We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place - will stay again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Edmonton West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Edmonton West to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17610 100th Ave., Edmonton, Alberta T5S 1S9, Canada (Place LaRue)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 89 Hotels in Edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place - will stay again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We are two seniors and had a great experience at the Comfort Inn Edmonton West. Everything was spotless, the beds were very comfortable, our room was very spacious and clean, the friendly front desk staff, especially the manager Mr. Chin, went above and beyond to ensure our satisfaction. There is no hot breakfast on the premises but Free Breakfast coupons are given for Albert's restaurant next door and the food is delicious! We stayed 2 days (mid-July 2014) and would definitely book again if we ever come back to Edmonton! I have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone. Close to Edmonton Mall, close to main highways, shopping, restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement C, General Manager at Comfort Inn Edmonton West, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your time to write us a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Thanks so much for your kind comments about our services.
Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    31
    25
    18
    24
See reviews for
41
28
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is our fifth Comfort Inn since we started our cross-Canada trip and it was very disappointing. The first room we were given reeked of cigarette smoke tho it was supposed to be non-smoking. When I complained, I was told the room was newly renovated, but I told the clerk I wanted it changed. We were given another room which still smelled but not as much. We were told there was no breakfast as this hotel was too small. However a few hours later I heard the clerk tell another guest there were vouchers for a restaurant next door; we were not told that. Went to Denny's instead. The bathroom was the newly renovated one. The room looked clean but the bureau was too huge. Worst of all was that the wi-if did not work at all the two nights we were there. I was given a 1-800 number to call. Poor customer service. I got the impression they are doing nothing to correct this. There was no night light in the bathroom. The fridge had a broken freezer door and the fridge was placed on a couple of 2x4. Lots of little details that management is not looking after. I also was asked to give a $100 damage deposit which no other Comfort Inn had ever done. The clerk who checked us in could not even tell us how to go around the hotel to park our car; obviously poorly trained and unfamiliar. Yes it was very close to the West Edmonton Mall but I would never stay here again. There are many other places to choose from.

Room Tip: Smokers like the first floor rooms so they can smoke outside the patio doors. Non-smokers beware. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement C, General Manager at Comfort Inn Edmonton West, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We thank you for your review as it highlights our shortfalls and allows us to improve our service levels. We value feedback from our guests and endeavour to address any shortfalls and constantly improve the overall levels of service and quality throughout the hotel. For the breakfast vouchers, we have a qualified rate for the breakfast. Apologize for the confusion. And we have already started on the investigation of the WIFI to see if upgrades needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Unfortunately, there is not much good that I can say about this hotel (2014/Jun/10 – 2014/06/12). It seems to be a byway for transient workers on the way to somewhere else. The room we had (238) was in poor shape. For instance, the bed closest to the door was worn and uneven. It sloped toward the night table making it almost impossible for my spouse to get a decent sleep.

There is no elevator, so if you are on the second floor, be prepared to carry your own bags up the steps.

The bathroom ceiling was not very clean. My spouse demonstrated to me just how easy it was to clean with a wet tissue. So, it was obvious to both of us that housekeeping ignored the problem, didn’t always look up or weren’t given sufficient time to do a thorough cleaning.

The Wi-Fi was extremely poor!

The only two positives about this hotel were the Front Desk Staff who were friendly, courteous and helpful and the breakfast package at the restaurant (Albert’s) beside the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement C, General Manager at Comfort Inn Edmonton West, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
On behalf of management and staff we apologize for the recent stay that you experienced. Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We will use it to improve so that it will not repeated. We have started to go through bathroom by bathroom as well working on the WIFI part. We really hope to see you again soon.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Definitely LOVED the location, 5 minutes from West Edmonton Mall and an olive garden across the road! (from Saskatchewan, so this is a great plus haha)

They have recently done some renovations which is evident in their lobby, considering how small it is they definitely make the most of the space! We had a room with 2 double beds, very spacious and very clean. The front desk staff was fabulous and very helpful answering our questions.

Be warned this hotel do not have free breakfast which choice hotels is known to have, luckily a mcdonalds is right next door.

Will definitely stay here for our next visit to Edmonton - Thank you Comfort Inn West!!

Room Tip: Be warned they have NO free breakfast unlike every other comfort inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement C, General Manager at Comfort Inn Edmonton West, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your time to write us a review. We appreciate you choosing to stay at the Comfort Inn Edmonton West. We all hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Pull out sofa sheets were blood stained. No other rooms available at the time. Requested a full refund of our money but was only offered a free night stay there with breakfast. WILL NOT STAY IN THEIR ROOMS AGAIN. Management offered points for the Comfort Inn chain however the value was fractional to what was paid for the room. Head office only willing to pass on emails when the management at the hotel would not reply to emails. Terrible customer service for what we felt was very unsanitary and most likely a health code violation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement C, Manager at Comfort Inn Edmonton West, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We do respect your opinion and are distressed that the cleanliness of your room was not to your satisfaction. The true measure of an accommodation is during its busiest period, and it looks like we need to improve. An experience like this is not indicative of our hotel, its service or quality. We set very high standards for our housekeeping department and are consistently performing quality checks in our rooms and through guest feedback. We would like to assure all guests that cleanliness is a priority at our hotel and that is reflected in many of the reviews of our hotel on this site. We deeply apologize for your experience and hope you can give us another chance to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Travelling for work , spent a couple nights in the west end . Great location , stayed here last year as well close to the big mall restaurants , clean rooms and friendly staff .. Would stay again . Used the buisness centre to print off a few items .

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement C, Manager at Comfort Inn Edmonton West, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time to write us a review. We really appreciated that you recognized our services. I will sure share this review with my staff. We hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kootenays
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Room Rate charged was not what was quoted at time of reservation.
higher and a different rate for second night.
There is now a $100.00 deposit or fee taken in addition to a pre authorization which was upsetting to MANY guests checking in as they were not advised of this prior to arrival
Pet fee has increased, when we booked it we were told 10.00 on check in we were told 20.00. Our child pointed out to the book in the room that tells about the property that the fee was 10.00. The staff was told this and she said all their information has been changed out. So it seems we travel with hotel book pages and insert them just for the fun of it.
Front desk staff was run off her feet. phone was not being answered as there were so many check ins and only one staff. ( 8:00PM )
Hotel states undergoing renovations. It has been this way for over two years.
There used to be a breakfast voucher that didnt cover the entire breakfast but it helped. This is no longer
First night young kids were running up and down the halls after 11:00 PM. Front desk was notified
Second night one of the kids apparently pulled the fire alarm which rang for over an hour, This was after 11:00 Pm
on check out this was mentioned to the staff & words fell on deaf ears. the staff said well did you report it to front desk, you should have reported it. when they were told it was reported it was if the staff tuned out of the conversation.
Really disappointing for a business and family trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement C, General Manager at Comfort Inn Edmonton West, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. The room deposit is a standard procedure. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Quality Inn West Edmonton
Quality Inn West Edmonton
#34 of 89 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Place LaRue
Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Edmonton West
#6 of 89 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Place LaRue
BEST WESTERN PLUS Westwood Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Edmonton West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Edmonton West

Address: 17610 100th Ave., Edmonton, Alberta T5S 1S9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Place LaRue
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Edmonton West 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 100% smoke-free Comfort Inn, situated in the West End, has newly renovated the front desk and lobby area which now includes a 24-hour business centre, fireplace and sitting area. All bedrooms have new carpet, vinyl, drapes, 32 inch flat screen tvs & new vanity and tile in the bathrooms. All rooms are equipped with free wireless high speed and the hotel offers a small meeting room. Melt into your pillow-top bed with Truly Yours bedding. Upgraded rooms are equipped with a fridge and microwave. We are a pet-friendly hotel and offer ground floor rooms with a patio. Ideally located minutes from the West Edmonton Mall, Rexall Place, Telus Space & Science Centre, great shopping and restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JackRabbit Systems, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Comfort Inn Edmonton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Edmonton
Comfort Inn Edmonton West Alberta
Edmonton Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Edmonton West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.