We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and facility!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17610 Stony Plain Rd, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 1A2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed N' Breakfast Deal
Ranked #7 of 90 hotels in Edmonton
Juneau, AK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great staff and facility!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2008

Passing through on a coast-coast trip. Very comfortable room and great breakfast and setup. Staff could not have been more helpful with directions and anything else you needed. Only improvement would be to provide more than one washer and one dryer in the laundry room for a hotel of this size.

  • Liked — Convenient location, great staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    123
    32
    5
    8
See reviews for
100
83
20
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2008

Recently stayed 2 nights at this hotel and I loved every moment of it.

The front desk staff are very friendly, efficient and quite willing to help you out with reasonable requests. The remainder of the staff from housekeeping to restaurant servers all seem to be very friendly and typically greeted you with a smile.

Our room was a single king on the East part of the hotel overlooking the parking lot. Overall the room was very clean and well equipped with all the typical amenities. The windows are of a sliding style and initially we thought the hotel had intentionally sealed them shut, however after a few moments we figured out they put a device in the track to keep dirt out and it needs to be removed prior to opening the window.

If you're staying at the hotel while visiting the West Edmonton Mall and have a vehicle do not be afraid to drive your car to the Mall... There is 2 roads running South that will take you directly there and back with minimal turns. Walking is an option but it will take you across a couple very busy roads and through several retail parking lots. It will take approximately 20-30 minutes to get there on foot.

As for places to eat, breakfast at the hotel is very nice with an excellent selection of fruit, yogurt, pastries and cereal as well as chefs that will cook your eggs to order. This comes with a cost though at around 14 bucks/person.

Right across from the hotel is Chop Steak house, if you're looking for excellent food in a chic yet casual atmosphere check this place out. Very friendly staff and management who genuinely care about your dining experience.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The distance from the mall.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

I live in Alberta and frequent Edmonton at least 6 times a year. I have stayed in numerous hotels in Edmonton, and this hotel would be in my top five for sure!! The location is great, Stony Plain road where most shoppers will stay as it close to West Edmonton Mall and the Mayfield Common and a large array of Restaurants.
The hotel is nice and clean and very accomodating and comfortable. Not many hotels have a nice washroom and a wet bar with both microwave and fridge, which is very convenient when travelling with children!!
The price is steep, unless your fortunate to have a company rate (luckily we do), but well worth it if you are picky.
Remember you pay for what you get. Yeah you could save some money, which I have done before but have been very horrified at the quality of some of the cheaper hotels.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

The hotel room and breakfast is the usual Hilton style. The staff is very friendly. However, one goes to Edmonton for the mall, which is two miles away. The mall is open every day and is the highlight to every tourist and native. Since I ran into a blizzard, I can understand why the mall was built. The location is perfect for a quick trip to Edmonton.

  • Liked — Closeness to the West Edmonton Mall
  • Disliked — Internet Connection
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

I can see why this is rated the most popular hotel in Edmonton. The place is very clean, front desk staff very competent, a good business work room. The most impressive was the bar and dining room, very small, but well tended and hte food was excellent. No surprises.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton on Friday, March 14, 2007, for one night. On the next night we were booked in the Mayfield Inn with one of many teams [provincials were occurring in Edmonton that weekend] and we wanted to stay on the Friday night. After calling numerous hotels looking for availability without success, we contacted the Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton directly and they had a room available.
Unfortunately, since the hotel was full, the only room type available was a king bedded room; we requested a rollaway to be in the room, and it was there upon arrival. We have never stayed at a Hilton Garden Inn hotel before, so we were not sure what to expect.
The hotel is not located in the best area of Edmonton; it is primarily industrial. However, it is located next to large stores, other hotels, and West Edmonton Mall is within sight. We found that the Denny's across the street was a great addition to the location, and provided fast and cheap food.
As soon as you enter the hotel, you can tell why it is rated as Edmonton's best hotel on TripAdvisor; the lobby is well decorated, with high ceilings and marble floors. We arrived early, but luckily our room was ready for us. The front desk staff displayed a polite attitude and a warm welcome.
The room was a little on the small side, however, the beautiful decor made up for it. We were on the second floor, at the end of the hallway. The king size bed was very comfortable, and one of the best beds I have experienced in a hotel. Additionally, the room included a flat-screen television, work desk and office chair, wet bar [including mini fridge, coffeemaker, and amenities], as well as practical lighting. The bathroom was stocked with the regular shampoos and body washes, and the shower pressure was far above what I have experienced elsewhere. Everything was in perfect working order in our room, and throughout our stay, the entire hotel was maintained well in a clean fashion.
The hotel also offered an indoor pool. We never took advantage of it, as the pool had a foul odor. I understand that it is common for such facilities to have an odor, however it was particularly strong. Coin-operated laundry facilities were also available for guest use. Hotel parking was plentiful and there were many empty spaces, even on a night where the hotel is fully booked.
In the evening, a platter of freshly baked cookies is placed on the front desk, which is a very lovely touch, not to mention how good they taste.
The morning of our departure, we called the front desk and asked if it would be possible to have a late check-out. Surprisingly, we were given a one-hour extension for no fee, over an extremely busy weekend. That morning, we also went to the small restaurant in the lobby, as we read that they offer a breakfast. For only $12.00 a person, we were able to dine on the buffet, and special-order with the hotel's chef. Plus, the beverages were included. It was delicious; the omelets were amazing, and it was of exceptionally good value. Additionally, our waitress was very friendly and polite, and truly made our visit extra special. She even gave us a tray to fill up to take with us.
Check out was very easy and painless; we used the Zip-out Check-out system the hotel uses [identical to express check out], where you call the front desk and leave your keys in your room.
The hotel has given us a great impression of the Hilton Garden Inn brand, and the staff at the hotel went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable; whenever you pass by a hotel employee, they always give a smile and a friendly hello. Unfortunately, the night after our stay at the Hilton we transferred to the Mayfield Inn and Suites, which was a complete disappointment and disgrace. We are returning to Edmonton later this week and attempted to book at the Hilton, but to our disappointment it was completely booked. Although the hotel was wonderful, the price was steep; the room was $199.00 plus tax for the single night. However, since it was a busy weekend, the high price was expected. We would certainly return, and highly recommend the Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton.

  • Liked — Room decor, restaurant service
  • Disliked — Price; too high
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prince george bc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2008

We stayed in one of their one bedroom suites it was excellent. We were there on one of edmonton's busiest weekends and the service was still great. The cafe in the loby made fantastic breakfasts. Its in a great location if you go to west edmonton mall. My teenagers would walk there and then take a $5. taxi back. I cant believe this is considered a 3 star hotel.

  • Liked — ROOM SIZE
  • Disliked — ROOF FAN
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton

Address: 17610 Stony Plain Rd, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#5 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton is 20 minutes away from Downtown Edmonton and only 5 minutes away from the West Edmonton Mall. It is located on 178th Street and Stony Plain Road. This vibrant hotel offers 160 beautifully appointed guest rooms, popular recreational facilities such as heated swimming pool and hot tub, reasonably priced casual dining service in the Garden Grille & Bar and newly openend Backyard Lounge & Patio, free Wi-Fi and local phone calls, only to list a few. The Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton is sure to cater to your needs whether it for business or a nice getaway, "We Speak Success!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton Hotel Edmonton
Hilton Garden Inn Edmonton
Edmonton Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Edmonton
Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.