We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GHETTO” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Hotel to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15540 Stony Plain Road | NE Corner 156th St & 101st Ave, Edmonton, Alberta T5P 3Z2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #59 of 89 Hotels in Edmonton
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“GHETTO”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Location of hotel was subpar (ie. homeless people, scared to go out at night) had to walk through dark alley to get to lobby. Overall the inside of the hotel was nice with new renovations. I recommend a couple sleeping bags as it might get a little chilly at night with the one thin sheet on the bed. Also noted, blood in shower wall and what appears to have been a pubic hair that was NOT mine in the shower as well. But the staff were nice :) enjoy. AND last but not least pillows are supposed to be white, not mine, mine was yellow.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    24
    23
    12
    18
See reviews for
20
13
21
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I found my experience to be quite comfortable, quiet and relaxing. Fell asleep with the t.v. on, turned it off and there was still peaceful silence outdoors.

Breakfast was amazing even though I paid extra for the sweet satisfying piece of steak with my eggs, hash browns, buttered toasts and complimentary sweet slices of orange.

So please do them a favor and do not smoke in the rooms. :)

Cheers!


David

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Quiet if its not the weekend, not the best of locations. Good if your single and are a partygoer, but wouldn't recommend for family stays. Too seedy, friendly staff as can be expected, but mostly not good. Amenities are not kid friendly, catering to the local fanfare. Recommend staying but overall probably find better elsewhere. Kept up till 3 am by noisy frequenters of the establishment on a friday. Security is non existent. Adult shop across the street and beer store around corner should put it in proper perspective.

Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansanitized, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest;
We appreciate the time you spent in sharing your concerns, which immediately prompted our top management review of the incident over the weekend. Our management has taken immediate corrective actions, such as to increase security patrolling of the premises throughout the night of weekend, and to carefully monitor our surveillance video covering all inside and outside common areas of the Hotel from time to time to ensure all our guests will have a peaceful and comfortable stay.
We thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention so that we can improve to serve our guests better. We are looking forward to having you back again to enjoy the brand new experience you will find from our improvements and our newly renovated lobby and common areas this summer.

Sincerely,
HoJo Edmonton Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Rooms have been nicely renovated. Perfect beds. Bathroom is rather small. Front desk staff very friendly. Cleaning as in most hotels good the first day, when known you are stay for more days and put the card up no bed change it goes down .No coffee, coffee pad in machine, no vacuuming and this type of things. Even so advertised by HOJO there is no free breakfast and do not park in front of the hotel, parking belongs to ATB.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoedmonton, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

It is our utmost joy to hear that you have recognized our complete brand new room renovations and our friendly Front Desk staff, and we thank you for your nice comments about our rooms.

Due to environmental friendliness reasons, for all stay-over guest rooms, our housekeeping staff will replace towels that are placed in the bath tub or on the floor as explained on the card placed in the bathroom, and will change the beddings, vacuum the carpet as required. We are sorry for the misunderstanding and inconvenience that might have caused. However, for check-out rooms, our housekeeping staff will replace all towels and beddings, and thoroughly clean the entire room as per brand standards. We apologize if the coffee and pad were overlooked by our housekeeper and our QA supervisor, we shall certainly review this issue in our next training session.

We are excited to announce that our brand new restaurant Palazzo Bistro is just opened serving breakfast from 7 am with lunch and dinner buffets and menu orders every day. To appreciate our guests staying in our hotel, we now offer complimentary hot breakfast and provide special discount for all guests dining in our restaurant.

We do have ample designated parking around the building to accommodate our valued guests. Once again, we thank you for staying with us, and looking forward for your next stay with us again.

Sincerely,
HOJO Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Definitely requested a quiet spot to the front desk staff due to important exam the next day upon check in explained clearly already and he seemed affirmative so.
But the point is the front desk staff ignored my request!
The noise of baby crying from my next door not only one time but on and on feels like it never ends pretty much annoying and disturbing my sleep all night.
Eventually my husband called Front Desk @5:30 AM complained about noise being furious about over controlled noise but it was too late to calm down that noise which front desk didin't do anything.
Please be aware that Simply saying sorry to me upon check out does NOT work for me.
You guys lost a valued customer, ignoring my sincere request.
What a dumb!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoedmonton, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for bringing up your concerns to our attention, this has prompted our immediate investigation and review. According to our records, the family next to your room had been staying with us for over a week, their baby appeared to be very quiet with no noise complaint from guests in the adjacent rooms throughout the week of their stay. We were surprised to find out the noise issue after you brought to our attention at around 5:30 am, our Front Desk staff had immediately called the family guests, who had managed to calm down their baby right after and apologized for the noise caused due to the unexpected sickness of their baby that night. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused and will certainly review this incident in our next staff training session to ensure our guests’ special requests and needs are carefully taken care of.
We look forward to serving you better in your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
HOJO Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015 via mobile

The hotel is nicely maintained and the rooms are clean, but be aware that it is pawn shop alley in the vincinity of the hotel. Other than that security is good inside and they have a little lounge with video slots if you are into that sort of thing.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoedmonton, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

It is our utmost pleasure to have served you on your stay. We greatly appreciate your good comments about our nicely maintained and cleaned room, which were completely renovated in the last few months to ensure our valued guests can have a comfortable stay with us.

We would like to inform you of our City’s upcoming area revitalization plan with the new LRT (Light Rail Transit) extension from downtown passing by our hotel to West Edmonton Mall, and the City has been repaving sidewalks and redecorating streetscapes in our area. We are all very excited about the upcoming major area improvements.

Thank you for recognizing our good security measures, together with our customer focused philosophy, safety and security is always our top priority.

We thank you for staying with us and look forward to serving you again in your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
HOJO Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

We were greeted very politely by Emma and Maria, our check in was smooth with no hick ups...when we got to the room we were very impressed that the room was very modern and clean and Emma called to make sure if the room was to our satisfaction... There's a lounge downstairs that's amazing the kareokee bar was so much fun it's the best place to stay on a budget and your money's worth. everything is close by and upon check out we overslept a little bit weren't rushed to check out. We recommend this hotel for sure. A little underrated at 2 stars. Hope everyone else has a pleasant stay here. Naomi Peters

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoedmonton, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Naomi Peters,

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and were very impressed with our modern and clean rooms, and thank you for your recognition of our hardworking teams and our hotel being the best place to stay with your money’s worth. With our new management's philosophy of being "Customer focused", we have been completely renovating all our guest rooms since last year, and price our room rates right in order to provide the best values, comforts and services to all our valued guests.
Thank you for your strong recommendation of our hotel to others, your kind comments will encourage us to strive for even higher level of excellence in customer service. We are looking forward to continuously serving you and your family again in your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
HOJO Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel

Address: 15540 Stony Plain Road | NE Corner 156th St & 101st Ave, Edmonton, Alberta T5P 3Z2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 89 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Edmonton
Edmonton Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Edmonton, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.