We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Dining Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald to your Saves list
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10065 100th St, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 90 Hotels in Edmonton
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
“Amazing Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I did not stay in the Hotel as I live in Edmonton, but went there for dinner on Friday evening. This was my first time being in the Hotel Macdonald and to say I was impressed was an understatement. The decor, the atmosphere, the staff were all amazing. Our waiter was Santana, and he was very attentive but not in your face attentive - he always knew when we needed something. The food was incredible! we took 3 hours to have dinner, and my husband and I will be making a reservation for our anniversary in the summer. I believe we have found our "go to" place for special events..or events when you want to feel special :)

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    141
    46
    22
    10
See reviews for
70
153
32
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

When we arrived at 3;45 PM our room was not ready, they offered an upgrade for a reduced rate of $20 which we accepted. The overall experience was excellent with the exception of the food and service in the lounge. The Harvest Room is closed for renovation so we had lunch in the lounge. We ordered 2 soups and a sandwich which took 40 minutes to arrive. The sandwich was not as described on the menu but the server said that's the way it comes, at this point we were in a rush so didn't argue. On checkout they were kind enough to reduce the food and beverage bill. This is still a great place if your stay requires you to be in Edmonton centre. I will return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side with a river view are quieter. Depending on the location of the north side r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Dinner in the Harvest Room after a long day, the service and Crown Royal superb to start. We had no appetizers, the main courses we had were beef tenderloin with beetroot hollandaise which was fantastic. Also my wife had the Sablefish which may be better known as Black Cod was quite good. For desert I had the Creme Brule infused with lavender. ......fantastic! My wife had the chocolate mousse which seemed quite dense, but delicious all the same. Spanish coffee was good however did not have the caramelized sugar rim, however delicious anyway. Our server Jacob should be commended he did a good job everything was as it should have been. I would have expected white linen table cloths. I would highly recommend for any occasion, historical building, ambiance, perfect.
Dan Cookson
30 year's professional chef
trained in fine french cuisine and nouvelle cuisine

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This place is a little gem. The rates are reasonable, the location is handy and the staff are uber friendly. It's a beautiful place ...now 100 years old, but modernized sympathetically. The food was very good and reasonable. I'd have to say this is the best place to stay in Edmonton. It even has a lobby dog named Smudge!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Fairmont McDonald is the perfect venue for a girls getaway, we stayed in our rooms for a lovely dinner, in our hotel robes for room service. Just because we loved the atmosphere so much. Then we went to the Bryan Adams concert and returned to Valet Parking and comfy beds. Wonderful memories for me and my best friend.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Mine and hubby's weekend away..loved everthing about...the service was excellent, especially in the conferation roo..the view was out of this world..forgot how beautiful our city is. Can't wait to come back

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Valley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was staying elsewhere downtown Edmonton and getting harassed every time I had to walk through the parking garage alone so I checked out and escaped to the Fairmont. When I called to book, I mentioned I felt sick and stressed. I went straight to the Fairmont and immediately to bed. When I got to my room (maybe only 20 minutes after booking over the phone) there was a pot of hot water and a selection of calming herbal teas waiting for me. It was so nice and thoughtful.
The hotel parking (valet) was far more secure than other hotels downtown. For the first time in a week, I didn't have to worry about getting mugged.
Well worth it to me.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarrettTurta, General Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Safety and security of our guests is first and foremost and I am very happy to hear your comments.

We do pride ourselves on service and attention to detail and I am very happy my team was able to ensure a comfortable stay while away from home. I will ensure your comments are shared with my team.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Address: 10065 100th St, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#2 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#6 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Family Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Downtown Hotel located 30 km from international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Edmonton
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Fairmont Edmonton
Edmonton Fairmont
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald Edmonton, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.