We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest symphony!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edmonton Symphony

Edmonton Symphony
#4 Sir Winston Churchill Square, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada (Downtown)
+1 780-428-1414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 180 things to do in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Edmonton Symphony regards as its artistic mission to bring the highest quality of live orchestral performance to a broad spectrum of the community. In the last 60-plus years, the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra has taken its place as one of Canada's foremost orchestral ensembles. Its current roster includes 56 musicians from Canada and around the world, performing a wide-ranging repertoire from the great classical masterworks to pops and family concerts. The Edmonton Symphony Orchestra made its Carnegie Hall debut as part of the Spring for Music festival on May 8th, 2012.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Greatest symphony!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Very long time subscribers so we love these musicians & our conductor, Bill Eddins is the best! We travel a lot but this hall is one of a kind. You must come & enjoy!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    7
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great performance with the BNL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Saw the Barenaked Ladies play with the Symphony. The did a great job combining both styles of music for a remarkable experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A City Treasure with something for everyone.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Charismatic music director and conductor William Edins and his adventurous, young sidekick (Resident Composer) Robert Rival ensure a broad spectrum of performance options. Impressive visiting artists, given our location, plus perhaps the best organ in all of Canada, in an amazing hall, add opportunity and energy to performances. Check out what suits your style: live music to silent movies, world class classical performances, pops, rock fusion, acrobats performing in front of and even over the orchestra and audience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Christmas Pops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I enjoy the symphony anytime. The musicians here are fantastic and the conductors are both competent and interact intelligently with the audience. My favourite is the Christmas Pops series. We had made it our family tradition when we lived in Edmonton. All the classics and even some songs to sing along to. The Winspear Centre is a lovely building, come early to take a wander.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Music for all moods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been 4X since coming to Edmonton.

Each time was pure joy.

The music is various tastes, so go on line and save your seat.
They can go faster than lightning depending on what's coming.

Music lovers unite and delight

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edmonton Symphony also viewed

 

Been to Edmonton Symphony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edmonton Symphony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.