We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Niche Restaurant - CLOSED

Niche Restaurant
11011 Jasper Ave, Edmonton, Alberta T5K 0K6, Canada
(780) 761-1011
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between 111th and 112th
Transit: Many of the buses stop at the transit stop directly in front of our restaurant. The LRT stations that are nearest Niche are Grandin and Corona (equidistant to Niche), about 3 blocks away.
Description: Niche is a cosy and intimate restaurant and cocktail bar located in the heart of downtown Edmonton. It’s the perfect place to enjoy a great meal and friendly conversation. The menu is simply delicious and unpretentious, created with the highest quality and locally sourced ingredients. Real cocktails and a nice unique wine list make this the perfect destination for an evening out. Niche offers a little something for everyone's tastes. It truly is where you belong.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I enjoy the local food industry in Edmonton, and enjoy seeing what local Chef's come up with on their menus. Niche, had a nice selection on their menu, and great atmosphere. I would caution going as a large group of more than 4 people, as it seemed to bog down the staff and kitchen.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    1
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
“A little piece of heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Went to Niche for a date night and loved it!
Staff were so great, reccomended an excellent bottles of wine to go with our appitizer of charcuterie and cheese which was also lovely.
The Duck Confit melted in my mouth, I would come back just for this dish! The music, service, food right on par our new favorite resturant in Edmonton.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

The beef cheeks are very tender. So yummy. My friend had the lamb and said it was really good too. She said it was very tender as well. Excellent food. Will definitely eat there again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Worst meal anywhere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Four of us went for dinner here after hearing both good and bad reviews from friends. One friend had said it was the worst meal she had ever had. She was right! Two of our party ordered the bison tenderloin with risotto. The risotto was absolutely cold and tasteless. The bison was 3" by 3" and less than 1\2" thick overcooked to the texture of beef jerky. Couldn't be cut. One person had the salmon special which was supposed to include "heirloom vegetables". Not one veggie on the plate, just cold tasteless "wild" rice. The salmon was also about 3" by 3" and burnt along the edges. It came with 2 very overcooked ( rubber) shrimps. One person had the smoked tuna with spinach and chickpeas. There were cold chickpeas at the bottom of the bowl under a bed of spinach which was "turning". The tuna was again about 2 ounces, maybe, and the "smoking" was liquid smoke. It had several white spots from it's freezer burn. The staff did apologize and provided our table with a charcuterie plate which was well put together. If this was an off night, I wish them luck, because an experience such as this is unlikely to lead to a second try - I just can't imagine having a second meal as bad as this one was. By the way, each entree was in the $25 range.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great local food, good service, balanced wine list and tasty food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Recently went with a group of 7 so had a good sampling of the menu. Appetizers were a nice size for sharing, the soup of the day (Pork and Cabbage was a bit flat) so I recommend the beef carpaccio or the goat cheese. Of the mains the Whitefish was fresh and beautifully cooked, the beef cheeks tasty with a lovely presentation and the salmon (special of the day) was superb. The guest who had the duck loved it - but did not share so I can not comment. The brioche mango dessert also very tasty as was the chocolate square. It would be nice to get a full pot of tea instead of a tea bag flung into a half cup water but I guess you can't have everything.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Niche Restaurant also viewed

 
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Niche Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.