We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly satisfactory” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton to your Saves list
The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10235, 101 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 3E9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Save 40% | 72 Hour Offer
Ranked #64 of 89 Hotels in Edmonton
Canada, Kentucky
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
183 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
“Perfectly satisfactory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We spent one night here on a short visit to Edmonton. The room was clean and comfortable, with two minor exceptions. One coffee cup had some baked on crud that had accumulated in the dishwasher and not been detected or removed prior to it being set out in the room. And the iron, which had a label on it saying that it belonged to the Sheraton Hotel, has a sticky stain on part of it, as if it had ironed off a sticky label many moons ago.

Our room was quiet, the bed was comfortable, and all the plumbing, lights and tv worked. Front desk staff were polite. It was good enough for our needs.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    109
    133
    64
    57
See reviews for
57
76
33
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Tired and under construction sum up the 3 day expierence in Edmonton over new years 2012 at Sutton Place.
My past expierence with this Brand was always top drawer........not this location.

Visiting for the world Junior Hockey Championships , the city did an excellant job of welcoming visitors to northern Alberta.The hotel is very old with construction in the main lobby area which meant the resturants were not in use!
Therefore alernative was room service or a trek to a conference room for a over priced morning entree. The staff were great and under the circumtances should be applauded for putting on such a good face in light of the situation.
The rooms on 17th floor , are in need of a makeover .The bedding was really quite yukky, there was a top sheet and then only a comforter.........., imagine?

Overall would definatley consider other options next trip!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed as a family during Christmas on 25th floor. The view from the floor was good.The room was Ok, We used the pool and jaccuzi at the roof top which was nice and clean and returned to our room. However there was a continuous droning sound and we could n't sleep properly. When commented about on check out, no courtesy or any response from the staff. We ordered Sutton breakfast and kids meal.during the night, The room service attendant calls up early morning to inform that there is no chocolate milk which was listed in the menu card. Later brought the items ordered with stale butter. When complained of it no apologies. I think the management is not serious about the employee training as evident from the handling of customer dissatisfaction. The only exception was for the valet parking who was courteous.
Would we stay again : An emphatic no with the kind of noisy rooms, unhealthy food, and the un courteous service levels.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

I stayed here one night with my husband using a free gift certificate he won that also included free valet parking. The staff were good and checkin/checkout was quick and efficient. The rooms were pretty average and the decor is dated. The king size bed was comfy. Bathtub had some mildew stains on it and looked kind of grungy. We had a look at the rooftop pool which has a nice view from the 26th floor.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Sutton Place Edmonton this past weekend as I was attending a conference there on the Monday. We decided to take advantage of the opportunity and went to Edmonton early to complete some Christmas shopping.

I orginally had 1 night (Sun - Mon) booked but upon noticing the rates for the Saturday stay we decided to leave an extra day early. I booked the additional night over the phone - we were able to book a King Room with room service breakfast and parking for $150.

We arrived late Saturday night and the front desk had great difficulty linking my two reservations together - one personal one conference rate. We did not want to have to change rooms. Once that was sorted out we were told that parkign at one tower was full so we would have to park at the Bell Tower. Fine except when you are not from Edmonton or have never stayed at the Sutton it is very very confusing how the parking works and where exactly it is in relation to the hotel.

We were able to figure it out on our own but we asked for clarification at the Front Desk and we asked a bellman... no one could clearly explain the process. Very frustrating at 10:30 at night after a 5 hour drive.

The room was basically clean but very dated. From the pictures online I expected a posh high end business hotel. This was not the case. Very dated, very standard and nothing special.

Would we stay again? Not unless I had to because of a work conference again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mcmurray
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Centrally located near downtown Edmonton, this hotel looks ritzy without the price-tag attached. We stayed there one night, securing the stay through Hotwire. Close to shopping, the bus depot, the river.

Room Tip: Use Hotwire if you get the chance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

High Class hotel at great price, centrally located in downtown Edmonton close to shopping and the bus depot.

Room Tip: We used Hotwire online to get the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton

Address: 10235, 101 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 3E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 89 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at The Sutton Place Hotel you will notice the service, comfort and convenience we provide to each and every guest. Our 313 guest rooms and suites range in size from spacious traditional accommodations to our two storey luxurious Royal Suite. Connected to five major office towers and over 400 shops and businesses in the adjoining City Centre Mall, the property is ideally situated within the Arts district and downtown Edmonton. The hotel brings a taste of tradition and elegance to the heart of Alberta's Capital City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Sabre Hospitality Solutions so you can book your The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Edmonton
Edmonton Sutton Place Hotel
The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.