We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast: Jesus, with Greasy Sausages on the Side” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton at the Mall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton at the Mall to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton at the Mall
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10017 179 A St, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 2L4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #55 of 89 Hotels in Edmonton
Jasper, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
“Breakfast: Jesus, with Greasy Sausages on the Side”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spent another night here on a recent quick trip in and out of Edmonton (have stayed before). It's a convenient location for West Edmonton Mall and other services and shopping in the west end of the city. Prices are creeping up at the various west end hotels though and I think they're getting to be a bit much for what you get. The hotel across the street was $7 cheaper, but doesn't include breakfast, which the Holiday Inn does.

Speaking of breakfast ... they have the grossest sausages I have ever tasted! Super greasy but with no flavour - ugh! One bite was enough. The manufactured cheese omelets were also pretty bad, rubbery egg filled with a small blob of processed cheese, however, the rest of the self-serve breakfast was ok. There is a machine that makes pancakes, two at a time, cinnamon buns and muffins, yogurt, cereal, toast, juice, coffee etc.

The other complaint I have about breakfast was their choice of television programming in the eating area. It was a Sunday morning and instead of a news or weather channel, which could offer useful information to travellers (especially since the weather was bitterly cold and road conditions had been really poor the day before), the TV was tuned to evangelical religious programming. In my opinion, this is in very poor taste in a public area, given that even among people who are nominally Christian, church-goers are a very small percentage of the population and those of this particular persuasion an even smaller one, and that many people come from other faith traditions. Why choose programming that would be of interest to only a very few, not inclusive of many, and possibly even offensive to some?

However, a staff member came to get a cup of coffee at the same time as I did, and when I asked if the TV could be changed, it promptly was.... to CNN. :-P (There are two national news networks in Canada, as well as a weather channel.)

On the plus side, our room was clean and comfortable. Our room was quite chilly when we first entered, only 63F, but the heating system was easy to adjust (and not too noisy) and the room warmed up quickly. The bed was very comfy, with good quality linens, and a choice of soft or firm pillows. The curtains block out light very well - we overslept a bit in the morning because our room was so dark! WiFi was good. The shower had one of those "rain shower" (wide circle) shower heads and had decent water pressure, although it was a bit hard to adjust the water temperature by just a little bit. I had forgotten to bring shampoo - the amenities provided were nice, with a fresh, citrus-y scent.

The pool was out of commission when we stayed - a sign said they'd had a broken pipe.... not surprising, given the extreme cold weather Edmonton had had for weeks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton at the Mall, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear krp329,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. We are so pleased you liked the fine location of our hotel and the room accommodations you had. Please allow us to apologize for the issues you had in our dining area and our food selections was less than satisfactory. We also apologize our pool is closed during your stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    57
    31
    14
    21
See reviews for
66
24
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ROCKY RAPIDS
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed in a King Size Jacuzzi suite so there were 2 separate rooms. The size was ok and the kitchenette (microwave sink and mini fridge) was nice. The décor looked like it was from the 60's the couch had the same material (brown, shiny) that my Grandparents use to have. The bedroom area was cramped, there were doors missing from the TV stand/dresser and the Jacuzzi, although nice had only a hand held shower. There was no shower curtain and no place to hook the shower onto the wall. As a result it was very difficult to shower in the morning. For $200/night a person should be able to expect a proper shower. With a slightly different design there was room for one. The breakfast was fine as was the rest of the hotel. I have stayed at many hotels and we picked this one for our 10th anniversary due to wanting a Jacuzzi tub. Will not stay there again,

Room Tip: If having a stand under shower is important to you make sure you ask for a room that has one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton at the Mall, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear returning,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. It was good to read you found the breakfast choices commendable. I am sorry to see that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us due to the room decor and bathroom facility. Your comments are appreciated and will be used to ensure these areas will be improved on.

Thank you again for your review. We would cherish the opportunity to have you as our guest again so you can see how we are constantly working to improve our services and facilities.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed in a kings suite and the room was amazing..very clean and spacious. It was a plus to also have a microwave available in the room. The front desk staff were very friendly and professional. Continental breakfast was great (had different selections of hot/cold items). Excellent location as well since its close to West Edmonton Mall, Anthony Henday and various dining options.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Rooms were nice and clean, the heat and AC were easy to use and adjusted the room temperature quickly, it was minutes to W.E.M which is nice,and the staff was frinedy and welcoming from what i could tell however, some things that we did not like were, people vacuuming at 6:50AM on a Saturday morning, the pool and hottub were down for cleaning on a Saturday, the breakfast was good but there was only 1 fruit available ( bananas and they were very green ) the pancake machine wasn't working and it was fake eggs, there was however a wide variety of things to pick from, yougart,milk,cereal,toast,bagels and other things i am overall pleased with my stay, but we are not staying here again tonight, we are going to try the other holiday inn express about 25km from here

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maracaibo, Venezuela
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

First time at this hotel, it was good, very good rooms, friendly staff, close to West Edmonton mall and some dining options around at walking distance. Across the street there's a Days Inn that has a restaurant. Definitely could stay one more time. Have Microwave and minifridge on the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel over Thanksgiving for its proximity to family in Edmonton and to spend some time with the kids at WEM. Our reservation was messed up a bit and we didn't get the room we booked but otherwise the stay was alright. The kids enjoyed the pool and the bunk beds. We found the bed quite hard and uncomfortable but the room was quiet & clean. The breakfast could have been better but it was sufficient. Overall, an ok family hotel near WEM but for the rate, we were hoping for a little more.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton at the Mall, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Fortunefox,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had with the quality of our beds and for the dissatisfaction you had with the breakfast choices. Nevertheless, it was real pleasure to learn that you had a pleasant overall experience with us.

Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed at theis hotel from Sept4th-9th. Hotel was clean and comfortable. Rooms were newly updated and bed were comfortable. Loved that the hot tub was actually hot. My only real complaint (and it is little at that) is that I have no idea how they can call themselves "at the mall" Which mall cause it certainly isn't the West Edmonton mall which the description leaves you to believe. It is a good 20 minute walk to the mall from this hotel. We had to drive to the mall each day and it took an average of 3-4 minutes with no traffic. Like I say, not a real big deal as long as you are aware you are not staying at the mall as the name indicates.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton at the Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton at the Mall

Address: 10017 179 A St, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 2L4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 89 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton at the Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Alberta Hotel near West Edmonton Mall Enjoy a comfortable stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Edmonton - At the Mall, located just 10 minutes from downtown. Unlike other Edmonton hotels, we provide convenient access to major area attractions, excellent Alberta restaurants and important local businesses. While lodging with us, you will find plenty to do near our Alberta hotel. Just a minute away, West Edmonton Mall can satisfy all of your shopping and entertainment needs, with more than 800 stores, countless restaurants and a wave pool. Also close by, Edmonton Valley Zoo, TELUS World of Science and Fort Edmonton Park provide plenty of fun for your visit. For sports fans, Edmonton's beloved Oilers of the NHL are also in town. In addition to being a great place for families, this Holiday Inn Express is also ideal for guests on business in Alberta. Our hotel offers six meeting rooms and a Business Centre and features amenities aimed at the smart business traveler who is looking for a comfortable stay at an unbeatable rate. We set you up for success with a hearty meal each morning. Other Edmonton hotels can't compete with our quality corporate services and amenities. You simply will not find another Alberta hotel near West Edmonton Mall that gives you the comfort, convenience and great location we provide at the Holiday Inn Express. Check out our incredibly low rates and make your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton at the Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Edmonton At The Mall
Holiday Inn Edmonton
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton At The Mall Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton at the Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.