawer but that's really the only thing I could say negative about the service. The morning breakfast was great! Good ladies in the kitchen areal.

If you are here on business it's not a bad place. If you are here and want to do anything like go to the mall or any of the nice places in town, for the extra $40 bucks, stay downtown.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhieedmontonnorth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Thank you for your comment through TripAdvisor. I appreciate your feed back and your help in improving our service. The guest service agent who was at the front desk during your stay is very new to our location, however, with time and training we will have the service excellence which is consistant with all of our front desk agents.
Thank you for your comment regarding our Breakfast Bar and staff, I hope you tried our new pancakes with our new pancake machine.
I'm sorry to hear you were so far away from downtown and the mall. However, if you take the LRT (Light Rail Transit System), 5 minutes walk from our hotel, this will take you directly downtown in 15 minutes. From downtown there is an express buss which takes you to West Edmonton Mall with no stops and this takes 15 -20 minutes. If driving from here to West Edmonton Mall it takes 25 minutes. Please stay tuned for our West Edmonton Mall Package coming soon to our web site.
Yours in Hospitality
Diane Fehr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North

Address: 13742 50 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T5A 5J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 90 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Edmonton North Hotel. We are located minutes from Rexall Place, Commonwealth Stadium, Northlands Agricom, Clareview Recreational Centre , shopping centers, and within walking distance to Clareview LRT station.Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton North Hotel is a non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Edmonton North
North Edmonton Hotel
North Hotel Edmonton
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.