We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the conceirge service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Lacombe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Lacombe Hotel to your Saves list
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10111 Bellamy Hill, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 1N7, Canada (Formerly Crowne Plaza Chateau Lacombe)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 89 Hotels in Edmonton
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Loved the conceirge service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel was the host hotel for the recent Canadian masters Badminton championships. We booked a renovated room on the concierge floors and stayed for 8 nights. Our room, on the 21st floor was excellent. After reading other reviews we requested a quiet room away from the elevators.
Our room was modern, spacious, well equipped and had great views over the city. We had upgraded wifi and a 42 inch flat screen TV with Optik service.
The concierge service gave us access to the lounge on the 20th floor. Everyday between 5-8pm we could visit the lounge and enjoy 2 complimentary drinks of wine, beer or soft drinks and a selection of hors d'oeuvres. The room rate also included a continental breakfast served in the same lounge or we could pay a supplement to have a hot breakfast on the main floor.
Parking was expensive at $15 a day. The car park is a very old multi story, it was very busy during the day but quiet in the evenings and the weekend.
Bellamy's lounge served a good selection of meals. We had a theme night function in the hotels ballroom with over 350 people. The food was excellent and it was a great room for a party of that size.
The staff were excellent. Whatever time of day the staff went out of their way to ask how your day was going and was there anything you needed.
There are some good restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R W, General Manager at Chateau Lacombe Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
As discerning clients of the Canadian Masters Badminton Championship guests, we are so delighted to hear of your recent stay in our newly renovated Concierge guest rooms at the Chateau Lacombe Hotel.

It was a pleasure to host your group and we look forward to sharing your feedback to the hotel associates that you worked with. Wishing you the very best success at your 2016 Championships!

Warm Regards,

Richard Wong
GM & VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    61
    54
    30
    26
See reviews for
23
52
14
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here two nights over the weekend and was quite impressed with the cleanliness and friendliness of the staff. The location is perfect, right downtown and within walking distance to many restaurants. The lrt station is also only about a block away. The front desk staff was very helpful at check in and check out was the easiest of any hotel I've stayed. On the final day a bill is slid under the room door and that is it, very easy and no waiting in line to check out. They were also very knowledgeable about the area and helped us when we had questions about how to get places. We did not try any of the dining in the hotel but did have a couple drinks in the Lounge one night which was quite nice and reasonably priced. I got a very good deal booking through a third party site and while I was impressed with the hotel I don't know if the value is worth the advertised price on their website. I would recommend staying here if you want to experience downtown edmonton and would search third party sites for a good deal.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R W, General Manager at Chateau Lacombe Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
We are so pleased to hear that we contributed to your great Edmonton stay. We always suggest starting your YEG visit by joining us on the 24th floor in our La Ronde lounge where we offer cocktails and an extensive wine list. You will see a unique perspective of Edmonton’s growth including the new downtown arena! The rotation takes 88 minutes and it does not disappoint.

Please feel free to book directly on the hotel website as we also match the rates we offer to the third party sites WITH additional exclusive discounts on daily breakfast and parking.

Warm Regards,

R. Wong
VP& GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Recently stayed here for two nights over the weekend, was happy and impressed with my stay overall. Initially had booked through HW, but contacted the hotel directly before arrival to secure an upgrade to a concierge-level room (extra $30/night FYI).

Location: Excellent location in downtown Edmonton. City Centre shopping mall (stores, restaurants, movie theatre, etc.) is only a short two-block walk north from the hotel; Central LRT train station is one-block around the corner as well. Tim Hortons and Starbucks also one-block walk. FYI parking is $15 per night (self) and $20 (valet), as hotel is situated downtown.

Rooms: Concierge-level rooms are great. Spacious, clean, and recently renovated/updated with a very 'modern' feel. The king-size bed was very comfortable, no complaints there. No noise issues either, for a solid night(s) sleep. Bathroom is compact in size, but more importantly very clean and also updated/renovated (with a stand-up walk in shower). Room amenities: Telus Optik TV, upgraded WIFI (free, included with concierge-level rooms), Keurig coffee maker, 2x bottled water, robe.

Service: Front desk staff was standard but friendly, little bit slow compared to other hotels I've been to (especially since I was only guest at desk when I checked in). The staff that were noticeably great that I encountered were the ones in the concierge-level lounge (both for breakfast and evening apps/drinks) and housekeeping.

---

Overall: If you book and/or upgrade to a concierge-level room/suite at the Chateau Lacombe, then I'd definitely recommend staying here (can't speak for their 'standard' regular rooms, as I haven't experience them personally) - the new (renovated) modern rooms are great, plus you get access to a host of additional (upgraded) amenities/services. Will likely be staying again here in the Summer when I am back in Edmonton.

**Thanks for reading. If this review was helpful/informative for your travel planning, please take a quick second to hit the 'YES - Review was Helpful' button. Much appreciated, HAPPY TRAVELS!**

Room Tip: - The upgrade ($30, subject to availability of course) from a 'regular' room to a concierge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R W, General Manager at Chateau Lacombe Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
We are delighted to hear of your recent feedback on our newly renovated Concierge guest rooms and Concierge lounge.

You described the location well – we even like to refer to the city view as our front yard and the majestic river valley as our back yard, full of fun and activity.

Thank you for sharing your observation on the check in process. We recently experienced some equipment malfunctions but rest assured, we are working to provide a seamless and quick check in experience for our guests.

Looking forward to your return and welcome all additional feedback.

Yours in hospitality,

R. Wong
GM & VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I read a few reviews that were bad but I diecied to book the hotel anyways because you can not judge a book by the cover and the hotel was awesome from check in to check out the staff were amazing, friendly, professional and on point, everything you would expect from this hotel, it is worth the 20 dollars for the Vallet parking and they were so close to the venue I was in town for the pure pride event happening at the starlight room I would definitely book this hotel again but I would want to be higher up with a view of the river.
The buffet breakfast in the Café Lacombe was so yummy you must try it when you stay!!!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R W, General Manager at Chateau Lacombe Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you during your recent stay and also for taking the time to post your recent experience during your stay at hotel.

Looking forward to your return!

Warm Regards,

R.Wong
GM & VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After booking this hotel I read many negative, recent, reviews which made me concerned that I made a bad choice. When we arrived there was a five minute wait at the desk and then another guest walked in front of us to check-in. The lady apologized profusely for the wait and gave us a $20 voucher towards our dinner in the Lounge and 2 complimentary breakfasts. We had a room with two queen beds with a view of the river. Dinner at the Lounge was great and the front desk made our taxi arrangement for us. If going to the Citadel Theatre it isn't even a 10 min walk. Everyone was friendly and I would most definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red deer
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was clean but dated. Outside windows will be replaced starting in July 2015. Parking cost $15/day plus the GST .
There is a rotating restaurant in the hotel. Staff were very professional like expected from a high end hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to over look the river valley or the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After already making a non-refundable pre-payment on a 3rd-party site, I was pretty concerned when reading the reviews that we were in for a hellish night. But our one night stay has been lovely! We did request a room away from the elevator based on other reviewers' experiences, but we weren't willing to pay the extra for a concierge floor so we were on the 11th. The room was tastefully updated and decorated with modern decor. Impeccably clean with no smells (I'm highly sensitive). No Maintenance issues at all except that the TV cord wanted to be jiggled before the TV would turn on. If I have any complaints about our room, it's that it was missing a desk and the toiletries were very basic.

We didn't use any of the hotel amenities except for the valet parking, which was courteous and prompt.

I got a great deal on the 3rd party site. If I'd paid full price I think I would have had some concerns about value overall. But for me, I was very pleased with my stay.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R W, General Manager at Chateau Lacombe Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for sharing your recent stay at the hotel.

Did you know that the hotel actually provides the 3rd party sites with their room rates and as such we are obligated to also offer the same room rates on our own website?

INSIDER TIP: The advantage of booking the very same rate you find on a 3rd party site directly on our hotel website is that we also provide exclusive bonus discounts on breakfast and parking. Something we do not offer to the 3rd party sites.

Something to keep in mind for your return visit! Thanks again and see you soon.

Warm Regards,

R.Wong
VP & GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Lacombe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Lacombe Hotel

Address: 10111 Bellamy Hill, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 1N7, Canada (Formerly Crowne Plaza Chateau Lacombe)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 89 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Lacombe Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the iconic landmark Chateau Lacombe Hotel. Locally owned and independently operated, the Chateau Lacombe Hotel offers 307 guest rooms including 69 Concierge guest rooms allocated on the upper floors requiring key access, each fully renovated Concierge guest room offers Telus Optic LED TV and 15mb dedicated internet access for each room. Enjoy access to our private Concierge Lounge overlooking the majestic Edmonton river valley. Lounge Privilege's include: Daily continental breakfast & Daily evening beverages with Canapes. The Hotel is home to the city's award winning rooftop revolving restaurant La Ronde on the 24th floor and rotates over 88 minutes capturing the cityscape and river valley views. A great location for celebrating memorable moments and milestone events. With its 307 Guest Rooms and 14,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, the Chateau Lacombe Hotel is the preferred location for business and leisure travellers wishing to be close to downtown with the Arts & Culture, nightlife and soon to be revealed in 2016 - the Downtown Arts and Entertainment District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau Lacombe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chateau Lacombe Hotel Edmonton
Crowne Plaza Edmonton
Crowne Plaza Hotel Edmonton
Chateau Lacombe Hotel Edmonton, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Lacombe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.