We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, very convenient, good value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11310-109 Street NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5G 2T7, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #23 of 89 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Grande Prairie
2 reviews
“Excellent location, very convenient, good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is an older, but tastefully re-done hotel in an excellent location. The pub and Tim Hortons on site was so convenient and being located across from one of the best malls in Edmonton was just a fantastic bonus. Also, very close to NAIT and the Royal Alex hospital so no wonder this place was packed all weekend. Great parking though, and never had a problem.
It was quiet and we felt very secureas, being located next to an RCMP station meant we had patrols all through the night. Would recomend this hotel to anyone. Great value. We will defnitely stay again.
Tips: its busy... make a reservation well in advance.

Room Tip: They offer divided rooms for families-- great thing to have for some privacy. Rooms near the main b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCentreManager, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
I am so glad you enjoyed our hotel and all the amenities in the area. Thank you very much for the wonderful review and we will look forward to seeing you again on your next trip down from Grande Prairie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    100
    51
    10
    8
See reviews for
104
37
15
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We found the room to be quite small and plain compared to other Best Western Hotels. The new tub enclosure was very nice though.

However,it served the purpose which was to stay while visiting grandchildren. The location next to the airport is fine if you are flying but not so convenient when driving
All in all a very average stay..
The restaurant was basic however our server was very good. The food was average.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCentreManager, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel.

We are glad you liked the new tub enclosure and you may be happy to know that we are adding granite and upgrading all the bathrooms on the property along with many other upgrades. Our guests love our hotel for the close proximity to shopping and a whole bunch of other amenities and services including the 24 hour Tim Hortons and the Runway 29 lounge.

We thank you again and hope to see you on your next visit to Edmonton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby BC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in the 2 bedroom family suite while attending a family wedding at the Petroleum Club, a short walk from the hotel. The rooms were clean and the extra living room was useful for entertaining extended family. The mall was also handy for last minute shopping before the wedding. We received a modest rate reduction for both the family room and regular rooms. The restaurant/bar upstairs was open for family breakfasts until 10 am, after that there are no minors permitted. The kids liked the pool and the slide, and all in all, it was a good location for our purposes and the staff were efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCentreManager, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Many people book the "Family Suite" when they have a larger family or when they are having their wedding reception at the Petroleum Club.

We are glad the children liked the pool and slide and that you got to enjoy the food and service at the Runway 29 lounge.

We hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

When in the city for medical reasons, this BW has great, reduced rates, which we appreciate. Bring something with you, confirming appointment. Most rooms have been renovated. The room was on the smaller side, but included a fridge, coffee pot, free internet, nice linens and Tim Hortons right outside. The staff were all very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCentreManager, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Jogar1

Thank you for taking the time to review the Best Western Plus City Centre Inn. All reviews are helpful for us to know where to improve and for your fellow travelers making choices on where to stay.
We are located just down Kingsway Avenue, a few blocks to both the Royal Alexandra and Glenrose Hospitals. We do offer a medical rate to patients and visiting family members who are able to show an appointment card or an “I Care” letter from the hospital.
Tim Horton’s has just had a full remodel and looks fantastic and the Runway 29 lounge is creating delicious specials for breakfast, lunch and supper.
Thank you again and we hope to see you again the next time your in Edmonton.

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This was the second time I visited here and it was worth it again. The location is just across from Kingsway Garden Mall where you can also catch a bus from to the Rexall Centre or train system. There is no free breakfast for the guests but there is a full service restaurant on site as well as a Tim's Horton's next door. The room was clean, with a desk, table and chairs, large bathroom, flat screen TV and fast wifi. Hallways are undulating in some areas so be careful but very clean.

Cleaning staff are friendly as well as Martin, the manager who definitely cares about the property. It is also in a quiet area of town.

For the traveler who didn't see it as a "plus" unfortunately the re-branding a few years back to help Best Westerns be more like Hilton or Holiday Inn in their descriptors decided to use terms that were vague. Labeling properties as a "Corporate or Leisure" or a Group 1,2 or 3 would have been better than Plus or Premier because those words can conjure up any description in the guests mind. For plus properties upgrading the amenities is what separates them from regular BW's and this property does that well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCentreManager, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Heavygambler

Thank you for taking the time to review the Best Western Plus City Centre Inn. Trip advisor is a great tool for travelers to share their experiences with other travelers and to help them in deciding where to stay when needing a clean and comfortable place to spend the night.
Your review was concise and informative and will definitely help your fellow travelers make a wise choice. We hope you have a great summer and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you again.
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights due to a surgery close by. The great thing was that we received a discount because we provided proof of the surgery - that is a nice touch!
We have 2 complaints. The first is that when we went to check in, there was a dirty towel hanging on the back of the bathroom door - that is digusting!!!! The second complaint is that when you use the side entrance door, all the smokers stand right BESIDE the door smoking because there is an ashtray right there (less than 1 foot from the door) - isn't there a bylaw that you have to be at least 5 metres from an entry way? That is terrible for someone who has a smoke allergy. When we were bringing our suitcases in, there were 4 people standing there smoking away, so our suitcases and everything then smelled of smoke - GROSS!!!!!
The pool area was great and not at all busy.
Don't know if we will be back :(

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCentreManager, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear Lovindisney4

Thank you for taking the time to review the Best Western Plus City Centre Inn. I sincerely apologize for the dirty towel in your room, an oversight that should not have happened. We will continue to be vigilant to ensure it does not happen again. In November of this year the Best Western Plus City Centre Inn will be going 100% smoke free. We will continue to discourage our guests from smoking at the entrances, and the only reason we have placed the ashtrays close to the entrances is to discourage cigarette butts from being discarded on the ground. We are very happy that you had a great time in the pool and that we were able to give you the medical discount due to your surgery. We hope to see you and your family very soon for another summer cool off in our pool and waterslide and maybe a sweet treat at the completely renovated Tim Horton’s attached to the lobby.
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located a few minutes to downtown and across the street from a major shopping center.

I stayed there due to a last minute travel disruption. Staff at this hotel has been amazing overall. The rooms are very clean and comfortable but in my opinion, this Best Western hotel didn't meet my expectations of the "PLUS" status. The hotel is getting a little old with the decor showing as much. It has a certain motel-feel to it and doors/walls could be a little more sound proofed. The shower head was very low and uncomfortable; at 5'11", I had to significantly slump down to use it (and knocked my head a few times...). Also, while other Best Western hotels usually offer complimentary breakfast, this hotel didn't offer anything. Conveniently, however, there is a Tim Horton attached to the hotel.

All in all, this hotel was good with friendly and professional staff, but the aging decor and furniture and the lack of breakfast dissapointed me a little.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCentreManager, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Best Western Plus City Centre Inn. Here at the Best Western Plus City Centre Inn we are upgrading our property on an ongoing basis. The new granite bathrooms, large flat screen TV’s, complete lounge renovation with new elevator, parking lot, to name a few upgrades over the last year or so. We will continue to improve and ensure our guests are receiving a top quality hotel room and amenities when staying at our property.
I am glad that we are in agreement over the staff “overall amazing, friendly and professional staff” is how I also like to describe them. The housekeepers are diligent, friendly and do their utmost to keep the property spotless. The rest of the employees are professional, friendly, fun loving and have the guests comfort as top priority.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn

Address: 11310-109 Street NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5G 2T7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Edmonton
#16 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#20 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus City Centre Inn is family owned and operated two story Hotel/Motel. This Hotel has completed numerous upgrades and is enjoyed by both families and business people alike. Our Hotel is located just five minutes from the downtown core, across the street from Kingsway Mall, within a few city blocks of NAIT, RCMP K-division, AMA travel, the Royal Alex and Glenrose Hospitals and the Alberta Aviation museum. Come take a splash in our pool, Hot tub and 30 foot waterslide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus City Centre Hotel Edmonton
Best Western Edmonton
Edmonton Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn Edmonton, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.