We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsanitary” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fantasyland Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fantasyland Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Fantasyland Hotel & Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   17700 87th Ave, Edmonton, Alberta T5T 4V4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 90 Hotels in Edmonton
Hinton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unsanitary”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel on a trip away from our children. We were quite excited to stay at the Fantasyland hotel even if it was just in a executive suite... We went to check in at 4 pm (check in time) and were told our room wasn't ready and we'd have to wait. All looked good till we thought we'd enjoy a dip in the jacuzzi, there were water marks all around the tile surround... Not just a few from the previous guests but HUNDREDS, from many guests. We also noticed the body wash they provided as a hotel curtesy was half used.At closer inspection we noticed forehead and hand prints on the window, and water marks on the sink and granite counter top. To top it off everything was quite out of date, we had a grey toilet and shower surround, and the jacuzzi was corral. We were fairly disappointed in everything about this hotel and will not recommend it to anyone and will share our dissatisfaction with anyone who asks. I also left a comment card about our stay thinking we would receive a call or email but heard nothing....

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    181
    123
    107
    97
See reviews for
226
174
16
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carseland, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Booked an executive room but it wasn't ready when we arrived (could only promise for 4 pm) so they gave us a "Polynesian" theme room instead - for an extra $10 per night. These rooms may have been exciting in the 80's, but they are just tacky now and this hotel seriously needs an update! Especially since the rack price is about $280 per room! The room is small, the queen bed was lumpy and uncomfortable and the "Polynesian" accents look more like a Junior High science project. The only plus is the very handy location to the mall (which, by the way, was crazy busy on a Sunday afternoon).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

The Fantasyland Hotel is located right inside West Edmonton Mall so you don't have to mess about with taxis. I stayed in a standard room that was very nice. It was spacious and had a couch that was much appreciated so you don't have to always sit on hard chairs or the bed. The staff was friendly enough but the hotel does seem to be a bit overpriced. I guess that is for the convenience of staying right in the mall. My only complaint would be breakfast. It would be nice if they offered free breakfast to guests or at least a bit of a discount as $14 for the Buffet each morning is quite pricey. If I went to the mall again however, I would absolutely stay at this hotel again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fantasyland H, General Manager at Fantasyland Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very pleased that your stay with us in one of our Superior Room was enjoyable. The Fantasyland Hotel provides you a hustle free environment for being right inside the West Edmonton Mall - definiltey a great location. For your next booking please ask our Reservation Agent about our packages and promotions as some of which already include breakfast. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Well where do I begin, we checked in...was a breeze...we get up to our room..the hollywood suite and that is where it all went downhill. First off let me start by saying if you think this room is like the hollywood rooms in vegas, the party type suites it is not, this room is more of an hourly rental for prostitutes, seriously!! Most outdated, dirty hotel I've ever stayed in and I have travelled to many places and never have I seen anything this nasty, the room was disgusting and the staff was worse. I have never in my life been made to feel like the piece of trash the staff treated us like, first off we had no idea this was a couples porno suite, I figured it was a party suite for bachelorette parties or something similar...it had a stripper pole, well boy was I wrong. If they are going to have a room like that then they best be taking extra precautions when cleaning because finding a sticky paper on the nightstand and a condom wrapper in the bed is appalling and then to be treated like hookers from the front desk infuriated me more. THe one lady even said you do know what kind of room this is, so I guess because it was a couples porn suite the sticky cum stains and condom wrapper in the bed makes it ok. Well soon as we saw the room we wanted to switch and then to find the condom wrapper was the nail in the coffin, well the ladies at the front were once again rude and did offer to send a maid the next day to clean the leftovers from the previous people that stayed there, like I would sleep in a dirty room...not even an option. This was the worst hotel I have EVER been to and if it hadn't been so late we would have switched hotels!! I would never stay here again even if I was paid to, this is a dump and needs some serious renos, a 3 star in mexico is nicer and has better customer service!! and if I could put negative star review i would because a 1 is being nice!! They should also mention on website what kind of room this is!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fantasyland H, General Manager at Fantasyland Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Fantasyland Hotel during your recent trip to Edmonton. I am happy to hear your check in process was a breeze; however, we are very disappointed your stay did not continue as well as it should have. We have processes in place to ensure our standards are met consistently so our valued guest such as yourself can have a wonderful time. When you have an opportunity, can you please contact me directly at guest@fantasylandhotel.com so I can follow up on your concern and have this addresed with our staff directly. Thank you in advance for the opportunity and I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here several times. They have many themes room to choose from. It attached to the Mall which provides you with great access. The price is reasonable. In my opinion, it is a great “get away” if you don’t have a long vacation available to you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fantasyland H, General Manager at Fantasyland Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Fantasyland Hotel and for sharing your experience with us. We hope to see you and your husband on your next "getaway" to Edmonton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The front desk staff needs to take a bow, you were truly examples of great customer service. We checked in, went to the room and dumped our stuff in a hurry to shop. When we came back to the room for the night and tried to close the curtains they wouldn't close all they way, leaving a foot gap. I went to the front desk to see if they could send someone to fix this, or get a new room. They said for the trouble they would just give us a new room, but they had no King rooms available like we booked, so we were offered the honeymoon suite and no extra cost. The first room was great, but the new room was amazing and huge. Both rooms had 4 person hot tub in them and king beds. Guests get discounted passes to the mall attractions, and that saves big time. The convience to staying right at the mall and not having to drive everyday, or if you want to take a break in your room is worth the extra cost. I hope we get to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fantasyland H, General Manager at Fantasyland Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you kindly for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are glad you found our room to be amazing and spacious. I will certainly share your compliments with the front desk team. The entire team will be thrilled to know that they were able to provide you with an excellent customer service. We hope to have the opportunity again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We as a family stay here for a mini holiday a few times a year. With it being attached to the Mall there is everything needed at your fingertips. It is fairly priced for what you receive and you never have to worry about nap time, bed is always minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fantasyland Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fantasyland Hotel & Resort

Address: 17700 87th Ave, Edmonton, Alberta T5T 4V4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fantasyland Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fantasyland Hotel. We're located in the heart of North America's largest shopping and entertainment complex, West Edmonton Mall. The hotel features classically decorated rooms with TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, hairdryer, voice mail, clock radio and air conditioning. Choice abounds when it comes to dining with L2 Grill providing culinary creations that feature the freshest ingredients found between the East and West Coasts of Canada. If it is just a drink you are after, the L1 Lounge provides a relaxing environment to sit back and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fantasyland Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fantasyland Hotel And Resort
Fantasyland Hotel Edmonton
Fantasyland Hotel & Resort Edmonton, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fantasyland Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.