We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17610 Stony Plain Rd, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 1A2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #9 of 89 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Beamsville, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to Edmonton at the Hilton. We were sorry that we did not have more time for the pool which looked amazing. The lobby had an immediate nice feel which made me want to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIGuestRelations, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words, we love our friendly lobby and are excited to be renovating to a new look in the coming months. Thank you for staying with us and for providing this review for others.

Michael Sieger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    166
    45
    10
    8
See reviews for
135
113
23
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here overnight after a wedding. We were a last minute booking in a King room and the staff were wonderful. From check in, to housekeeping and the restaurant staff, everyone was very pleasant and made our stay extremely enjoyable. The room was nice and clean, the bed comfortable and the hotel quiet. Definitely a nice place to stay on the Westend.

Room Tip: Top floor was extremely quiet. Do the bed and breakfast deal to save yourself $10.00 per meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIGuestRelations, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear travellinmama17,

Good to hear that you had a great stay, thank you for choosing to stay with us. We pride ourselves on our level of cleanliness and sincere customer service. Hope you will stay with us again soon.

Cheers

Michael Sieger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed two nights in Edmonton on a weekend at The Hilton Garden Inn. From the get go staff were amazing. They allowed us to check in at 1 pm even though they had a full house the night prior. The rooms are clean and spacious. I even accidently dyed one of the facecloths pink in the bath tub from using a Lush Bath bomb I purchased from the mall and they didn't charge me or make a big deal of it. The location was excellent close to shopping and restaurants. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIGuestRelations, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear 12melissaB,

I would like to thank you for posting a review of us here on TripAdvisor we appreciate your feedback. I am glad that you had a great stay with us and hope you will visit us again soon.

Cheers!

Michael Sieger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My family recently enjoyed a 2 night stay at this property and once again were very impressed. The condition and quality of the room was excellent but not necessarily exceeding this level of hotel in Edmonton. What sets this hotel apart from others in Edmonton is the staff, all that we had contact with were so friendly and helpful. The front desk was professional and helpful with any request we had. The breakfast was also very good with very friendly wait staff and noticeably efficient working together very well. The chef even took time to come around to see how we were enjoying our meal. Great stay and will be back.

Room Tip: Stay for breakfast and ask for a lower level room as the elevators are very slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIGuestRelations, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Aeroplanman,

I want to thank you for your kind words, I will share your review with my associates. We strive to provide sincere customer service and really appreciate your comments.

Cheers

Michael Sieger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family spent 3 nights at this hotel in April 2013. Our primary purpose for visiting Edmonton was to visit the West Edmonton Mall for 2 full days and this hotel was about a 5 minute drive from the mall. It was also very conveniently located to restaurants and other shopping as well. Stony Plain Rd is also a 5 minute drive to the Edmonton Ring Road (Anthony Henday) which allows a quick entry and exit into Edmonton. Our room faced the busy road but we did not notice any road noise.

We went to the pool and hot tub located on the main floor once during our stay. I liked the fact that you couldn't peer into the pool from the lobby area. The main pool was a good temperature as well as we were travelling with 2 preschoolers.

Our rate included breakfast and we enjoyed the breakfast buffet all 3 mornings (the buffet is priced at 15.95 per person if it is not included in the reservation rate). Great selection of both hot and cold selections.

The hotel and rooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly and efficient. Our one complaint was the hard beds. Even though there was an adjustable king bed in our room, we found the bed too hard for our liking. The room had a small fridge and microwave.

Otherwise a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIGuestRelations, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Calgary-Visitor,

I want to thank you for choosing us as your home away from home on your recent trip to Edmonton. Thank you for your kind comments, I will share these with my team.

Hope we have the pleasure to host you again.

Cheers

Michael Sieger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Enjoyed my stay at the hotel, it was busy and had a nice warm feel with lots of smiling staff, room was clean and quiet, Hotel is well located in the west end.

Had dinner and I have to say it was the best I have ever had at a Hiton Garden Inn I was really pleased with service and quality of food, keep up the good work gang and give the chef a raise:)

The only reason this hotel did not score higher was the following issues although minor individually they did add up to bother me during my stay.

Checked in at 3:45pm and given my room key it was nice and smooth check in, but when I got to my room they were still cleaning it so I had to lug everything back down stairs and wait but they were very apologitic.

The other items should have been noticed by housekeeping, alarm radio was broken, safe was broken, toilet deat was very loose, I did report all items apon departure but felt like I was wasting recption ladys time as she was going through a stack of room folios and there was no apology she just wrote the issues down on a scrap of paper and I was just trying to save the next guest the same issues, but that contributed to the loss of 2 stars IMHO.

I noticed in the morning no free breakfast voucher was included in my room key package and as a Gold not sure why so I went elsewhere for breakfast, no big deal it happens.

Overall a very busy and friendly hotel with good food and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to try the resturant for dinner it was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIGuestRelations, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Moduline,

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of us. We strive to make each and every guests stay with us a positive experience. Despite our best efforts on occasion we fail to meet even our own standards. I want to thank you for your candor. I will share all of your comments with my team. I trust that upon your return you will again experience smiling faces and genuine hospitality.

Cheers

Michael Sieger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed here for two weeks on business and cant say enough about the staff. Nice room, always clean and good access to outside amenities. There was a small bar fridge in my room to keep stuff, i shopped locally at SuperStore across the road. Easy walking access to restaurants like The Keg, Earls, Moxies etc. Only about 2 kilometers to the West Edmonton Mall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIGuestRelations, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Mikeyc181,

Thank you for your kind words, glad to see that we met your expectations. We are conveniently located within walking distance to several stores and restaurants that can make longer stays that much more pleasant.

Thank you for sharing with us.

Michael Sieger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton

Address: 17610 Stony Plain Rd, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton is 20 minutes away from Downtown Edmonton and only 5 minutes away from the West Edmonton Mall. It is located on 178th Street and Stony Plain Road. This vibrant hotel offers 160 beautifully appointed guest rooms, popular recreational facilities such as heated swimming pool and hot tub, reasonably priced casual dining service in the Garden Grille & Bar and newly openend Backyard Lounge & Patio, free Wi-Fi and local phone calls, only to list a few. The Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton is sure to cater to your needs whether it for business or a nice getaway, "We Speak Success!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton Hotel Edmonton
Hilton Garden Inn Edmonton
Edmonton Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Edmonton
Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.