We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another great stay at this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10010 104 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0Z1, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #32 of 90 Hotels in Edmonton
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“another great stay at this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

i have travelled to edmonton several times over the last few years and have stayed at this HI Express location at least 4 times. They have a wonderful huge pool, and a great complimentary breakfast. The costs of hotels in the area are pretty similar, yet i get a good breakfast here, and the locations is perfect - close to everything !
i would highly recommend this hotel.
Have never had an issue with the staff as they have been quite professional whenever i have been there! I dont find the rooms outdated at all

If you are looking to compare any Holiday Inn with the Ritz, you are comparing apples to oranges - still a fruit but not the same thing! I am comparing this location to other Holiday Inns and similar hotels of the 3-4 star category, and i find this hotel to be amongst the top!
Will continue to frequent this hotel when i visit Edmonton

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear jeanne s,

It is always a pleasure to have you at the hotel and we really appreciate the positive feedback for our Award-Winning Team. The hotel prides itself on exceptional service to go along with the value our property has with our SMART START breakfast, swimming pool, fitness centre and hot tub. We agree our breakfast and a dip in the pool is an excellent way to start the day. Thanks as well for mentioning our ideal downtown location, centrally located to theatres, museums, government buildings and some of the best food options in Alberta.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    77
    33
    10
    13
See reviews for
34
29
19
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking to just find a place to rest your head overnight, you *might* want this place.

Cost:
$150+ per night for a slightly run down hotel that typically smells of chlorine, booze, and cigarette smoke. Quite pricey for what you are getting. I'd rather fork out an extra $20 per night to stay at a nicer hotel for anything longer than an overnight. Parking is an extra $10 per night.

Rooms:
Rooms are a bit nicer than some other common areas. Beds are comfortable with a nice selection of pillows labelled either "firm" or "soft". TV with N63(?) and spacious. Nice vanity counter area. The fridge, microwave, and coffee maker in the bathroom is a bit weird.

Staff:
Front desk staff were courteous but nothing to brag about. The breakfast buffet staff member who was working on Thursday morning was terrible! I watched her walk in front of guests with her dish cart and just stop it right in front of them so that they had to walk around her. She did the same thing while restocking the breakfast bar. I was trying to get to my coffee and I actually had to ask her to move so that I could get it. Not only did the guests not come first, they came last.

Location:
Downtown location was convenient for my purposes but the hotel across the street was having some issues with the police. If you don't have to stay in this area, I wouldn't.

Breakfast Food:
Make it yourself pancakes, toast, gross looking cinnamon buns (that not even my husband touched), selection of vitality juices, teas, coffee (decaf and non), gross eggs (half runny half hard first thing in the morning), and little ham circles. Nothing to brag about. A good selection and variety but properly cooked food is lacking. Save your money, find another hotel, and go to Tim Hortons for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear GlobeTrttr,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such extensive feedback on your recent stay at our property. We really appreciate the opportunity to respond to such feedback and use it to improve our overall operation and service delivery.

First, I want to sincerely apologize for a less than entirely positive experience at our hotel. We pride ourselves on delivering a top-notch hospitality experience here at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown. We are pleased you enjoyed our signature Firm and Soft pillows and the large flat screen TV in your room. I am also happy to read that you agree with many of our guests that our location downtown is ideal.

With respect to some of your specific concerns, you are correct, parking is a $10 fee per night and that rate has remained unchanged for years. It is lower that any other downtown property and we charge the minimum possible to still maintain our lot (snow removal, cleaning, lighting, lining, signage, etc). We do have a Gas & Parking Package available that does take care of this charge for guests, perhaps an option in the future.

Our SMART START Breakfast, continues to be an industry leader in both choice (many of which you listed) and quality. We've provided your feedback to our Food & Beverage leaders to ensure all items are cooked according to our strict standards and the guest experience is exceptional.

Thank you again for your feedback, we really appreciate it and hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have stayed at this particular hotel before joining trip advisor and I had good reason for coming back. The hotel is very clean, not out-dated and the first time I stayed here I got a bag of goodies for being a priority club member. Unfortunately, I was not greeted as enthusiastically as the first time around, the receptionist asked me a number of awkward questions and then gave me a room that was already occupied. In spite of that, the washrooms are spacious and very well kept. I am impressed with how quiet the hotel is being that it is in a great location downtown and having a balcony is an added bonus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear lxgldsmth,

We were so pleased to see you are a return guest to our property. Thank you so very much for taking the time to provide feedback. I sincerely apologize if your check-in experience was not as smooth or positive as your previous stay. We are in the process of training some newer Guest Service Representatives, and with any position, they can be nervous at times and perhaps provide some 'awkward' service. We are working on a plan to identify staff in-training so as not to impact your overall guest experience. I was very pleased to read the hotel still meets your standards of cleanliness and you appreciated our complimentary Priority Club goodies at check-in. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice, clean & comfortable. Good breakfast selection. Front desk personnel very helpful. Room had a small balcony which was nice. Would like it better if we were staying in the summer and could make more use of the balcony. Good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Jhun74,

We agree - some warm weather cannot get here quickly enough! We really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. We have circulated your comments to our entire team. It is a great reinforcement and reminder of why we love our jobs and this hotel! We are pleased you recognize the value in having a balcony as many properties no longer have them. We look forward to welcoming you back - hopefully this summer, or sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
red deer
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is very clean and quite. Staff is very friendly. nice balcony. Very comfortable. Be prepared to pay for parking. But parking is $10/day. Good breakfast included. Good location and easy to find

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear cwhoward24, Thank you for your review as any and all comments are gifts. We are so very pleased you had experienced a great and comfortable stay made possible only by our Award Winning Team. We always keep all of our guests at the top of mind and enjoy hearing back these types of comments. We hope to see you soon on your next trip to Edmonton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed 1 night on business in this hotel. The location of this property is awesome, the room was OK (nothing really to complain about the room itself), the breakfast was aweful and staff were nice and helpful. They should really work on their breakfast and choices being offered. If you travel with Red Arrow bus, this is a great place to stay for 1-2 nights.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear YasinH, Thank you for your review as any and all comments are gifts. We do have the best and convenient location for business, government, education and shopping. The Red Arrow has always been a bonus for our hotel for any traveler whether it is for business or leisure. I am so very pleased you had experienced our Award Winning Guest Services. We are currently working on enhancement solutions for our Full Hot Buffet Breakfast with our Brand for guest satisfaction. We hope to see you soon on your next trip to Edmonton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The rooms are very small, there's little response to adjusting the room temperature (it's too hot), the continental breakfast was awful: all the egg omlettes had meat in them (I asked), the bagels were all white flour based, the brown bread was that awful squishy kind, the muffins were white flour based and super greasy, the yogurt was non fat sweetened with sucrose, and the only fruit was a few tired old oranges. The maid service did not give us new lotion, shampoo and conditioner, the wireless connection kicks you off constantly so you are asked to login in over and over and over, and the movie/games service is either incomprehensible or not working.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear ginagoldie, thank you for your feedback as any and all comments are gifts. We are very sorry to hear you did not receive our normal high standard of service during your last stay. During unseasonal warm days our central heating unit is switched off, however, due to fluctuations in daily temperatures, we cannot always turn the system off. We would have offered use of a fan in this case to cool off the guestroom you were in. We are nearing a renovation which will address the central unit and will have individual units for our guests comfort. Our Brand Standard hot buffet breakfast is very extensive and may not include specialty diet items. We are collectively working on solutions for this issue. We will address the issue you had regarding replenishing the in room amenities with our room attendants. They all endeavor to keep our guest rooms maintained and we are very sorry you did not experience this. We do have technical support through Liveport in just such situations as yours. We do look forward to you coming back and would like the opportunity to personally speak with you regarding your last stay as your comments are truly important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown

Address: 10010 104 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smoke Free Downtown Edmonton Hotel's Location is IdealThe Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown offers unparalleled service & amenities for your next visit to Edmonton, Alberta. Our hotel's staff will make your stay memorable.Guests of our renovated Edmonton hotel know our location, in the heart of downtown, means they can walk to the Alberta legislature, TELUS Field or the Citadel Theatre. There are so many things to do in Edmonton, from the 30 annual festivals, events at Rexall Place and the wonders of the West Edmonton Mall, that only a downtown Edmonton hotel's location will do.Corporate travelers know that a hotel's location in Edmonton can help them and our downtown location means easy access to the University of Alberta and the Shaw Conference Centre. We know what business travelers want when they travel, so we have free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. There's a 24-hour Business Centre and meeting rooms that can seat up to 200 people and we'll even handle your catering needs.Our guests know that the Holiday Inn Express Edmonton hotel's amenities add value to their stay. There's the free breakfast buffet each morning and easy access to the Free Press Bistro in the hotel. 90% of our rooms feature a balcony as well as a pillowtop mattress. You can relax in the indoor pool, whirlpool or the steam room after a workout in the Fitness Centre. Stay Smart at our Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown Hotel Edmonton
Edmonton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.