We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mac is still the place to be in Edmonton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald to your Saves list
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10065 100th St, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 89 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Mac is still the place to be in Edmonton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

our reservataion allowed us to have a quiet meeting with 2 clients -- it went very well and we were all well looked after by your staff.. Thank you. We will definitely consider this location for further meetings.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    151
    50
    23
    11
See reviews for
75
161
34
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Fairmont Hotel McDonald is a beautiful, special home away from home while visiting Edmonton. The service level is of the highest order from the moment you check in, to every meal and interaction in the The Harvest Room Restaurant and it includes everyone you meet here. Fairmont really cares to deliver the highest level of service. The hotel lobby and bar are very inviting, and they make you want to simply enjoy the hotel. We ate dinner in The Harvest Room, and the Butternut Squash Risotto as well as the Alberta Beef Tenderloin were amazing. Overall, this is a beautiful hotel with spectacular service. We will definitely return again the next time we are in Edmonton.

Room Tip: Rooms which face the river have a great view. If you are able, get a room in the middle section of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent location with superb accommodation and venues and service. We had great food in a private setting and also in the Harvest room and Confederation room. We have stayed there many times before and it remains a favourite.


  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is quite nice and is well-maintained. I expected a small room considering the age of the hotel, but it was quite large. The entire staff was just fantastic as they always went well beyond what I would expect or had experienced at other hotels. The only disappointment was with my room temperature as the windows seemed to allow a draft in. I turned the heat up more than I would have in order to compensate for this, so it was a minor issue.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The property is very nice and has a small/quaint feeling to it. Unlike some other pricey Fairmonts which have nice common areas but older rooms, Macdonald has definitely made consistent renovations to maintain an excellent appearance to rooms and common areas after 100 years! Beds are very comfortable.

Service is also friendly, quick and there is a cute dog who "lives" in his dog house in the hotel lobby, which I thought was a nice touch.

However, I would have one constructive criticism: Although the concierge from which you phone in your room is very helpful, front desk staff were often clueless about directions to major sites and restaurants in Edmonton. Edmonton is a pretty small place, so it was a bit surprising that Fairmont front staff had no idea what, e.g. the Royal Alberta Museum was, or what the famous restaurants were.

All in all, a great hotel, stay there!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed here a few times over the years and its always very pleasant. The suites are always clean and comfortable and many have good views. The rooms I particularly recommend are the turret rooms (as far as I know there are only two of them). These rooms are more private than many others as you have to go through a set of doors to get into a squarish hallway that then has the doors to both suites at the other end. Myself, my brother, and my parents booked both these rooms and so it was nice to be able to go back and forth between rooms without having to go through the main hallway. The privacy was great. Definitely would recommend these rooms for families.

The food is also excellent. The Harvest Room restaurant is beautifully situated with great views and has very good food and wine and top notch service. The Confederation Lounge (right off main entrance) also has wonderful food and a very good selection of cocktails, wines, whiskies, coffees, and other drinks. Be sure to ask about variations of drinks on the menus, or drinks that you enjoy as there are always a few drinks that only the bartenders and servers know about that are not on the menu. For example I was there last January and I wanted to get a Caesar, and there were two on the menu, but the server mentioned three variations that were not.

Room Tip: Book as early as possible. Rooms book up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is about 100 years old and while it has clearly been refurbished in that time, there are aspects that are still somewhat dated. The fact that you have to switch on the room lamps all individually with no central control is one example. The pool is also a little tired.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarrettTurta, General Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

It was nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay however disheartening to hear your comments regarding our facility. We are working with our ownership group to continue our renovation plans and I will ensure your comments are shared.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Address: 10065 100th St, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#2 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#11 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Downtown Hotel located 30 km from international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Edmonton
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Fairmont Edmonton
Edmonton Fairmont
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald Edmonton, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.