We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is okay but not all "that"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Edmonton Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Edmonton Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Edmonton Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Thornton Court, 99th Street & Jasper Avenue, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 2E7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #19 of 90 hotels in Edmonton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Is okay but not all "that"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The room was just okay but small, the bathroom tiny (could wash your hands in the sink or your feet in the tub while seated on the toilet if you wanted to). The sink bowl felt as if it needed a good scrub even tough it looked clean. Hiding the hair dryer in the closet not much help when you start looking around the tiny bathroom for one. Not a lot of space for your own stuff in the bathroom as very limited shelf space around the sink.
Really needed a place to set up our second suitcase, we kept having to move it on and off the chair or the bed.
The Wifi was a little on the slow side but had a nice comfy computor chair at the desk.
Nice HDTV, too bad it resets to hotel channel every time you turn it off.
Found service in the restaurant slowish and the breakfast buffet not worth the cost, had to ask the waiter to refill it as just about everything in it was empty. Once it was semi refilled the lineup was long as most diners hadn't found much there on their first pass thru.
Handy having the standard coffee maker and small fridge in the room although hubby had to go down to lobby to get sugar and creamer for coffee in the morning.
Very handy hotel for downtown Edmonton but then there are lots of hotels in downtown to choose from, great view across the river from the resturant and that side of the hotel.
Our room had a stale off smell, couldn't decide if it was from the water or bed linens that had sat too long nothing some frebreeze (and or a good cleaning) wouldn't solve.
Wouldn't have been at all happy with the hotel if we had been paying the plus $300 dollar per-night price listed on the door, was barely worth the $130 range our room was charged out at.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room on the riverside of the hotel as the view is worth it. There is a washer/ dry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
blueicats,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you staying with us at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown. I appreciate your feedback and will review your comments with our staff as we look for ways to improve our guest services. I hope you had a great time in downtown Edmonton and plan to return. If you do, we hope you'll stay with us again. Thanks again for your feedback.
Sincerely,
Tina Norgaard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    86
    32
    19
    8
See reviews for
25
38
16
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights on business in February . The rooms are clean but the bathrooms are tiny. the bathroom door actually hits the sink when you open the door. Good breakfast at the buffet for approximately $15.00. free wifi and has a good signal strength. The beds are great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a larger bathroom if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Luckyduck69,
Thank you for your review. We're glad you stayed with us at Courtyard while visiting Edmonton. I'm glad you liked our clean, comfortable rooms as well as our delicious breakfast buffet. Should your travels bring you back to our area, we hope you'll stop and visit us again.
Sincerely,
Tina Norgaard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Most of the hotel has been renovated and the new rooms are great. The staff were all fantastic and so helpfull. The restaurant has been totally revamped including the menu and staff. Great food at reasonabvle prices

Room Tip: A room on the back facing the river valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Aurorarocks,
Thank you for your review. We're glad you stayed with us at Courtyard and enjoyed your visit. I'm glad you liked our new look, terrific staff, and delicious food. Your compliments are appreciated, and we hope you'll come and visit us again soon. Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Tina Norgaard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Room was nice. What I would expect of a Marriott. Not quite as nice as London or Malaysia or Paris, but nice just the same. What I didn't expect was to buy 3 double lemon hart rums, and the 3rd one was from the bottom shelf. The service in the dining room was poor, I had to send my steak back. Ordered rare chicgo style, they couldn't cook it the way I wanted so just made due with out asking my opinion. My wife ordered rare prime rib and that came out medium. I certainly will not be going back to this Marriott any time soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Tisdale_ramblin_man,
Thank you for sharing a review about your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide you with the exceptional stay you've come to expect from Courtyard. The little details definitely do make a trip and we regret we missed the mark during your trip. Your feedback provides many areas that we can work on in order to improve our guest experience. We appreciate your feedback on these areas and hope you will return and see our improvements. Thank you again.
Sincerely,
Tina Norgaard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Renovated rooms were a big draw here, as were the views and central location.

A good value and some nice room variety for frequent travelers, city or valley views.

Head next door to the Fairmont for an outstanding lounge and drinks after a busy, cold day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
TFKinPS,
Thank you for your review. We're glad you stayed with us at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown. I'm glad your visit with us was pleasant and you liked our new look. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to Edmonton. Safe travels.
Sincerely,
Tina Norgaard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I've been coming to this hotel now for years for Teacher's Convention because of its location and I've really noticed that each year, it seems to be getting more expensive and the rooms are getting smaller and smaller. The room I had this year was tiny. My TV was broken and bless the poor maintenance guy that had to fix it! He was such a nice guy but it was very frustrating. I had left the hotel in the morning and told front desk about the problem and they sent someone but I honestly don't know how long the first guy looked at it. So when I got back to my room expecting a nice, relaxing break, I had to watch for an hour as a maintenance guy (who was really nice) fixed my TV. Why the first guy hadn't stayed with it until it was fixed, I don't know. The saving grace of this place is that the people working there are really nice. I know it isn't their fault for things breaking down but 2 days and close to $500 later, you expect a little better.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Lani B,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you staying with us at Courtyard each time you visit our area. I apologize for the TV not working in your room and for the disruption this caused you during your visit. I'm glad our staff was able to assist and you thought they were really nice. We value you as our guest and hope you'll continue to stay with us when traveling to Edmonton. See you soon.
Sincerely,
Tina Norgaard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Booked very last minute as plans to be in downtown Edmonton was made in haste. Staff were very friendly and accomodating. They managed to grant us our requesy for a high floor. We ended up on the 10th floor with an awesome view of the river and valey beyond. The front desk staff organized our bvalet parking as well. Room was very clean though not really soundproof. We could hear other guests' movement in the hallway. Restaurant was nice with magnificent views. The convenience shop was quite basic and not well stocked at the time we peeked in. Overall, this is a great place to stay and I definitely will return and recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river and valley. You get a one of the best views of Edmonton this way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
islandyuppie,
Thank you for your kind review. We're delighted to have had you stay with us at Courtyard, and we're glad your visit was pleasant. I'm pleased to know that you enjoyed the wonderful views from your room as well as the restaurant. Each season brings its own beauty! We appreciate your recommendation and hope you'll have another opportunity to visit us. Safe travels.
Sincerely,
Tina Norgaard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Edmonton Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Edmonton Downtown

Address: 1 Thornton Court, 99th Street & Jasper Avenue, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 2E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#19 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Edmonton Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard Edmonton Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Edmonton Downtown Hotel Edmonton
Edmonton Courtyard
Courtyard Edmonton Downtown Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.