We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good things, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1204 101 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T6X 0P1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 90 Hotels in Edmonton
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canmore, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Some good things, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Several family members and my own family stayed at this hotel for a wedding recently. First the positives: The hotel was relatively new and clean, the waterslide was a great hit with the children in the group, the staff was polite, the hotel was well situated for our purposes. Negatives included huge frustration regarding our attempt to book an adjoining room for our elderly mother (which did not happen in spite of several phone calls in the weeks prior to our arrival): no extra blanket for the pull out sofa (in a room with a king-sized bed and a pullout and booked for four people): only two sets of towels/facecloths in the bathroom (again, the room was booked for four): breakfast was not very good and only served until 9:30, which we thought was a very early cut off time.
All in all, although the rooms were spacious and clean, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone I know. The staff was polite but not helpful, and the rote explanation of why we could not book an adjoining room became very tiresome. The need for this adjoining room was very important (for our elderly mother on continuous oxygen), and when it could not be provided we had to completely re-arrange some of our rooming plans to make sure she would not be left alone. It was more than inconvenient, and I expect much better service from any hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    111
    27
    10
    12
See reviews for
159
79
26
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Innisfail, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have stayed all one Edmonton on business and pleasure and feel very fortunate to have finally found this hotel. Great staff, Great rooms, very accomadating and if you are looking for pristine clean then you have found it..I have stayed here quite a few times and never disappointed. so close to everything.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Jeff K...

I am happy to hear that you are noticing the extra efforts we have put in to ensure our hotel is clean and spotless. We have just been certified as one of Best Westerns ULTRA CLEAN hotels and very proud to say we have passed their strict inspection with flying colours.. Rest assured our housekeeping staff try their very best to make sure the rooms are up to our standards.

Happy to have you stay with us and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Mandy Clutesi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Less than a 10 minute drive from the W.E. Mall.

Clean, quiet and comfortable. You get good quality for the price your pay.

Jacuzzi tub was a bonus. Pool was small with no hot tub but still decent for younger kids.

Fairly easy to find with a # of restaurants nearby.

Next time we go to Edmonton I will definitely keep this place in mind

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Fred C.

So happy to hear that we will be your hotel of choice next time you are in Edmonton. We appreciate each and every guest that stays with us and we hope to see you soon.

Thank you
Mandy Clutesi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Came for a wedding. Three of our families stayed here and won't do it again. Upon arrival, there was only one bath towel in bathroom. There were no additional blankets in the room despite having only one bed and a hide-a-bed with 4 occupants. Housecleaning wasn't completed until supper time.
The pool had green mold under poolside table indicated a severe lack of cleaning.
Very understaffed.
A car apparently was stolen during the day while a guest was returning to his room after checking out to retrieve more bags to carry out of room. No security visible in parking lot.
One of our families car door was scraped and damaged due to a small parking lot and ignorant parkers.

Room Tip: Pass this hotel by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear LisaBella77

I am sorry that your recent stay wasn't an enjoyable one. I do not want to make excuses however after some digging we found that we actually checked your room in early and we did make you aware that the room was ready except for the towels as our laundry person was still getting the rest of them ready. I believe I actually spoke to you later and had some brought up to you at 4 pm which is our guaranteed check in time. We always try to accomodate early check ins but things like towels might not be ready right away. Guests are usually happy with that they can get in early regardless of this fact.

When a guest is a stay in our hotel, housekeeping has a cutoff of 6 pm for cleaning in order to allow them time to get the 4pm guaranteed check ins done, this sometimes means stays are cleaned later in the day. We do have a new program that allows you to customize your needs and if earlier clean is needed by all means let us know in the future and we will accomodate. This new program also gives the guest the opportunity to ask for any special items they may require or extra items they may want.

I would also like to explain the vehicle theft that happened here in our parking lot and dents and dings on your car. We are not responsible for valuables or vehicles in our lot. Any good theif can break into a vehicle and unfortunately when a guest leaves a car door unlocked and unattended it is not our hotels fault that this happened. I do want to point out that although we do not have 24 hour staff on hand walking around our hotel, we do have video survelance and I have done everything in my power to help this guest get the information they need to the local police. I have handed over video of the act, etc and I am sure that in the future this guest will be extra vigilant when leaving his vehicle in any parking lot, not just ours. We have a huge lot that accomodates over 180 vehicles and unfortunately people aren't mindful when opening doors etc which may have caused you some dings. This happens every day, in parking lots across the world. I do apologize on their behalf as I know what it is like to have my car dinged. I just don't think it is fair that we are at fault for this.

Every day we try our best to ensure our guests satisfaction, safety, security and there are just some things out of our control. We do not publish that we have security on site, and I do believe that probably 100% of hotels in Edmonton do not take responsibility for lost or stolen or damaged items in your cars or your rooms. It is always recommended to take care when travelling to ensure anything of value is not visible to potential thieves.

I am sorry that you had this bad experience and hopefully have better ones in the future.

Thank you
Mandy Clutesi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary,Alberta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Very clean, staff are extremely friendly, continental breakfast was awesome! Highly recommend this hotel and will stay here again! Very close to lots of shopping and restaurants and close to Calgary trail

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear dutchie95

Thank you so much for your recent review! So glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Mandy Clutesi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I have been staying at this Hotel for the past 6 months due to work and moving to Edmonton. I must say that Mandy and her staff have treated me like royalty. I have never been let down with rooms, parking, breakfast, pool area, exercise room, laundry, computer room or housekeeping. Trust me as I have have used all of these amenties. I have been upgraded almost everytime and will tell everybody of my experience. The Hotel is in a great location and is close to everything I do in the area.

Room Tip: rooms are more quiet on the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Bruce M.

Every day at out hotel we have more and more travellers like you who are like part of the family. Seems to me that means we are doing something right! I am glad that your expectations are met every stay and that we always try to take care of you even last minute.

See you next week I am sure and safe travels.

Mandy Clutesi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Nutmeg State
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I wrote a review las October 2011 about this hotel and it was truly an excellent choice at that time and mentioned that I would stay again when visiting Edomonton. I did last week July 24 - 28, and was not disappointed. The hotel over all is clean, breakfast area staff very attentive, front desk very helpful, and more importantly spacious, clean rooms with all what you need. Location is fine if you don't have business downtown Edmonton. Lots of shopping and restaurants around. The parking lot is always full and could be challenging sometimes to park between 2 cars. Albertans love their trucks.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet corner of the hotel if you don't have to wake up early. It seemed to me that this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Sinbad2007.

Thank you for your recent review. The fact that you were here 6 months ago, and things are still on the up is a good sign that we are doing our job here at the hotel.

Keeping on top of training, Housekeeping, maintenance etc is something we strive to perfect. We have recently been honoured by being selected as one Best Western's Ultra Clean Hotels and our staff have had the most up to date clean training there is to offer. I am very happy that our efforts show and hope you continue to use us in the future.


Thank you
Mandy Clutesi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites

Address: 1204 101 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T6X 0P1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#1 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#3 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleek, stylish and contemporary, this Edmonton, Alberta hotel is located close to the city center's most exciting dining and shopping district and features easy access to the Edmonton International Airport and the University of Alberta. The BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites is in the Top 20% for Quality Assurance Scores for Best Western hotels.This hotel in Edmonton is located just off of Highway 2 and offers spacious, well-appointed guest rooms that feature upgraded amenities - like comfortable pillow top mattresses, an in-room microwave, personal refrigerator, flat screen televisions with cable satellite and free high-speed Internet access. Start each morning at this BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites with a complimentary full breakfast before heading out to enjoy a swim in our indoor saltwater pool - complete with water slide and hot tub - or break a sweat in our fitness center. This hotel in Edmonton is also 100% non-smoking and Eco-Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Edmonton Hotel Edmonton
Best Western South Edmonton Inn And Suites
BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.