We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No longer a nature center” 3 of 5 stars
Review of John Janzen Nature Centre

John Janzen Nature Centre
7000-143 Street, Whitemud Drive & Fox Drive | P.O. Box 2359, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 2R7, Canada
+1 780 442 5311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 82 Attractions in Edmonton
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A gateway to the heart of Edmonton’s River Valley, the newly-renovated John Janzen Nature Centre takes visitors for a walk on the wild side with programs, events and interactive exhibits designed to promote awareness and engagement with nature in an urban setting.Enjoy the Tegler Discovery Zone indoor play space, try one of our great drop-in programs, and experience natural encounters. Group, school and birthday party bookings are available.
Westlock, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“No longer a nature center”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is now an educational center for children. There are trails and such, but there is no longer anything at the center for adults and older children

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for a winter activity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The indoor playground is great, lots to keep the kids entertained for a few hours in the winter.

During the summer it's great to visit the pond and do the hiking trails in the area, it's very easy to spend a whole day in the area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

They offer all kinds of camps for all ages of kids. They all come out wiser due to the excellent staff they have. They offer birthday party rooms to rent and have a play area for the kids to bounce off the excess sugar energy. A fun day for the family

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stopped in at this centre after spending lots of time in the car. It was an excellent place for us to visit with our 5 and 7 year old. There was a really fun play room to discover and run around in. There was also a room with lots of hands on activities and information about nature and local animals. We even had a bit of time to discover tadpoles and butterflies in and around the pond outside. A perfect activity for our family and well priced at $6 for each child (parent is free with a child).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Ok - but not as good as I expected.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

I went to this place June 8th (today) the whole front walk was blocked off for construction. There were NO signs to say if they were open or not - or where to go in. When I found aside path to the entrance I found a very unhelpful lady (most city attractions have great staff) I said I was unsure if you were open - she said we are open all year, I said the whole path is blocked off with no signs, she actually says you found the door didn't you. Parking lot was PACKED (shared with Fort Edmonton)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Janzen Nature Centre also viewed

Edmonton, Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to John Janzen Nature Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Janzen Nature Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.