We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Edmonton

Save Saved
You added The Westin Edmonton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Edmonton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10135 100th St, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N7, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #35 of 90 Hotels in Edmonton
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We found the hotel to be top notch. I don't know what type of hotels some of these other reviewers are used to staying at but, with extensive experience ourselves, we found this property and all of it's amenities to meet or exceed our expectations.

At check-in we were immediately greeted warmly and treated with the utmost hospitality with smiles and helpful inqiries from all staff we encountered. Was easily given a modest upgrade upon asking (from trad. dbl to SPG room king). Bellman offered us water before he even took our bag - provided nice opening of room - demostrating operation & features, setting t'stat, etc. to wife while I parked. Was disappointed the fitness area was closed for renos - a mention of this at time of reservation would have been helpful - having had all fitness gear packed. Room was in good condition, very clean, fully funcional, all requirements and a few extras (i.e. wine glasses - nice). Very comfy bed.

Dined at Share restaurant. Was treated very hospitably by Don our waiter & Eddy. Made to feal very comfy - right at home actually. While the service was terrific my meal slightly disappointed: advertised "7 ounce" tenderloin was maybe 3 ounce - maayyybe 4 before cooking - ordered it "medium" cam well done & a little tough. Should have said something - why does it make one so uncomfortable to complain - maybe because the servers are so kind. Rest was exemplary.

Parking is a bit of an issue. I took a parkade 1 block away and bought the maximum time from one of those automated kiosks (no attendant these days) - it said it expired at 8:00 next morning so was a bit anxious although received no ticket & car was still there at 10:00 - recommend using hotel's valet service - I will next time -and yes, there will be a next time. We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    201
    140
    89
    41
See reviews for
105
130
59
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

The room is spaciouse but noisy and cold with poor customer service. I stayed in other westin before, never had such a terrible stay like this in westin edmonton. I phoned three times to clean the room again or to move to a clean room, the room was dirty It took for ever to get the service. The washroom was not cleaned, mold and dry yellow spots on the toilet seat. When i checked in i waited in line for over 45 min. One person at the check in at busy time. One great thing i enjoyed was the food especially the breakfast still too pricy. You have to pa fkkor internet and parking by the time you leave your one night stay is over € 200.00. It is not warth it at all .will never stay in westin again. There was many other hotels in the same location much nicer cleaner and cheaper for example macdonald fairmont is next to it, great service and clean

Room Tip: A suite room with king size is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

As a Platinum SPG member I have stayed in a lot of Westins and Sheratons and must say that the Edmonton Westin is the worst value for money I have seen in a long time.
No upgraded room on check in, I get a free granola bar, no free water, there is no Starwood lounge or club floor access. I can't change the input on my TV to play a DVD and they refuse to help.

And all this for $225 dollars a night. Seriously considering checking ut and going to the Sutton Place hotel across the street for $148.

Weston management, your hotel is a has been so quite acting like your the royal palace.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

This is a very modern hotel located in the centre of the city. The rooms are very nicely furnished not the largest ones I have been in but ample. The swimming pool and fitness area is well laid out and functional.

I think the thing which makes this hotel is the staff. I had the most delightful person check me in.

The prices in the bar and restaurant are a little on the high side. I also wish it was connected to the City Centre Mall but at least it is only 1 block or so.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

As one of a limited number of upper/mid level hotels in Edmonton, the Westin charges big city rates (maybe not NYC, but certainly at least Chicago). That said, if you or your expense account can bear it, the hotel is well maintained and well staffed. The rooms are large and, while the wall paper and bathrooms seem a bit stale, the furniture looks good, the beds are comfortable and the desk provides plenty of work space. The staff has generally been very courteous, professional and accommodating throughout my two night stay. However, I would not that despite all of this, both times I've ordered room service, I've had to ask the server to return because something on the order was messed up or left out. That being said, the food here (whether late night room service or in the restaurant) has been excellent; and I really mean that. Outside of celebrity chef restaurants at certain hotels, the food here is as good as any hotel I've been to. One other downside, the gym is cramped and the equipment is getting old. But if that's the worst of my gripes, then that is pretty good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Just finished a one night stay at The Westin Edmonton and I booked it as an SPG Member (loyalty program for the hotel) Being a member, we were put on the SPG Preferred Member floor 14. This hotel has 20 floors in the main tower and 8 floors in another building for the rest. This hotel boasts over 416 rooms so its a large hotel in Edmonton. It has suites available on the top floors. The SPG Member rooms is from floor 14 to 20. Its located in downtown Edmonton close to most amenities like LRT, a few downtown malls, office buildings, library, Churchill Square, restaurants and the Shaw Conference Centre.

Lobby/Check In: This was a Saturday and there are many people staying there for corporate Christmas Parties and other functions and obviously it was busy. Nice lobby, clean, uncluttered front desk with modern oak look panel. There is a cafe/restaurant /bar off to the side that can accommodate about 100 people dining in which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner and light meals in between. Towards the interior, there is bar service as well. This place is licensed and full service so you can always get a meal to eat. Pricey but convenient. There is a souvenir shop beside it too.
The line-up to check in was long as there was three front desk personnel out of four available counters. Even though the lineup was 10 people in front of me and 10 more in the back, growing longer by the minute, they worked really fast and efficiently. It was my turn within 15 minutes. When it was our turn, the front desk gentleman dressed in a grey suit still greeted us in a friendly manner and welcomed us. He asked us for our reservations, if we needed parking, took our credit card payment and gave us our keys. Done in less than 5 minutes! Wow!

Parking: Unfortunately, its downtown Edmonton and parking is a premium. $27 for self parking, with valet parking available at a higher price. There is a value package where for $30, you can buy self parking, local phone calls and Internet service (wireless and hard wired) for those needing it. As today is a busy day, most parking are taken by guests, and other functions. There are only levels A to E in the heated underground parking which fills up fast. Then directly behind the hotel, another overflow parking out in the elements which was also filled really fast.

Room: For safety, we insert our room card into the elevator to go up to our floor. The shape of the main tower curves so the hall way and rooms are also curved. Clean hallway and three elevators with telephones on each floor as soon as you step out of the elevator. We were booked into their "Traditional King Room" Once in the room, it was a nice sized room about 220 Sq feet with mocha coloured walls and dark black-brown coloured furnishings. Large curved window featuring black heavy curtains, white sunshade blinds, and a blackout shade in the middle. There is a king sized bed that is higher than average height with a headboard built into the wall. There is one side table beside the bed with a Sony Dream Machine clock radio and brushed steel lamp. There is also a grey arm chair with a small frosted glass topped table with another lamp in the middle of the room. The desk is large, with frosted glass top as well. The neat thing about this desk are the height adjustable office chair and the pull out two outlet surge protector hidden in the desk. Very sleek. Also a nice, large, brushed steel table lamp on the desk. The look of the furniture and accessories have a contemporary look to them including the bathroom hardware.
There is a dresser which you can put your clothes in, and it also serves as a cabinet for the bar fridge. Its not stocked so its perfect for me. The top of the dresser holds the nice chrome ice bucket, pair of wine glasses and short heavy based glasses. The coffee maker is a newer one cup micro brewer style featuring Starbucks coffee and Tazo branded teas. NICE! Instead of coffee mugs, they gave a pair of Starbucks paper cups with lids so you can take your hot beverage on the go! (You may also get your complimentary hot tea and coffee in the morning at the lobby if you are lazy).
Mounted on the wall is a 32" LG LCD TV with full cable.
The bed is a king sized, with 3 layers of bedding that is very comfortable and feels premium. Good thread count and materials. By the way, you can also buy the bedding from the Westin catalog, along with other stuff featured in their rooms too. The closet is large and deep, with at least 7 hangers, and there is an steam iron with board and portable luggage rack.
The bathroom is roomier than your average bathroom with a bathtub and double headed shower. There is a bathrobe behind the door on the double hook. 3 large bath towels and a pair of face towels and hand towels on the rack above the toilet. The toilet is your average 13 litre tank variety. Counter top is granite with one sink and toiletries include their white tea formula shower gel, shampoo and conditioner. Their soap is leaf shaped which is a nice touch. They even have a round, chrome pedestal mirror that has two sides for normal and magnified viewing which illuminates. The hair dryer is not built in to the wall so you can plug it anywhere in the room. There are no shortage of mirrors in this room. Locations are in the bathroom, on the bathroom door facing the hallway, hallway opposite the closet and in front of the work desk. The rooms are inter-connected as I got two doors on either side of my room. Great for families or large groups.

Fitness Centre: 24 hours access to fitness room with towels available for the pool users. The pool is average size, featuring salt water. 3rd floor.

Pros: 24 hours room service and open late for cafe in the lobby with full menu and its licensed for alcohol. 24 hour access to fitness room and pool. Interconnected rooms, nice little touches in the room like pedestal mirror, LCD TV, office chair, surge bar, arm chair, modern coffee maker and premium choice for beverages. Wine glasses, and chrome ice bucket. Ice machine on every floor! Premium bedding, large room. One bottle of complimentary water.

Cons: Fridge was not cold for us, maintenance exchanged it for us within 20 minutes of placing service call, but second fridge still not cold even though we set the max. Disclaimer sticker and service express even said it will not cool below 6 degrees celcius. But it did not even reach that cool for us. I had other hotels mini fridge colder than that and they had mini freezer shelf too. Parking costs too much and not enough on weekends.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

The hotel is well-situated in downtown Edmonton, close to shopping and offices. My room was nicely decorated and well-appointed with a few nice touches like free bottled water, and a soft bathrobe. The fitness centre includes a swimming pool and a small but well-equipped exercise room. Sadly there is no hot tub, which would be a nice touch on a cold Edmonton evening!

The hotel lobby provides a few creature comforts including Starbucks coffee during the morning hours and warm hand towels in the afternoon.

The only minor complaint that I had was that hotel's business centre charges for the use of the internet on its computers. In a hotel of this calibre, I would expect that the business centre would provide internet in its business centre without charge. However, this issue isn't enough to prevent a five star rating.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Edmonton

Address: 10135 100th St, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 90 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Edmonton 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown and connected to the Shaw Conference Center, The Westin Edmonton is only a few steps from the best shopping, dining, arts and entertainment Edmonton has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Westin Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Edmonton Hotel Edmonton
Westin Edmonton
Edmonton Westin
The Westin Edmonton Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Edmonton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.