We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC ALL AROUND!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canterra Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Canterra Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Canterra Suites Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11010 Jasper Avenue, Edmonton, Alberta T5K-0K9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 90 Hotels in Edmonton
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC ALL AROUND!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay in Edmonton for one night or for one month (or more), this is the place! Everything about the Canterra Suites is top-notch! I wish they had a Canterra Suites in every city where I travel!

The rooms are clean, new, updated and spacious. My wife, toddler and I stayed in a one-bedroom and it was plenty big. All rooms come with a kitchen (stove, oven, toaster, coffee maker, dishes, cutlery, glasses, pots, pans, dishwasher, etc.). There is no street noise (like at other places) and you will get a great night's sleep! It is conveniently located next to a shopping center with restaurants, a Starbucks, and a grocery store.

The people who work there (management, front-desk, housekeeping, maintenance) are exceptionally nice and competent.

We have never been so happy with a hotel stay -- and we have stayed at Fairmount Hotels, Ritz Carlton Hotels, and Four Season Hotels.

If you stay anywhere else, you will be sorry that you missed out on this terrific place!!!

Room Tip: Every room is great! Seriously!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
2
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed here with family for 5 days while attending a swim meet. Great location, the mall directly east of the hotel has a supermarket, liquor store, Starbucks and several restaurants. The two bedroom suite was very clean and the housekeeping staff are wonderful. I brought a bike so there is a rack in the parkade and best of all Canterra is directly on the Edmonton bike path system, so you can get to the river valley etc... without having to navigate any streets.

Only a couple of small negatives 1) Parking can be somewhat of a pain as you need to park about 1/2 block away in the far end of the mark parking lot. Not bad in summer, but having stayed in Canterra in the winter, it is a inconvenience 2) No late check-outs, although the staff are very friendly and helpful, Canterra has a policy of not late check-outs so don't even ask.

All in all a great location and hotel if you are looking for a full service suite.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Traveling as a businessman I experienced the comfort and peacefulness required to conduct business and also get away from the hustle and bustle of the work routine. The Apartment suites are handsomely decorated with ample room. Comfortable and well maintained. They are an older building in the heart of downtown. Someone has gone to a great effort to make this building a jewel of a find!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel while visiting my mother who is in a facility right around the corner. The one bedroom suite included living/dining area with fireplace, kitchen, large bedroom and bathroom with large tub and shower and even a washer and dryer.It was exceptionally clean...the staff very friendly and helpful and it's just a short walk for groceries and a few restaurants. Location is right on Jasper near buses and the rail. I thought it was a great value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I stayed here after relocating to Edmonton. I placed a request for a quiet room which was origially rejected but then the manager was able to arrange it. All the staff were polite, friendly and knowledgeable. The suite was actually one bedroom plus a living/kitchen area and an office so was more than adequate. Coffee was replenished daily.

Highly recommend!

Room Tip: I had room 510 which was very quiet and at the back of the hotel (opposite side to Jasper Avenue).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

The staff at this hotel were exceptional. The two bedroom suite we stayed in was spacious and clean, and our son loved his stay, as he got so much attention from the amazing staff. The cleaners would even accommodate his nap schedule!
I would highly recommend this hotel for value, and location it was a very short walk to the train station, and had shops adjacent to it so we could get supplies easily.
It may be worth requesting a room at the rear of the building if you are sensitive to noise, as it located on a busy road.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We travelled in a group of over 10 people and booked several suites. Rather than booking 4-5 of the standard 2-4 person rooms found in other hotels, booking with this hotel worked out a lot better for us. The individual rooms within each suite gave couples/individuals the privacy they needed, while the common areas in the living room and kitchen allowed family members to gather and chat. Having a full kitchen allowed members of our travel group to eat at their leisure and for their own dietary needs, without having to eat out every single meal. The grocery store was conveniently located a few steps away for getting food for meals and snacks. Plenty of restaurants are also located nearby on Jasper Ave.

The suites were overall very spacious and incredibly clean (the cleanest I have ever seen in a hotel). The hotel staff were knowledgeable, helpful, and catered to our needs. Their customer service levels rank at the top of what I've experienced in all of my travels.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canterra Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterra Suites Hotel

Address: 11010 Jasper Avenue, Edmonton, Alberta T5K-0K9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 90 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Canterra Suites Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Canterra Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterra Hotel Executive
Canterra Suites Hotel Edmonton, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canterra Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.