We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissatisfied” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1204 101 Street SW, Edmonton, Alberta T6X 0P1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #10 of 89 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
prince george bc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“dissatisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I found our stay at this property not up to BW normal standards. Staff "forgot" to clean our room one day. We were out of the room all day. Upon return, at 3 pm our room was not done. I could not locate a maid or cart in the hallways. I went down to front desk and requested someone clean up our room. Also, the hot water supply is dismal at best. After running the hot tap for 2 minutes, the water is only tepid. I have had better hot water in Cuba! I felt I should voice these concerns so that they can be acted upon. Our last stay at this hotel was much better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    124
    38
    12
    12
See reviews for
173
87
27
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I LOVE this hotel. I stay here often, for weeks at a time. The business suite is the best deal in Edmonton.
Lobby is magnificent. Staff is quick, and efficient. Everybody on staff, from front desk to housekeeping, greats me with a smile, and a "welcome back". The work, and thought that hotel staff puts into preparing my room just right - astounds me. Everything is cared for, and it is a real pleasure to stay here.
The rooms are very nicely appointed. Beds are very comfortable. All granite coffee tables, desk and bath counters. A duel outlet plug - at the desk! you can actually plug in your computer, cell phone, and ereader and still have a slot left over. That is rare. I carry the multiple extension cords to prove it. Rooms are spotless, pool with giant slide is a favorite of kids. Breakfast is good. They are adding, and changing things menu wise. Need a better toaster though. Too slow.

Location is great. 15 minutes to the airport. 5 minutes to major shopping. I will return - every chance I get.

Room Tip: Business suites are the best deal in town. They are huge. You will be impressed. Try a corner room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your recent review in trip advisor. It was really nice of you to mention all the nice things we have in our hotel. We always treat our guests like family here in Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites.

Again, thank you for all the wonderful comments & thank you for always staying with us. All of us here are looking forward for your next stay.

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The room we stayed in was an average room. It was clean. The comforters were lumpy. We showed up at 2:00 p.m. and their check in was not until 4:00 p.m. The staff that was helping us went to ask her co-worker if the room was ready yet and her co-worker's tone (and the huff that followed) when she said "well, it's a bit early" was rude. We were told that it should be ready really soon and that she'd call us. We left and showed up again at 3:45 (no phone call yet) and the staff that was supposed to call us was no longer working. Nothing spectacular here. The restaurant next door (CHOP) was EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. I apologies on behalf of my team for rude behavior and lack of communication. I have already discussed this issue with my front desk staff and I assure you this will never happens again. Your business is very important to us and we would like if you give us another chance to show better customer service.

Thank You
Raj Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a fairly new four floor hotel on southern edge of Edmonton. Rooms are spacious and comfortable with better than average lighting. It was very busy with noisy sports teams on the night we stayed. We did not use pool or fitness rooms but saw many children usiing pool. The breakfast had a good variety including pancakes.The area has other hotels some attached restaurants and many car dealerships not a great area for walking unless you are shopping for a vehicle. Staff was friendly and helpful. Seemed expensive but maybe typical of this area.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have less floor noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review in Trip Advisor. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback, in order to control noise and trafiic in pool we are limiting to maximum 2 teams on weekend so other guest can also enjoy the pool and not bothered by nosie problem.

Thank you
Raj Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here for a sporting event in the city and it was a popular choice.

The hotel is about 3 years old and with very modern decor. Inviting lobby with TV's and 2 story foyer welcome you as you enter.

Pool area is on the larger side with water slide. Kids enjoyed use however, it was VERY busy when there ... several sports teams and families staying same time as us.

Breakfast room was smallish, however they can and did open up the 2 adjacent meeting rooms when tables started to fill up. Choices of cereals, toast, fruit, and pancakes as well as juice and coffee where very attractive and a great way to start your day.

Rooms where HUGE. We had a room with 2 queen beds, 2 lounge chairs between bed and window as well as another 4 feet of room between other bed and wall. Flat screen TV, desk and wall unit housing small fridge, microwave and coffee maker. VERY IMPRESSIVE. Beds where very comfortable. Whole property was very clean and appealing to everyone.

Located in the far south end of the city in an area with several newer hotels and car dealerships in the area. A few restaurants within walking distance as well as lounges.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone, however if on the weekends it is very popular with sports teams and families, so keep that in mind.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear LLA4,

Thank you for your nice comments about our property in Trip Advisor. We certainly do appreciate your feedback and on behalf of the staff and management, we thank you for your business and we look forward of having you here again in our hotel in the near future.

Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Valley, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

One of the finest hotels in edmonton. The customer service soon as you walk thru the door is second to none. Greeted by friendly, helpful and joyful employess that will make you want to visit again. The rooms are very clean, beautiful swimming pool, athletic room, and scrumptuous breakfast all at a reasonable and very fair price. Greatest staff in Alberta.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Trevor w,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review in Trip Advisor. It is so wonderful to read your comments on the Front Desk staff's hospitality & the housekeepers effort to maintain the cleanliness of your room. They work hard and it is always a pleasure to be recognized for such.

In behalf of the management and staff, we are all looking forward in welcoming you back in our hotel.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites

Address: 1204 101 Street SW, Edmonton, Alberta T6X 0P1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#2 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#4 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#14 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleek, stylish and contemporary, this Edmonton, Alberta hotel is located close to the city center's most exciting dining and shopping district and features easy access to the Edmonton International Airport and the University of Alberta. The BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites is in the Top 20% for Quality Assurance Scores for Best Western hotels.This hotel in Edmonton is located just off of Highway 2 and offers spacious, well-appointed guest rooms that feature upgraded amenities - like comfortable pillow top mattresses, an in-room microwave, personal refrigerator, flat screen televisions with cable satellite and free high-speed Internet access. Start each morning at this BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites with a complimentary full breakfast before heading out to enjoy a swim in our indoor saltwater pool - complete with water slide and hot tub - or break a sweat in our fitness center. This hotel in Edmonton is also 100% non-smoking and Eco-Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Edmonton Hotel Edmonton
Best Western South Edmonton Inn And Suites
BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.