We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great bakery with delectable goodies” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duchess Bake Shop

Duchess Bake Shop
10720-124 Street, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
780-488-4999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1,965 Restaurants in Edmonton
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great bakery with delectable goodies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I heard this was an excellent bakery with wonderful goodies. It is!! It is hard to believe such a shop can serve as many neat things as they do. I have been back half a dozen times and I have always tried something new. They are always wonderful. The seats are full. The line up looks long and as I was preparing myself for disappointment they took my order and promptly served me. An excellent place I will return to many times

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    54
    18
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“WARNING: You WILL be hooked.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This place was touted as the best bakery in Canada by some famous foodie. This strikes me as accurate. If you are looking to find a flaw at the Duchess, you will be dissapointed. A group of us went for my birthday early one Saturday morning. The line-up extended out the door and down the block, but moved suprizingly quickly! We chose an assortment of savory items includind "Spinach/Feta/Olive Bread pudding" and a vegetarian open face panino/mascarpone spread. Both divine and unquestionably fresh. then on to a heavenly blackberry meringue, "Paris Breast" (hazelnut cream pastry)which could easily become my kryptonite! Finally, thinking we might find a flaw in the somewhat mundane sounding "Browinie" But it's rich velvety chocolate won us over as well!
Even the dining area evokes a feeling of Paris Chic! The Duchess is a winner,no question.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is an absolute jewel in Edmonton and you have to stop here.

The pastries were fabulous. The soup exquisite. Even the Americano was something else. Its a delight for your palate.

The ambiance is beautiful. European and cafe like with some sofa seats and tables.

Service was excellent, friendly and fast.

I cannot say enough...you have to visit here!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
572 reviews 572 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
280 helpful votes 280 helpful votes
“Baking Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

What a treat to go to Duchess Bake Shop and enjoy one of their many delicious selections. The nice thing is that you can eat in or take out. From cookies to pies to nice coffees and teas there is something for everyone. The earlier in the day that you get there the greater the selection. This a great place to go with girlfriends or if you want to impress someone.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Truly the royalty of bakeshops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The service is always quick and friendly. The atmosphere is great. There are a wide range of selections and they never disappoint. A shop that rivals the ones in Europe. Good for takeaway or a sit down coffee.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duchess Bake Shop also viewed

 
Edmonton, Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Duchess Bake Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duchess Bake Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.