We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stately but Tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald to your Saves list
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10065 100th St, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 89 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Stately but Tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Nice hotel with great service but showing its years. We had a small suite that was in sad need of updating but the staff and view were great. Not sure when the next refresh is planned but hopefully soon!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    152
    51
    23
    11
See reviews for
77
166
34
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I just recently spent a night at the Fairmont Hotel in Edmonton and it was really wonderful. I had always wanted to stay at this historic hotel and got my chance on Saturday , May 14 th, 2015. It was very comfortable. I liked the historic character of the hotel.
The rooms were very modern but still had the historic feeling.
It was very quiet compared to some of the other hotels in the area.
The breakfast brunch was fantastic. One could sit in the dining lounge overlooking the river valley,
The staff were all wonderful and friendly.
I know several people who always stay at this hotel. It is a must destination for them.

Room Tip: I think that all the floors are quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel is really into recycling which is great to see.
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

An older hotel with some charming characteristics (example) wider hallways, beautiful stairways, a dog to greet you and a wonderful view of the river.

The rooms have been updated with contemporary washrooms, Tv's etc and the bed was comfortable and quickly fell asleep. I did not notice any noises from the road or outside the room.

Staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to provide early check in as well as baggage storage and delivery to room.

Great access to downtown and convention center.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I recently had my team in Edmonton for some strategic planning. The hotel is situation on a beautiful spot overlooking the North Saskatchewan River--an inspiring backdrop. Rooms, service, food were all impeccable!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff is the real standout here. My sister and I have never felt so pampered. We changed rooms, changed transportation, scheduled dinners, and otherwise made great demands of the staff, all of whom were cheerful and happy to serve. The room was large, the beds comfortable, the location excellent, and what a beautiful place. Worth every penny

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the River
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for our anniversary over the weekend and had such a great stay! So nice and close to restaurants and everything happening downtown, an awesome lounge with yummy drinks and the room was very comfortable. We did not get a river view as we requested, but the room was still great. The bed is like sleeping in a cloud!

Room Tip: Request river view. Be prepared to pay $32 for parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very close to the Shaw Convention Center. Staff were friendly and pleasant and refer to you by your name consistently. There is a golden lab named "Smudge" who resides in the hotel lobby and is available for guest to schedule a walk/run with - brilliant idea. The rooms are clean and stately, updated but still hold the sense of history. Beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarrettTurta, General Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, 1 week ago
It was very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while you attended your conference. In addition, I am glad that you were able to see Smudge our canine ambassador at the hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to see you again at Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Address: 10065 100th St, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#1 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#5 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#11 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Downtown Hotel located 30 km from international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Edmonton
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Fairmont Edmonton
Edmonton Fairmont
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald Edmonton, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.