We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic European Flair” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Praha

Bistro Praha
10117 101 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0T4, Canada (Downtown)
780.424.4218
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 1,979 Restaurants in Edmonton
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Basic European Flair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Lovely cosy restaurant in an otherwise bleak downtown area. Food was well-priced and well-portioned. The schnitzel and tomato/onion salad can rival any European offerings.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    31
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Feel Like European Spy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

It is several years since I first had the Weiner Schnitzel at Prahas, and the original restaurant has burned down. The food at the new location is as great as ever.
Here it is, the lighting is too bright, I really wish they would lower the lighting. The salad is okay, modest, light dressing, but fine. The pan fried potatoes are great, probably fattening, but really good.
Then there's the Schnitzel. The most delicious, melt in your mouth perfectly prepared Schnitzel. Hammered paper thin, cooked in a light, thin delicious batter. The pieces cover your plate, but I guarantee you'll eat it all.
The atmosphere is cozy, you feel like a European spy, the Schnitzel is incredible now we just need to lower those lights.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, KS
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The place seems to be making most money from offering very thin crepes with a generous portion of whipped cream for a lot of money.
On my first visit, I have ordered the goulash with dumplings. The goulash had no spices in it, the dumplings were actually cut out of bread (!). On my second visit I have ordered the goulash without the "dumplings". It is served with 2 pieces of bread (there were 3 "dumplings" in my other dish) but it is 2 dollars cheaper.
If the entire establishment was about 1/3 cheaper of the current prices it would be worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“European charm with excellent schnitzel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is a charming little place that's a piece of old Europe. From the antique parson's tables to the classical music playing one immediately feels relaxed and in good hands. Service was impeccable. The waiter recommended a wine that was not on the wine list. Very reasonably priced and well paired with our food. We ordered salads and schnitzels. Both were excellent. This is going to be one of our regular spots. Meals with dessert, coffee, bottle of wine and 15% tip.. just under $100. I love that they offer small portions for all their entrees.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I will be real short. Lovely place, relaxing. Good food, service and atmosphere. It looks like family ran place and we really support it. Thank you

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Praha also viewed

Edmonton, Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta
 
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Bistro Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Praha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.