We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not disappointed at all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Melting Pot of Edmonton

The Melting Pot of Edmonton
#117 2920 Calgary Trail NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6J2G8, Canada
+1 780-465-4347
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 1,885 Restaurants in Edmonton
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: European, Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: He Melting Pot of Edmonton is a fondue restaurant that specializes in capturing the ultimate interactive dining experience! Whether you are looking for romantic fine dining for two, a happy hour party with friends, or a family gathering in our party room celebrating a special day, our gourmet fondue and intimate atmosphere are the perfect ingredients for an unforgettable night out! The Melting Pot delivers outstanding cheese fondue, wines, salads, entree fondue, and our famous chocolate fondue!
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not disappointed at all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I was a little worried going into the Melting Pot as I had read many negative reviews. Our experience tonight was excellent. We had been able to get a last minute reservation. When we got there, we were greeted/welcomed by the front staff and taken to a table. Our waitress came very quickly and took our drink orders. She was attentive and present throughout the meal. I had NO complaints about her level of service. She was personable, helpful and efficient.

We had the spinach cheese fondue which was fabulous. The caesar salad was next for us. It was exactly as I remembered it. I tried some of their seasoning mix but I didn't feel it added anything to the salad other than extra salt. The best part of the salad was the parmesan encrusted pine nuts. My only criticism is that the salads portions were VERY small. We opted to skip the main course and went immediately to the turtle chocolate fondue. Again, excellent. I had asked for some extra fruit immediately, and our server brought more than enough. Although the chocolate could have been a little warmer, we still finished very little bit.

I had a coupon for chocolate covered strawberries which were ready when we left.

All in all, we were extremely pleased with our restaurant choice and would not hesitate to go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    47
    21
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“LOVE LOVE LOVE The Melting Pot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I have gone to the Melting Pot in Edmonton many times. It is a great place for an anniversary or date night with your significant other, a big group of friends or a night out with the ladies. The food is always amazing. It is awesome to see which Big Night out is on the menu as it is fun to try the new cheese and dessert from that menu. Fondue restaurants take time to eat, so don't go here if you are looking for a quick meal. If you are looking for a place to enjoy the company you are with, while eating an amazing meal.....This is the place for you!!!! Can't wait for my next meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great night with entertainment included”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

If you want to try something very different, Melting Pot is a must. It's a 2-3 hour evening and if you have a personable waitress like we did, the whole event was awesome! She was funny, informative and made the experience wonderful. You get what you put into it... don't be closed minded and give it a try. Great flavors but a bit pricey.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We went here for a dinner because we had heard how wonderful it was. We'll never go back.
We were prepared for the high price but not for the small amount of mediocre food. We are not big people but a few pieces of meat, veggies and fruit and 2 drinks for over $150.00 plus tip, never again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great, unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The Melting pot is a very unique and excellent experience. I didnt know what to expect, but it was awesome. Everything you eat, from appies, meal and desert is done in a fondue pot, at your table by yourself. It is expertly explained by the great server. It is expensive, but a great to try for a special occasion. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Melting Pot of Edmonton also viewed

Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to The Melting Pot of Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Melting Pot of Edmonton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.