We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medical Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Edmonton South Hotel & Conference Centre

Save Saved
You added Delta Edmonton South Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Delta Edmonton South Hotel & Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4404 Gateway Blvd., Edmonton, Alberta T6H 5C2, Canada (Calgary Trail North)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 90 hotels in Edmonton
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Medical Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Where to begin, I wish my visit to Edmonton was for pleasure, but it unfortunatly was not. I had to drive in from Regina to visit a ill relative. The staff at Delta Edmonton south, were amazing. Upon learning of my "accident" outside of the hotel ( having never seen 4 lanes of traffic in one direction with out a divider) and getting hit turning into the hotel, the staff were able to help me locate a near by autobody shop that would be able to help me get my driver window back up to I could travel home in a few days.
On top of that Karin from the front desk sent up a nice welcome gift with a card offering condolences about my Ill family member.
Both Karin anf Kyle from the front desk as well as a few others whos names elude me at the moment were also very helpfull in helping me choose the best directions to get to the locations i need to the next day.
I have happy to say that I am proud to have the pleasure to working with people like those at the Delta Edmonton South. Keep up the good work guys, it's this kind of service that makes the difference.
J Douglas
Delta Regina Conference Centre

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    31
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
17
16
5
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our stay was a very pleasant surprise. The survice was great! To come back to a cheese platter and bottled water after our day trip was a very nice touch! I would recommend this hotel, and we will be staying again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A S, General Manager at Delta Edmonton South Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,
All of our team focuses on providing an elevated level of experience to our guests and I am so glad that you enjoyed it so much to share your wonderful feedback and give us your continued loyalty.

Thank you,

A Sandhu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary, Alberta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'll be upfront and say that I always love Delta Hotels, the rooms are consistently nice, clean, modern and comfortable. That being said, some other aspects of various Delta's are not as consistent. Here are my pro's & cons for the Delta Edmonton South.

Pros:
Free Parking with easy access to nearby stores & restaurants
Friendly & helpful staff, quick check-in and check-out times
Nice lobby
Very comfortable beds, slightly firm mattresses but not too much, beautiful linens
Updated bathrooms with nice amenities
More electrical outlets than you can ever hope for (no crawling behind night tables!)
Nice gym room
Great alarm clock/iPod docking station with a dimmer switch

Cons (definitely not reasons to skip this hotel, but cons nonetheless):
Teeny tiny elevators
Dated pool area with no steam room (everyone loves a steam room)
Rooms around the elevator on the top floor on a wedding night won't get much sleep without earplugs ('The Top of the Inn' event space entrance is kitty-corner to the echo-y elevator lobby and they plunk a nice loud grand piano right at the main door for little kids to pound at all hours)
Shower pressure was just 'meh'.

All in all I enjoyed my stay here, and wouldn't think twice about booking again if the price was right.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A S, General Manager at Delta Edmonton South Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your continued patronage of Delta Hotels and we never take it for granted. Our newly renovated rooms are very well liked and I appreciate many other qualities that you described for our guests to experience. You will also be pleased to know that we are updating our pool area in early September and will move the piano right away. We also have 3 fully updated elevators for our guests.
Thanks again for your lovely comments and continued loyalty to Delta Hotels.

Regards,

A Sandhu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wembley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a Friday work conference and chose to stay overnight. Nice room, bed was okay-a little firm. Good breakfast buffet. Easy location to find, central to city access. Exterior a little shabby, but interior has been renovated.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A S, General Manager at Delta Edmonton South Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
I am thrilled with your feedback. Delta Edmonton South provides exceptional meeting experience in our fully renovated ballrooms and the meeting rooms. Our location is also perfect, you can reach all main attractions within 15 minutes, be it the airport or downtown or West Edmonton Mall.
Thank you for appreciating the new renovated guestrooms and the focus on cleanliness that we take pride in.

Regards,

A Sandhu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Rooms getting a facelift. Nice to see, we've stayed there for the last two July Long Weekends for a sports tournament and it's been ok for what we needed. Staff always accommodating. Parking can be an issue if you arrive late.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A S, General Manager at Delta Edmonton South Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
I am glad that you loved your rooms and the stay. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and apart from the ground level parking we also have a three level parkade that provides ample parking for all of our guests.
I hope to welcome you again soon.

Regards,

A Sandhu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had booked two nights here, ended up only staying one - after going to bed at around midnight, a loud mobile device / alarm, went off every 10 minutes in the room NEXT TO ME. I did not CALL THE front desk but at check out, when i told the agent (kyle), he was more upset over the fact that why i did not call to report this problem to the night shift front desk agent. he had no sympathy for me what so ever. Unacceptable, when I paid $249 + taxes for my queen deluxe room.

Room Tip: get a room away from the elevator & on the side, facing the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A S, General Manager at Delta Edmonton South Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
I profusely apologize for your experience and it is completely unacceptable. I have followed up personally and can assure you that this is not the norm and hope that you give us another opportunity to redeem your trust. Please contact me so that I can apologize in person and request you for one more chance to prove how much we value your patronage.

Regards,

A Sandhu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My bottom line:
Housekeeping staff - 5/5
Front desk staff - 2/5
Beds - 4/5
Rooms - 4/5
Lobby - 5/5
Amenities in hotel - 3/5

The details:
The housekeeping staff and guest services were absolutely wonderful, nearly beyond compare in my traveling experience. They will work around your schedule, are friendly and genuine, and will even wait outside with an umbrella to walk you to your car if it is raining!
The Front Desk staff is, sadly, a bit of a different story! We had trouble checking in AND checking out, each took us 45 min - 1 hr because they seemed to lack knowledge and did not seem sorry, or even apologize, for the delay.
The beds are comfortable, if a little firm!
The rooms are quite lovely. Ours had only a walk-in shower, no bath, but was very streamlined and modern. They provide in room hook-ups for everything electronic you could dream of... I streamed Netflix over my laptop and plugged it into their TV with no effort. This is an AWESOME service that I've never seen elsewhere. The view is also quite nice if you're higher up (we were on the 11th).
The lobby is beautiful, sleek and modern, with an attached bar and a restaurant just around the corner. Definitely an aesthetically pleasing and calm atmosphere.
The pool was small and dated, there were few vending machines with few choices. Room service staff was great, but the food was less so. Some things were quite good, but most I found somewhat poor quality/taste. Restaurant service was slow, but friendly, and the food was mostly poor tasting. The bar had great nachos!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A S, General Manager at Delta Edmonton South Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
I appreciate your effusive praise of our housekeeping and guest services team and am glad that you like our beautiful new rooms. I am following up on your comments about the service experience that you had with the Front desk as we all should be delivering a consistently high level of service that you have come to expect from us.
We are also going to update our pool area in early September and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Regards,

A Sandhu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Delta Edmonton South Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Edmonton South Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 4404 Gateway Blvd., Edmonton, Alberta T6H 5C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Calgary Trail North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#15 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta Edmonton South Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Delta Edmonton South Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Edmonton South Hotel And Conference Centre
Edmonton Delta
Delta Edmonton South Hotel & Conference Centre Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Edmonton South Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.