We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like West Edmonton Mall, this hotel was a disappointment.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Edmonton West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Edmonton West to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17610 100th Ave., Edmonton, Alberta T5S 1S9, Canada (Place LaRue)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 89 Hotels in Edmonton
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just like West Edmonton Mall, this hotel was a disappointment.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took our family to West Edmonton Mall for a few days, thought it would be a good idea to stay close to the Mall. I've stayed in other Comfort Suites before and was always impressed, but not this time.

Although the location seems to get 4/5 in reviews (It is close to WEM), we sure didn't feel safe. The first night there was an altercation in the parking lot which required a police response. The next day there was a car with potheads smoking up about 20 feet from the front door.

The hotel staff were average at best, the rooms were small and outdated, even with the supposed renovations that have been completed. The toilet in our room would run constantly unless you adjusted the handle in just such a way. We won't be returning to the Comfort Inn Edmonton West

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement C, General Manager at Comfort Inn Edmonton West, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay with us. It is always disappointed to get a review like this, so allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations. I have passed your comments to the department heads so that we can look into improve on those areas. We hope we will see you again soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    27
    20
    18
    21
See reviews for
34
25
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The name of this Hotel Comfort Inn is perfect I was very comfortable. The room was always cleaned. The people was very polite asked how my sleep was or my night i do get up very early like 300 am the coffee is always on. Fresh i do like my coffee to the point i hace a thermos. Yes i can fill up my thermos , wow not just a cup of coffee this is the first place that gave free coffee lots to my satisfaction idrink coffee 24 hout any time. I needed to do alot of laundry they have washer and dryer coin use very reasonable price and clean yes I got all my laundry done. I dont lie to have dirty laundry in my Jeep and I could smell it I do have sensve nose it always knows. I felt very safe everyone was friendly and helpful. THANK YOU ALL THE STAFF of this hotel.

Room Tip: friendly polite make you feel welcome Very clean home athmosphere. I've been in edmonton since F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement C, General Manager at Comfort Inn Edmonton West, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and we certainly appreciate that you scored us so high in our services and cleanliness. Please visit us again soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel this past weekend and it is a clean hotel and very close to the Mall if that's your reason to visit Edmonton. It is a good hotel for the budget traveler. The issues that I did have with my stay wouldn't prevent me from staying there in the future. But the issues were frustrating. First, when I booked my room online, on the choicehotel.ca home page for this particular hotel it lists under the heading ROOM, that there is microwaves and fridges. Implying that every room has them. It didn't say if it was only certain room types etc. When I booked my room, there was only one room type to choose, so I could not compare to see if one type had a fridge and another type didn't. Check in was smooth and the staff were friendly, but having to go back every single day to have my room cards reactivated was an inconvenience. Especially with small kids and having to trek around the whole building each time we would try to access any of the numerous card required entrances. But on the first day I was standing in line waiting with four other people also having to have their keys reprogrammed not to mention the others that wanted to check in and the front desk clerk was taking phone call after phone call, ignoring the line up. Then another staff member at the end of their shift chose to ignore the line up, walking through all of us and out the front door. It stormed during our stay and the sidewalks were extremely icy. There was no reason why they weren't salted. Even two days after it quit snowing, I saw numerous people having close calls when walking out the front door. Also for two straight nights there were extremely intoxicated people running up and down the hallways, and calls to the front desk went unanswered.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement C, General Manager at Comfort Inn Edmonton West, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Comfort Inn Edmonton West. It is disappointed that you have experienced some shortfalls. The key cards can be demagnetized easily through some scans, credit cards, cell phone etc. My apologies for that. Yes, not all the rooms equipped with microwaves and fridges. However, we are working in improving that area. I hope you will keep visiting us whenever you are in Edmonton.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadow Lake
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently we traveled to Edmonton and stayed at Comfort Inn Edmonton West. The hotel overall was slightly above average. Staff was friendly. Location of the hotel is good for travelling to West Edmonton Mall. We stayed in a room with 2 queen size beds along with fridge and microwave. The room was quite small but it was clean and has seen some updates. There is no pool or complimentary breakfast but we were aware of that. Pros: Good location for West Ed Cons: small room

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement C, General Manager at Comfort Inn Edmonton West, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear RonB,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write us a review to share your experience on your recent stay with us at the Comfort Inn Edmonton West. We appreciate your compliments and we use your comments to improve areas needed. We are very close to the West Edmonton Mall like you mentioned, as well, easy access to downtown, major Highways and Edmonton International Airport. We all hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed 1 night as a quick stopover on our trip between Yellowknife and Jasper. It was clean quiet, walkable distance to the West Edmonton Mall and staff were helpful. Note that there is a hotel shuttle from the airport, or pay for the Sky Shuttle.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement C, General Manager at Comfort Inn Edmonton West, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your enjoyable stay with us at Comfort Inn Edmonton West. We appreciate your kind comments about the cleanliness and our location. You are right, we are very close to the West Edmonton Mall. We are located conveniently if you need to go to downtown, south or north of the city, major highways and Edmonton International Airport. We all hope to accommodate your stay again when you are in Edmonton next time.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband had booked a queen room with a sofa bed and fridge. When we checked in they said they were up grading us to 2 double beds. Seems they gave away our room. Which would be fine if fit in double beds. I am 6ft and my husband is 6ft 3in. Neither one of us had a good nights sleep. I wouldn't call this an upgrade. More like a down grade. Very disappointed in the room. The tap dripped all night in the tub, The plug for the tub didn't work and my daughter wanted to have a bath. Ended up plugging the tub with a facecloth. Will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement C, General Manager at Comfort Inn Edmonton West, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Tricia,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. I apologize to learn about your experience. I have taken a look at your booking. It was booked through a 3rd parties site for a Standard One Queen bed and yes it does come with a sofa bed. However, our ground floor rooms are actually an upgrade and the two double beds would be more comfortable for your family and your daughter compare to the sofa bed. We shouldn't changed your room type without your agreement. I will talk to the staff about it. Did you mention or inform our front desk regarding the bath tub issues and stopper at all? As we would be happy to help you. Again I apologize for your experience and hope you can contact me directly to discuss your experience. I really hope this will not deter you from visiting us again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015 via mobile

Our stay was great! The front desk staff were great at check in and check out. Our room was nice and clean. My husband and I were on a weekend away and we had a great time. Thank you to all the friendly staff and Clement the manager. We would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement C, General Manager at Comfort Inn Edmonton West, responded to this review, March 16, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to write us a review regarding your recent stay at the Comfort Inn Edmonton West. Your recognition of our staff services and the cleanliness of the room are very appreciated. We all are very happy to learn that you and your husband had a enjoyable stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Edmonton West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Edmonton West

Address: 17610 100th Ave., Edmonton, Alberta T5S 1S9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Place LaRue
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 89 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Edmonton West 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 100% smoke-free Comfort Inn, situated in the West End, has newly renovated the front desk and lobby area which now includes a 24-hour business centre, fireplace and sitting area. All bedrooms have new carpet, vinyl, drapes, 32 inch flat screen tvs & new vanity and tile in the bathrooms. All rooms are equipped with free wireless high speed and the hotel offers a small meeting room. Melt into your pillow-top bed with Truly Yours bedding. Upgraded rooms are equipped with a fridge and microwave. We are a pet-friendly hotel and offer ground floor rooms with a patio. Ideally located minutes from the West Edmonton Mall, Rexall Place, Telus Space & Science Centre, great shopping and restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Comfort Inn Edmonton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Edmonton
Comfort Inn Edmonton West Alberta
Edmonton Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Edmonton West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.