We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bothy Wine & Whisky Bar

The Bothy Wine & Whisky Bar
5482 Calgary Trail, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada (Calgary Trail North)
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #139 of 1,961 restaurants in Edmonton
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Calgary Trail North
Description: Utilizes local products, small, simple but delicious menu is designed to compliment various scotch offerings. Uses the Enomatic system for wines and champagnes, allowing the customer to have a glass of a wine when they may not want a whole bottle.
edmonton
1 review
“excellent food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We had , the bothy haggis, chicken breast stuffed with haggis and steak and mushroom pie. The bothy haggis was the best haggis i had tasted in the 7 years i have lived in canada, since coming from Glasgow. My daughter loved the chicken breast stuffed with haggis. My wife had the steak and mushroom pie. Her only complaint was that it came with no gravy. You cannot have steak pie with mashed tatties and veg without a gravy. It would be the first thing my mother would ask for if she visited from scotland, 'where's the gravy????'
The chocolate pudding was excellent. We were looking forward to the ginger cake, and the apple crumble, but alas they were changing the puddings menu.
Service was good, food excellant, and we would definitely return.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    15
    6
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“cozy and convivial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

excellent wine and whisky list, and superb but simple food menu. The arugula salad always works, and the meat pie hits the spot. Great options to choose smaller or larger wine glasses. fantastic to be able to sample many different flights of wine without having to buy the whole bottle. Return again and again

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very limited menu .... expensive, snobbish and pretentious place...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I found the menu to be very limited as to "nothing on the menu at all other than meat pies"... Basically nothing on the menu in the way of appetizers at all either except for a meat and cheese selection where you paid $25 -$30 for five people and didn't really get much more than crumbs... Service was ok and the waitress was knowledgeable. This is a snobbish and pretentious place and I will never go there again....

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Went with a group of coworkers for a few drinks. Excellent selections of wines and whiskies. Wish I could have sampled more! The kitchen was closed but I would like to go back and try the food, especially after seeing some other reviews on it. The staff was also great, as they stayed open late for us. And although it's small inside, the atmosphere is wonderful.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Many pages of single malt whiskies to choose from in all price ranges from eight to eighty. We didn't have time to sample the food, but from what others where saying after they stuffed themselves with the large portions, it seemed like we missed out!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bothy Wine & Whisky Bar also viewed

 
Edmonton, Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to The Bothy Wine & Whisky Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bothy Wine & Whisky Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.