We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Westwood Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Westwood Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Westwood Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18035 Stony Plain Road, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 1B2, Canada (Place LaRue)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #61 of 89 Hotels in Edmonton
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

The staff at this hotel are very accomidating and try to solve whatever needs you have. The hotel is well located to shopping and dining, and easy access from either end of the city. Will continue to use this property when travelling to Edmonton on business.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBWWI, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Westwood Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Valued Guest.
Great to hear that you enjoyed our Hotel so much during your stay at the Best Western Plus Westwood Inn . We are a very convenient location to many restaurants/shops in the area & glad that you found this to be an asset during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    124
    85
    71
    138
See reviews for
183
97
33
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swift Current, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

The front dest staff were SO very friendly & informative. They gave us info. re: the races that were in town, in addition to info. re: the mall hours of operation. They also recommended an excellent steakhouse. We REALLY appreciated their enthusiasm to help make our stay better. They were always smiling & treated all of the guests, that we saw, with respect and pleasantries.

The room had a couple things that were concerning. We were on the 4th floor & there was no screen. We have a 3 year old that likes to crawl around & we had the window open for some fresh air and there would have been room for him to fall through. There was also a plug with no cover plate which was a concern.

In bringing this to the attention of the front staff, they immediately had maintenance up to our room to fix both concerns.

The other thing we were quite disappointed with was the pool wasn't working all 3 days we were there. When we are paying $145.99/night and you have kids, we always book @ a hotel with a pool (minimum). Even though the pool was under maintenance, it was very nice to see how genuinely empathetic the front staff were with our disappointment. They shared with us the reason why it wasn't available for the guests. They didn't have to do that, but it helped us to understand why it couldn't be repaired during our stay.

In addition to the above, there were a few transient looking individuals approaching us for money a couple times, once in the lobby and once in the parking lot. In bringing this to the staff's attention, they immediately called security & had them go to remedy the situation. It made us VERY uncomfortable and a bit concerned for our safety. These people's appearance was a little frightening. According to the staff, they've called the police and those certain people continue to harrass the guests. It's too bad for the hotel as it's a great establishment, but those individuals COULD drive people away due to safety concerns.

In any event, we will be back because of the great service we had. The breakfasts were nice & the entire hotel was very clean, including the front entrance & public washrooms. Again, we really appreciated the service provided by the front line staff. They were very pleasant. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

This hotel has a MAJOR bed bug problem.My 5 year old daughter had red marks all over her and this was confirmed by our doctor.When we told Housekeeping and Front Desk,they were not surprised.Apparently this has been an on-going issue after reading previous reviews(Too late now)They did not know how to handle the situation except to discount $20.00.Its not thr price,its our HEALTH that we are concerned about and about contaminating our own home.
WE WILL NEVER SATY IN THIS BEST WESTERN WHICH IS A DISGRACE TO THE CHAIN !!!!!

Room Tip: Do NOT stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

This hotel is a good basic hotel, clean, good size rooms, close to WEM but the bathroom could use an update, the pool is small(at least they have on) and they offer no breakfast of any kind. And if you think "oh we'll just go to the restaurant....don't! Service was fine but the food was awful and overpriced. The side salad consisted of lettuce(browning) 1 slice of cucumber and 1 slice of tomato, that was it! The bun in the kids hot dog meal was so hard our 6 yr old could barely bite through it so he just ate the dog. The sandwich my husband had was no better then what you can get at a gas station! Very disappointing....so fine hotel to stay at but don't waste your money at the restaurant.....GO OUT!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBWWI, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Westwood Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Thank you for your feedback and for bringing these issues to my attention. I have already addressed your concerns with our dining room and kitchen staff. I hope to see you again on your next visit to Edmonton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed there during Canada Day long weekend and both my daughter and I were bitten by bed bugs. It was an extremelly traumatic experience since we didn't know why we were so itchy and unsightly red bumps were coming up on our arms, neck and legs. After a doctor confirmed it was bed bug bites, I tried to call and talk to management but couldn't get through. Due to a busy work schedule and traveling and kids, I wrote a note and mailed it to the hotel but have not received any apology from management at all. Part of our summer was sort of ruined because we still have ugly scars on our arms and is worried if the bugs did traveled home with us or if we brought them to our relatives' homes.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBWWI, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Westwood Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
We are very sorry to hear of your experience! However, we have no record of a guest that made a complaint of bed bugs. We also have a pest control company who comes and does routine checks and have records to prove it. We also did not receive any letter in the mail so would greatly appreciate it if you could reach out to us directly and provide further details on your experience so that it can be properly addressed. Thank you. --------
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for two nights at the end of July. The rooms were clean and the front desk staff were friendly and quick at check-in and check-out, but I still won't stay here again.

The hotel seems to have had a recent facelift in the common areas, and the rooms are old, but nicely appointed. Unfortunately, the whole building seems to have some serious air conditioning issues; the hallways were over 30 degrees Celsius at all times of the day and night, and the in-room air conditioning unit couldn't really keep up. Our room was north-facing, and didn't get any direct sunlight, but it was still uncomfortably hot in the room, which made it very difficult to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

This hotel was dirty, dark and hot, the air conditioner barely put out any cold air and was very loud and was making clunking noises the beds were uncomfortable and the television was scratchy and could not be hears over the air conditioner. the bathroom floor was heated and was really really warm, to the point were it heated the bathroom, in August this is not a good thing, when its 30c outside. the towels and sheets were ratty and torn. The hall ways were really really hot.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBWWI, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Westwood Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Dear Valued Guest. I am sorry to hear about the A/C that unfortunately it did not blow out enough cold air all night, this is the 1st time I've heard this complaint from a guest. I will definitely send Engineering to the room to make sure the unit is working in the the room and hallways. The hotel is also undergoing a major renovation currently which includes exterior, interior & guest rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Westwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Westwood Inn

Address: 18035 Stony Plain Road, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Place LaRue
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 89 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Westwood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Westwood Inn is centrally located in the heart of Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. Comfortable accommodations paired with the excitement of the city just outside this premium Edmonton hotel create and unforgettable vacation experience. Enjoy the comfort the Best Western Hotels Canada are known for, and unwind at the BEST WESTERN Westwood Inn Edmonton in spacious accommodations and suites that offer cable satellite television with HBO® and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Take in a quick bite to eat or relax with a refreshing beverage or just enjoy the excitement of our VLTS ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Westwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Westwood Hotel Edmonton
Best Western Westwood Hotel
Best Western Edmonton
Edmonton Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Westwood Inn Edmonton, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Westwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.