We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of originality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Union Bank Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Union Bank Inn to your Saves list
Union Bank Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10053 Jasper Ave, Edmonton, Alberta T5J-1S5, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 90 Hotels in Edmonton
Edmonton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An oasis of originality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Union Bank Inn is your best choice for business or pleasure accommodation in a town known for the sameness of chain stores and hotels. This boutique hotel is located in a red-brick historic building right in the middle of the action in downtown Edmonton. You will be within walking distance of all the amenities offered - the Citadel Theatre, the Art Gallery of Alberta, the Winspear, the casino, downtown shopping and soon, the new downtown arena. Choose from heritage style rooms to contemporary, each with comfy beds and fabulous individual style. For you dining pleasure, visit Madison's Grill downstairs. They work with local produce featured in an ever changing menu. This restaurant offers some of the best dining in town. I book guests to the city at this hotel whenever possible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    42
    20
    7
    15
See reviews for
12
99
13
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Staying here again while attending a concert in Edmonton. This is the only hotel we stay in while in Edmonton. Its a boutique hotel that is located in a historical building that has outstanding service and very comfortable rooms. They cost a bit more but we feel it is worth it and the included breakfast in Madison's Grill is amazing (no skimpy breakfast - a la carte with great selections).

Room Tip: You can choose from one of the heritage rooms (very romantic) or a contemporary room which is more b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The Union Bank Inn has a fabulous location, although the rooms do not generally have notable views. Very helpful desk and cleaning staff. Good restaurant, but service can be eccentric. Rooms are well appointed and plenty big enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here last summer with my husband. Actually used a Groupon to do so, for the second time in prob 18 mos or so. We live here in the city. We had such a great time the first stay we thought "Heck yes!" for a second stay.

Beds = comfortable. Yes really! Lovely plush comforters. Linens are higher-end as well. There's a fireplace in the rooms. We've stayed in the heritage wing ("classic decor") and in the executive ("modern decor") and both are equally well-equipped.

UNFORTUNATELY I would not recommend Madison's for anything but an included breakfast as the prices sadly don't justify the meals in both portion and taste. There are ten trillion other restaurants within walking distance of Union Bank that are much better!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I expected much more from this hotel based on the pictures on the website. It is very basic stuff. I liked the location and I enjoyed the gas fireplace. The front end staff very nice and the wine and cheese/grapes that were waiting for us when we checked in was a really nice surprise... But the room was very plain, the bedding and bed very used (needs to be updated badly), the description says "down bedding" but it is so thin it couldn't really be considered "down bedding" I think most of the warmth came from the duvet cover. The bed also was old and needed to be replaced. Also for the price I expect the towels to be a little more luxurious, the bath towel was very small and rough.... I don't think I will spend the money to stay here again.

Room Tip: I would ask about the bedding/beds...... the pictures on the website must be their best rooms as our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed Jan 30 and 31st. The front desk staff was super friendly!
Myself and a collegue stayed here and dined at the Madison Grill attached to the Hotel: breakfasts were included (fantastic- with great options). Top class! We were in a rush to leave our last morning and a waitress packed us a quick breakfast to go- how sweet.

The rooms were very comfortable. They left a snack for us everyday: wine, cheese, grapes and saltines in our room- what a great touch! Looking foward to coming back here for future trips. In the past I was always so hesitant to stay here, as I typically choose the Holiday Inn, Matrix, Westin, etc. But my trip was so memorable I would not hesitate to go back!

It is one of the one of those places you want to take special people for a memorable experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Although i didn't stay the night at the hotel, the staff were incredibly helpful while I was there getting ready for my friend's wedding. We discovered at the last minute that our shawls were a little bit on the larger side and we needed a quick fix. After trying a few things, we figured out that sewing was our only option.
The manager and the front desk staff member pulled out a sewing kit and took over the sewing duties (they were much better than us). It truly saved the day for us bridesmaids!

Thank you Union Bank staff members for your extra help on that day!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Union Bank Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Bank Inn

Address: 10053 Jasper Ave, Edmonton, Alberta T5J-1S5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#16 Family Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Union Bank Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Union Bank Inn, Edmonton's Premier 4 1/2 Star Boutique Hotel, nestled in the Heart of Downtown. This historic landmark property features 34 luxurious guestrooms & suites, private meeting/banquet rooms and Edmonton's Award Winning Madison's Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Union Bank Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Bank Hotel Edmonton
Union Bank Edmonton
Union Bank Inn Edmonton, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Bank Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.