We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly, attentive staff but only mediocre food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pazzo Pazzo Italian Cuisine

Pazzo Pazzo Italian Cuisine
10016-103 Ave. NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0G7, Canada
780-425-7711
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #154 of 2,020 Restaurants in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are located in the heart of edmontons downtown hotel district serving up traditional italian cuisine in a casual fine dining atmosephere.
Hull, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“friendly, attentive staff but only mediocre food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I love good Italian food. I was a bit disappointed as the food was only so-so. I tried the veal scallopini. It was not scallopini, rather it was a cutlet. The sauce had way too much salt. I left it to the kitchen staff to choose the pasta side. they chose penne with olive oil and garlic. the olive oil was not the high quality oil I use at home so again disappointed. Overall, I really can't recommend the restaurant.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdmontonPeterpan, Owner at Pazzo Pazzo Italian Cuisine, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
That's really not great to here I'm sorry we don't use high quality olive oil like you. Maybe next time you could mention something or ask for a different pasta instead of going straight to a bad review. Also again no mention about the scallopini either. Following up with the waitress she said you ate everything on your plate!!! Lol couldn't of been that bad considering our portions are gigantic. Sorry to force all that bad food down your throat!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    19
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“I think we were in Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We decided to hang up the pots and pans and treat ourselves to a dinner out and what a great place we chose! My husband had the mista salad and said he will only order that from now on because it was so great; my caesar salad was very good as well; the lettuce was so crisp and fresh. One of the specials was a 16oz prime rib...absolutely delicious served with a veggie medley and a pasta of your choice. I opted for the angel hair pasta with the house gigi sauce...hmmmmm! The portions were very plentiful so we both had leftovers to take home for another night of no cooking - yay! This restaurant is very busy during the week at lunch hour but just steady for dinner so you are likely to get a table without a reservation.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdmontonPeterpan, Owner at Pazzo Pazzo Italian Cuisine, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I'm very sorry to hear about your disappointment I wish you could of mentioned something so we could rectify it. As you stated you left your pasta choice to the kitchen that never happened as I am the chef and was working that evening the aglio olio is the last pasta I would recommend as it for someone that wants a very plain pasta and the olive oil we use is very high quality we do just use a classic not extra virgin oil for this dish as extra virgin will burn when we brown the garlic. Again instead writing a bad review you should of said something so it could of been rectified!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My friend and I enjoyed dinner at Pazzo Pazzo. From the Appetizers and 1/2 litre of wine to the entrees and dessert and coffee, everything was delicious. the smells of herbs, and the fresh bread,the antipasti and the pastas.
My Spaghetti Bolognese was a wonderful attack to my tastebugs. The veal manicotti was equally lovely. the coconut mango icecream and coffee wasa nice way to finish a great meal.
Can't wait to visit again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“New favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

My hisband and I went for a nice quiet dinner. We got that and so much more! Food was fantastic and portions were huge. Service was excellent. Both my husband and I are anxious to go back. Highly recommend !

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Superb Italian food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We went for a business lunch and I thought the food was great! I`m not a fan on Italian normally but now may change my mind & try more.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdmontonPeterpan, Owner at Pazzo Pazzo Italian Cuisine, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
I am glad to here we have changed your mind on Italian food. Thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pazzo Pazzo Italian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Pazzo Pazzo Italian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pazzo Pazzo Italian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.