We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10155 105th St, Edmonton, Alberta AB T5J 1E2, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 89 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Dated look and feel throughout hotel. King size bed was comfortable but decor was a throw back to the nineties.
Positives:
King size bed
Wifi in room

Cons:
Dated rooms
Noisy a/c in room

Overall, good for a night or two but wouldn't want to stay longer than that.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    131
    85
    39
    28
See reviews for
50
47
37
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

My wife & I ended up needing a hotel room last minute in Edmonton, and given a prior stay, and the hotel's acceptance of pets, we chose the Coast Plaza.

All went well from reservation to check-out. The designated pet-friendly room was nice and clean, no smells etc, and not beaten up like others we've seen. The bed was comfortable enough, while the front desk was friendly. We ate a late dinner arond the corner at Rick's Grill, which was fine. Doesnt look like many other restaurants within a block radius.

As we were there for < 12 hours I cannot comment on various hotel amenities, but it worked well for our quick visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

I had an urgent family matter and this hotel was my first choice. Room and bed were comfortable and room service and food in the restaurant was good. Good central location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I stayed in this hotel while awaiting entry into Slave Lake, Alberat (after the wild fires) in May, 2011. The hotel was well appointed. The bed and room were very comfortable. I used the small gym a couple of times (the treadmill with the TV screen required a small adjustment). The pool was okay; and, the hot tb was great. The wireless internet connection in the room was not great; but, an ethernet connection was included; and, it worked very well for my purposes. I stayed in this hotel for about 1 week.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights to attend a conference (also held at the hotel).
The hotel is very dated in terms of its décor, but I found the room to be comfortable enough for a good night’s sleep and everything I needed in the room worked. Breakfast and lunch were catered by the hotel, and I found them to be average, nothing superb. There are a few restaurants within walking distance; we tried Boston Pizza on one of the nights. Also visited the West Edmonton Mall, which isn’t really close to the downtown area (about 40 mins via bus or 20 mins via taxi), the mall isn’t really all that special, but it was a good stroll and the restaurants on Bourbon street were pretty good. The ride to the airport from the downtown area is a bit long.

Overall, the hotel is okay, especially if you’re travelling on business and not spending a whole lot of time in your room.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor for a better view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

I stay here often for work. I find the hotel to be in desperate need of a makeover. Service is average. Rooms are very small. This hotel will not allow food delivery to come up to your room, so if you order pizza at 1 am be prepated to come down to the lobby to pay for it. Apparently there are many thieves who dress as pizza delivery men and bring hot pizzas while they rob the rooms? All in all very average unrenovated rooms with old style televisions. There have been some reports of bedbugs, although I have not personally experienced it. To be avoided unless you are in a pinch.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I stay at this hotel regularly for work. While the rooms are clean, they are incredibly dated and are in desperate need of an update. Don't know if other Coast plazas are like this.
There's a bus nearby that will take you on an approximately half-hour ride to West Edmonton. I thought the area was relatively safe, but have been told by several colleagues not to walk around the area too late at night (although really, I suppose that's applicable to any major city, especially while in a 'downtown' area). That being said, dining and business areas are nearby.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel

Address: 10155 105th St, Edmonton, Alberta AB T5J 1E2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#28 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Downtown Hotel convenient to Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.