We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and better service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Keg South Edmonton Common

The Keg South Edmonton Common
1631-102 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T6N 1M3, Canada
780 485 6530
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 1,978 Restaurants in Edmonton
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Sherwood Park, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good food and better service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We visited here for a birthday dinner with a party of 6. We arrived around 05:30 and sat in the lounge for a few drinks. At 06:30 exactly my little 'reservation ready' pager went off and we were escorted to our table. Our drink order and appetizers were taken care of immediately. When the entrees arrived my daughters steak was a little overcooked. Our waiter immediately brought it back for a new steak. It arrived quickly along with one of the biggest crap legs I have ever seen , delivered by the manager. They also included a free desert for her for the inconvenience. The food was very good but you expect that , the service will keep us coming back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    22
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not what they used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

It seems like The Keg is just another place that had a great reputation, and are now coasting. The service is still good, but the steak is just not great anymore. I have eaten here, and at 4 other locations in the last year, all with the same results. Steak was way under cooked, not very tasty. Prime rib was okay, still not very tasty. Prime rib dinner for 2, with an appy and 2 drinks each, $130, plus tip.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great spot to eat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I've been to this place numerous times and its usually busy so you know its a good spot to go eat. The chicken is really good and i havent been disappointed yet. My girl had a steak which was a little under cooked but they brought her out another one immediately so nothing to complain about.

Definitely go try this place out. its one of our favorites in the city!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“mmmmm the keg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

miss the keg living in Peace River but now am back in the big city AAA steak here i come

cant wait to get back
make sure you get there right at 4 pm on a Fri/Sat otherwise you are waiting in line
service is always great food is always great

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great place for family get-togethers...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Went here for a family dinner. We were a party of 9 and were seated quickly despite the restaurant being very busy... The ambiance was great as was our server who knew her menu inside-out. The food was absolutely wonderful and was served in a reasonable amount of time... everything cooked the way our server said it would be... so no surprises there... which was good. :) If you want a good meal, done the way you like it, give this Keg a try...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Keg South Edmonton Common also viewed

 

Been to The Keg South Edmonton Common? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Keg South Edmonton Common, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.