We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Union Bank Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Union Bank Inn to your Saves list
Union Bank Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10053 Jasper Ave, Edmonton, Alberta T5J-1S5, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 89 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Recommended boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Recently had a lovely stay overnight in Edmonton's Union Bank Inn. My usual Fairmont Hotel MacDonald did not have rooms available, so I decided to give UBI a whirl. Colleagues have recommended it and I've had lunch at their excellent Madison's Grill. I'll back their recommendations.

It's a quaint refurbished property on Jasper Ave, next to the Telus towers with a tiny park separating it from them. The lobby is a bit tight, but clean. The front desk was helpful and friendly. My reservation package was waiting for me when I arrived late in the evening. I chose to stay in the contemporary tower (have a choice of heritage for what looked like more frilly surroundings). The elevator was efficient and the halls were clean. Keycard door security lets you through to a somewhat compact room that had a queen bed, desk, 2 windows, built-in electric fireplace topped with a very large HD TV. The bed and pillows were clean and comfy...so much so, I passed my alarm by 45 min. As with all older hotels, they could use more electrical outlets for all my gadgets. TV is a satellite cable box and a channel card with the remote was appreciated. On my desk was a complimentary small glass of white wine and plate of cheddar, crackers, grapes and olives....nice touch as a night cap. The windows were old, but well maintained and had heavy drapes to shut out the unremarkable view of buildings. Bathroom was clean and well appointed with the usual amenities. The shower tub was a plastic enclosure with several curvy shelves...nice. I wish the curtain rod was a curved one to give a tad more shoulder room. The closet had 2 robes that I didn't use and a programmable safe.

The room also came with a complimentary breakfast at Madison's Grill downstairs. The restaurant is in a large beautiful ball room styled space with chandeliers and architectural finishes. I sat by a window looking out to the tiny park mentioned above. The service was excellent and efficient. The coffee, with your own personal insulated stainless steel carafe, was hot and flavourful (darker French type roast). You order off the menu and I had an excellent blue crab frittata that included whole wheat toast, sauteed potatoes, fruit cup and a side of ketchup. Without my complimentary coupon, the breakfast entree was $16.

Check out was efficient and professional. I highly recommend UBI and will be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Choose between contemporary or heritage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    49
    21
    9
    16
See reviews for
14
110
13
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River, BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband had surgery in Edmonton. Because of special needs after his surgery the room we had did not work for us and the front desk staff went out of their way to quickly organize accomodation that met and even exceeded our needs. This was done at a time when they were fully booked and had to be very creative in their solution. Every staff member asked us each time they saw us how we were doing and if they could do anything to help us be more comfortable. They were genuinely caring and kind. The food and room service were terrific as was their very beautiful dining room. The chef even offered to make meals and have them delivered to the hospital so that my husband wouldn't have to eat horrible hospital food! Everyone just did so much more than would have been required to meet ours needs. When we return to Edmonton there is no where else that we would stay!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a unique place to stay, I highly recommend this hotel. The rooms are well appointed and come equipped with a fire place. The staff is excellent and extremely accommodating. The food at Madison's grill, attached to the hotel, is also excellent.
They serve an a la carte breakfast and each day a wine and cheese sampler is sent to your room. If you are a gym person, they don't have much here, but there is a World Health Club and the YMCA within a short walking distance.
It is located in the heart of downtown and would be great for both business and personal guests.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Union Bank Inn is your best choice for business or pleasure accommodation in a town known for the sameness of chain stores and hotels. This boutique hotel is located in a red-brick historic building right in the middle of the action in downtown Edmonton. You will be within walking distance of all the amenities offered - the Citadel Theatre, the Art Gallery of Alberta, the Winspear, the casino, downtown shopping and soon, the new downtown arena. Choose from heritage style rooms to contemporary, each with comfy beds and fabulous individual style. For you dining pleasure, visit Madison's Grill downstairs. They work with local produce featured in an ever changing menu. This restaurant offers some of the best dining in town. I book guests to the city at this hotel whenever possible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Staying here again while attending a concert in Edmonton. This is the only hotel we stay in while in Edmonton. Its a boutique hotel that is located in a historical building that has outstanding service and very comfortable rooms. They cost a bit more but we feel it is worth it and the included breakfast in Madison's Grill is amazing (no skimpy breakfast - a la carte with great selections).

Room Tip: You can choose from one of the heritage rooms (very romantic) or a contemporary room which is more b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The Union Bank Inn has a fabulous location, although the rooms do not generally have notable views. Very helpful desk and cleaning staff. Good restaurant, but service can be eccentric. Rooms are well appointed and plenty big enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here last summer with my husband. Actually used a Groupon to do so, for the second time in prob 18 mos or so. We live here in the city. We had such a great time the first stay we thought "Heck yes!" for a second stay.

Beds = comfortable. Yes really! Lovely plush comforters. Linens are higher-end as well. There's a fireplace in the rooms. We've stayed in the heritage wing ("classic decor") and in the executive ("modern decor") and both are equally well-equipped.

UNFORTUNATELY I would not recommend Madison's for anything but an included breakfast as the prices sadly don't justify the meals in both portion and taste. There are ten trillion other restaurants within walking distance of Union Bank that are much better!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Union Bank Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Bank Inn

Address: 10053 Jasper Ave, Edmonton, Alberta T5J-1S5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#14 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#14 Family Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Bank Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier 4 Star Boutique Hotel! ALL Guestrooms have Fireplaces. FREE delivery of evening Wine & Cheese. FREE a la carte Breakfast. FREE WiFi. Ideal location in Downtown Edmonton this historic landmark boasts private meeting/banquet rooms and Edmonton's Award Winning Madison's Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Union Bank Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Bank Hotel Edmonton
Union Bank Edmonton
Union Bank Inn Edmonton, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Bank Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.