We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms and nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Campus Tower Suite Hotel

Save Saved
You added Campus Tower Suite Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Campus Tower Suite Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11145 87 Avenue, Edmonton, Alberta T6G 0Y1, Canada (Formerly Campus Tower Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 90 Hotels in Edmonton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Large rooms and nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The staff here could not be more helpful and friendly. The hotel is adjacent to the University of Alberta and very handy if you are a visitor there. No restaurants in the hotel but plenty of good ones in the vicinity. Excellent fitness room. The rooms are suites and well provided with a kitchen space and office space and large seating area. Free internet and, unusually, lots of power sockets for devices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, Public Relations Manager at Campus Tower Suite Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for sharing! We've recently completed renovations to improve the rooms and hotel common areas, so we're glad we were able to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable! We hope to see you again next time you are in Edmonton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    61
    17
    4
    7
See reviews for
51
18
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eastern NL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Lovely 2 bedroom suite. Get the premium room w/ the granite counters and nicer linens! Staff were wonderful.

Free parking in the adjacent garage was nice and it was close to everything @ U of A which. Restaurants and groceries in walking distance as well.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, Public Relations Manager at Campus Tower Suite Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! It's great that you were able to use a variety of the nearby amenities. We hope that you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights because we wanted a hotel close to the LRT, but that also had easy access to the south side. The location of the hotel is extremely handy for a variety of reasons, although the parking lot is easy to miss as you are driving along 87 Avenue. Check-in was quick and easy. We then quickly discovered that the hallways are under renovation, so I am guessing the appearance of everything will be much better in the next month or so. The suite itself is oddly organized and has a mish-mash of newer high-end and older low-mid range amenities. For example, the kitchenette has nice fixtures and countertop and a nicer microwave than I have at home, but the cooktop is really a large hotplate and I didn't realize that it only came with a bar fridge. The dining room table is really small and in an odd position, but the couch, easy chair and desk chair were extremely comfortable. The bedroom was completely bizarre; it's way too small, only has one side table and the window did not appear to seal properly. That said, the bed was extremely comfortable and it was one of the best mattresses that I have slept on in a hotel for at least a year. The bathroom had a newer fixture in the sink, but poor quality ones in the shower and the toilet is positioned way too close to the tub. I get the impression that they are in the process of improving things within the hotel, but at this point, it is an odd combination of features. I would nevertheless stay here again simply because of the access to restaurants, the LRT, the hospital and the university.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room that has windows that look out over 112th Street. It's a bit too loud early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, Public Relations Manager at Campus Tower Suite Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thanks for staying with us! It's great to hear that you would stay with us again, and that you were able to get a good night's rest while you were with us! The renovations you mention will be completed in the near future. We hope to be able to share the new look with you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here while visiting a family member at the U of A hospital. It was so convenient to walk over to the hospital. We enjoyed the kitchen to help prepare little meals as the Sobey's store is just down the block for groceries. Housekeeping was excellent. Our room was always in neat order when we returned exhausted from the hospital. It was quiet and comfortable. I would stay here again, but it does get expensive for longer stays. It would be nice to have further discounted rates for weekly stays. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. A great place to stay!

Room Tip: A high room gives you a bit of a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, Public Relations Manager at Campus Tower Suite Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thanks for staying with us! We're glad that you enjoyed your time with us - we are always striving to exceed our customers' expectations. We do have an 'Extended Stay Rate', as well as a number of other promotions and specials available to our guests. Please visit out website, www.campustower.com/specials, or speak with our front desk staff for more details. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here for a night while a family member was in the U of A hospital. The close proximity to the hospital made this stressful time easier. The hotel room was very clean and had all the amenities that a person could ask for, my only complaint is that the sofa bed was quite uncomfortable (the mattress was very thin). My mom (who had the bedroom) said her bed was very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel, just maybe consider taking a foam mat for the sofa bed!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacombe, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Convenient location. Very clean and comfortable. Large room with great kitchenette. Excellent value. Was able to get room with short notice. LRT close by. Earls restaurant downstairs. Right across from U of A campus.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed in Campus Towers for 3 months and can vouch for the quality of this hotel. It is not glitzy, but it was modern, comfortable and a happy home-away-from-home for us. These rooms may be overequipped for an overnight stay, but affords huge conveniences for anyone staying upwards of a week.

LOCATION: Guests are quite varied, including sports teams, academic staff, school interviewees, long term hospital patients. As you can imagine, its proximity (walking distance) to the University campus and hospital, Butterdome and Whyte Ave is ideal. If you need to go downtown, University LRT station is one block away. Loads of food places right downstairs and only 20 minutes walk from the heart of Whyte Ave. If you got a car, they have a covered parkade too.

ROOMS: The layouts are functional and all essentially the same. Decor is simple modern hotel style. The two of us loved our one bedroom. It really felt like home! The sitting area has everything you would normally have in your family room and it is spacious! We had our hockey equipment lying on the ground and it was hardly noticeable. We even set up our home computer at the writing desk by the window. The bathroom is a nice size with a heat lamp! The shampoo/soaps/conditioners are lemongrass scented and always replenished. The bedroom is a bit smaller with a double bed, but has a full sized closet and dresser, along with a flat screen TV. The kitchen does the trick, but by the end of my stay, I was wishing for a slightly larger fridge and more elbow room. It has a stove top, microwave, sink, small fridge, kettles, chopping boards and all the needed utensils for a simple meal. We didn't have kitchen scissors available in our unit (but I'm sure they would have found us some if we asked).

SERVICE: Having stayed here for 3 months, we can vouch for the excellent service we received. There was always a friendly smile around the corner. The front desk was warm, professional and helpful. The chambermaids kept our rooms clean, and at no point did we feel that our valuables were at risk (computers, laptops, purses, important files). There is a laptop sized safety box in the linen closet. Generally I left a "privacy" sign on the door, but let them in 2-3 times a week to clean. It's kind of a perk having fresh towels, your dishes done and your bed made! The 24 hour gym was fabulous and well-equipped. It has bikes, treadmills and ellipticals. There are free-weights and machines, along with a stretching/yoga area. Plus there is a basket of fruit at the front desk at all times!

I strongly recommend Campus Towers. Though the price tag is a bit higher, but for someone who wants the comforts of home, this is a great option.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, Public Relations Manager at Campus Tower Suite Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thanks so much for the feedback - we are so glad that we were able to meet your needs and help you enjoy your time away from home!
We hope to see you again when you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Campus Tower Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campus Tower Suite Hotel

Address: 11145 87 Avenue, Edmonton, Alberta T6G 0Y1, Canada (Formerly Campus Tower Hotel)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#11 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Campus Tower Suite Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seconds from the University of Alberta campus and within walking distance to a number of attractions, this hotel offers spacious all-suite accommodations, furnished with many modern amenities, including full kitchenettes.The Campus Tower Suite Hotel is located only a short stroll from the Cross Cancer Institute and Timms Centre for the Arts. Many unique shops, local restaurants and popular nightspots are also easily accessible from the hotel.Guests staying at the Campus Tower can enjoy thoughtful amenities including free wireless internet, in-room coffee service and free daily newspapers. The hotel also features a 24-hour fitness center and on-site laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Campus Tower Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campus Hotel Edmonton
Campus Tower Hotel
Campus Tower Suite Hotel Edmonton, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campus Tower Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.