We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Lacombe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Lacombe Hotel to your Saves list
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10111 Bellamy Hill, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 1N7, Canada (Formerly Crowne Plaza Chateau Lacombe)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 89 Hotels in Edmonton
Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Pleasantly surprised.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

After booking this hotel I read many negative, recent, reviews which made me concerned that I made a bad choice. When we arrived there was a five minute wait at the desk and then another guest walked in front of us to check-in. The lady apologized profusely for the wait and gave us a $20 voucher towards our dinner in the Lounge and 2 complimentary breakfasts. We had a room with two queen beds with a view of the river. Dinner at the Lounge was great and the front desk made our taxi arrangement for us. If going to the Citadel Theatre it isn't even a 10 min walk. Everyone was friendly and I would most definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    58
    54
    30
    26
See reviews for
22
51
14
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Red deer
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was clean but dated. Outside windows will be replaced starting in July 2015. Parking cost $15/day plus the GST .
There is a rotating restaurant in the hotel. Staff were very professional like expected from a high end hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to over look the river valley or the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After already making a non-refundable pre-payment on a 3rd-party site, I was pretty concerned when reading the reviews that we were in for a hellish night. But our one night stay has been lovely! We did request a room away from the elevator based on other reviewers' experiences, but we weren't willing to pay the extra for a concierge floor so we were on the 11th. The room was tastefully updated and decorated with modern decor. Impeccably clean with no smells (I'm highly sensitive). No Maintenance issues at all except that the TV cord wanted to be jiggled before the TV would turn on. If I have any complaints about our room, it's that it was missing a desk and the toiletries were very basic.

We didn't use any of the hotel amenities except for the valet parking, which was courteous and prompt.

I got a great deal on the 3rd party site. If I'd paid full price I think I would have had some concerns about value overall. But for me, I was very pleased with my stay.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed over Easter weekend and had a lovely room on the concierge floor. Pictures on the website were exactly how the room looked and we were very pleased with the comfort of our bed. The walk-in shower is a nice touch.

We had a good breakfast in the concierge lounge with a staff member who was very friendly, and we were also treated nicely by the front desk clerk, the valet and the maid on our floor.

The one thing that was missing, and it's certainly not a deal breaker, is that there is no in-room safe, which are pretty normal these days. Would have expected this in a renovated room.

The value for our room was great and we would come back.

Room Tip: If you want to take in the valley view, get a concierge level room and enjoy while you eat your free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place was average. No real complaints. It is a bit dated with the couch, carpet, bedding, and the tub coating was peeling. Everything did look clean though. It did have a mini fridge. There was no pool or hot tub in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Front desk staff did not clarify that the rooms were bare minimum and that every amenity was extra. Parking was an extra $15 in a completely empty parking lot, room did not have a microwave and the television and mini fridge did not work. Was told it was an extra $20 for those amenities. Guests were loud in the hallways at all times of the night and did not get much sleep.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I chose Chaeau Lacombe for a one night Edmonton stay knowing I wouldn't be spending a ton of time at the hotel. The valets were both lovely and the check in process was good. My room was on an upper floor with a city view. If II were spending more time there I would definitely ask for a room with a river view. I did not eat any meals there.

The room was quiet, comfortable and warm. The TV was hard to use but I find most hotel TV's hard, so that could be just me. The room was not recently updated but was really clean.. The the comfy chair in my room was threadbare but very comfy (a big plus in my mind). The best part - the bed was wonderful. Firm but comfortable, just the right pillows and just the right number of blankets. Loved that.

Room Tip: ask for away from elevator, river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Lacombe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Lacombe Hotel

Address: 10111 Bellamy Hill, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 1N7, Canada (Formerly Crowne Plaza Chateau Lacombe)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 89 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Lacombe Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the iconic landmark Chateau Lacombe Hotel. Locally owned and independently operated, the Chateau Lacombe Hotel offers 307 guest rooms including 69 Concierge guest rooms allocated on the upper floors requiring key access, each fully renovated Concierge guest room offers Telus Optic LED TV and 15mb dedicated internet access for each room. Enjoy access to our private Concierge Lounge overlooking the majestic Edmonton river valley. Lounge Privilege's include: Daily continental breakfast & Daily evening beverages with Canapes. The Hotel is home to the city's award winning rooftop revolving restaurant La Ronde on the 24th floor and rotates over 88 minutes capturing the cityscape and river valley views. A great location for celebrating memorable moments and milestone events. With its 307 Guest Rooms and 14,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, the Chateau Lacombe Hotel is the preferred location for business and leisure travellers wishing to be close to downtown with the Arts & Culture, nightlife and soon to be revealed in 2016 - the Downtown Arts and Entertainment District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chateau Lacombe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chateau Lacombe Hotel Edmonton
Crowne Plaza Edmonton
Crowne Plaza Hotel Edmonton
Chateau Lacombe Hotel Edmonton, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Lacombe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.