We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in downtown” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Lacombe Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chateau Lacombe Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10111 Bellamy Hill, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 1N7, Canada (Formerly Crowne Plaza Chateau Lacombe)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 90 hotels in Edmonton
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Decent hotel in downtown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Decent hotel, friendly staff, comfortable beds, rooms clean. I would rate this hotel 4/5 easily except i stayed there on a night when the temperature was below -30C and there was no power for plugging your vehicle in. I asked before i went there and the said there were plugins, but whats the point when they have the breakers turned off. Luckily we drove our newer vehicle and was able to get it started.

I understand they want to save money for power, but we did pay money for the room and a couple bucks to keep my motor warm would of been nice. Also it is an Impark parkade so maybe its their responsibility but the hotel does have a deal with them to allow for guest parking. Anyways, if you have an older vehicle that dosent start in the cold you might want to consider this if its a cold night.

Also i do have a light on my cord to indicate there's power and there was nothing.

Still i would definetly stay here again, but i might consider a taxi next time if its cold.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    33
    28
    19
    12
See reviews for
11
25
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Peace River, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed here for a hockey game in October, stayed in the King Executive Suite, amazing value for the price. So close to LRT station for easy access to Rexall. The place is a little dated and could use an upgrade. The view on the river side is pretty cool. I paid 175 on Hotels.com. Service was excellent, friendly staff and comfortable beds. Rooms are a little stained and like I said could use a reno soon but very clean and upkeep has been good. I highly recommend it, best bang for your buck in downtown Edmonton. I have stayed at the Delta, Matrix and Alberta Suites in the downtown area before. Best hotel I have stayed at is the matrix but it's expensive and terrible parking area. This place has covered parking and it was free for one night but had to pay by 6am the next day since it was a weekday (that was not cool).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My wife was attending The Western CAURA Conference workshops attended by B.C. Universities Administrators, held this year in Edmonton. It was being held at The Chateau Lacombe, an elegant hotel with friendly helpful staff.It was central to downtown shopping and entertainment. Edmonton has great bus and underground light transit transportation to places that are alittle too far to walk. It has 2 in house Restaurants and Lounges. You can access their website and see what each has to offer. My wife and I enjoyed our stay and we would stay there again if we are ever in Edmonton.

Room Tip: View of the river is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, KS
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I enjoyed staying in this hotel. Nice views from the rooms. All the restaurants and cafes that you need (including Tim Horton's, Starbucks etc.) are one block away, just straight ahead. Internet is free. Downstairs breakfast overpriced (that's a usual thing). My room was very comfortable. No complaints!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The night was blustery and an icy drive into Edmonton mid November , we arrived about 7 pm and were greeted at the door and directed to the desk by the valet , at the desk we were promptly greeted by the assistant desk manager , and we were given room 1610 and we were told where we could park in the underground parking , we have a Chev Tahoe and it is just short enough to fit (tall 4x4 will not fit) . We got in the garage elevator and went to the main level and transferred to the main elevator to get up to the 16th floor . the hallways are circular so we walked around to get to our doorway , upon entering we saw a huge room with very nice furnishings and a grand King size bed with tons of pillows , sitting chairs , a writing table , dresser and end tables and a high view of the city lights , ( I would suggest a room on the other side to get a view of the river valley and Parliament bldgs.) We settled in and found the ice machine (1 on each floor) and settled in for a drink and turned on the 32 inch tv (a little small for such a big room so I had to put my glasses on to see clearly (imagine complaining the room was too big , lol) We could have gone to the bar or the very nice restaurant but we were lazy so sent out for a Pizza Hut Pizza and 30 minutes later we had our large pizza and we watched tv and had another drink and went to bed . We slept in a little Saturday morning (we normally get up at 4 am for work) made our in room coffee and made our way down to the lobby to checkout at 10am (we had til noon) paid $133 including $15 for parking and went on our way , we did not stop at the hotel restaurant for the $19 smorg breakfast as shopping awaited us ,all in all a very nice stay (by the way they allow pets)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river park side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The furnishings in the room are very dated. There were wear marks on all the furniture. The bed was as hard as a rock. No pillow top on the mattress. It was a very old mattress. I have honestly had a better sleep in much cheaper hotels. Our room rate was $210 per night. The pillows were also hard and lumpy, The buffet on saturday morning was nothing special.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corunna on
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I have stayed here several times due to the downtown location, however it seems that each time I stay, the service is worse than the last. The hotel is rundown and really needs to be updated. The restaurant on the main level is adequate, but not a place to eat dinner. The front desk staff was not very attentive until they discovered I booked with an outside agency and then argued with me about the price I paid!! I was stunned at the treatment and showed them my confirmation email....after that the front staff manager found me in the restaurant and asked me if I would send this to them via email as they were upset at the 'deal' I got!! This was all above board, I booked through Expedia or some similar place as I always do. To say it was shocking, annoying and very poor guest relations would be putting it mildly. These things are just not what I look for in a hotel and I'll be staying elsewhere for now on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau Lacombe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Lacombe Hotel

Address: 10111 Bellamy Hill, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 1N7, Canada (Formerly Crowne Plaza Chateau Lacombe)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 90 hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Lacombe Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose to say in the refurbished guest rooms at the landmark Crowne Plaza Chateau Lacombe Hotel located in downtown Edmonton and overlooking the picturesque River Valley. The Hotel is within walking distance of the Shaw Conference Centre, Arts District, shopping and nightlife. The guest rooms have been refurbished and offers 32” flat screen TV and complimentary high speed wireless Internet. You may also choose an upgrade to the River Valley Room for an additional $10 and enhance your stay with the spectacular views. The Hotel is home to the city’s award winning rooftop revolving restaurant La Ronde on the 24th floor. With 307 Guest Rooms and 14,000 sq ft of meeting space, the Hotel is the preferred choice for business and leisure travellers. Call now or book online to ensure a pleasant stay in Edmonton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelClick, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Chateau Lacombe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chateau Lacombe Hotel Edmonton
Crowne Plaza Edmonton
Crowne Plaza Hotel Edmonton
Chateau Lacombe Hotel Edmonton, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Lacombe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.