We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgetable weekend!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10065 100th St, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 90 hotels in Edmonton
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An unforgetable weekend!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I just turned 50 and my husband wanted to give me a special present. We couldn't afford to "go away" on a holiday, but he booked us into the "Mac" for the weekend to celebrate in hopes that it would still make it a special birthday (we live in Edmonton). I can honestly say that I am glad he didn't make plans for us to "go away" as I will never forget my weekend at the Fairmont Hotel Macdonald (the Macdonald hotel or the "Mac" to us old Edmontonians).
First I must say that, living in Edmonton for my whole life...the Mac has been a permanent fixture in my life and is my main "landmark" downtown...I never dreamed that I would actually get to stay there some day. It represents the best architecture, style and class that I think Edmonton has to offer!
When we pulled up in our cab, a bellman was immediately there to help with our bags. When we walked into the hotel I was overwhelmed by its beauty and sense of "history".
When checking in we mentioned to Calan (who it turned out was the concierge and just helping at the desk) that this was for my birthday and our first time there. This extremely friendly, polite, personable and professional young man smiled and clicked away on his computer and said "Happy Birthday" and upgraded our room to a higher floor and a room with a view of the river valley!! What a wonderful surprise and gift! Thank you Calan.
We went to our room....if you are looking for a modern, sleek hotel room...then don't come here. But if you are looking for a beautiful, opulent, historic room that makes you just want to stay forever then get here as fast as you can.
I've seen Edmonton my whole life...but seeing the river valley from a window in the Mac is a whole different experience...I kept thinking how lucky I was to live in such a beautiful city...my sense of pride in my city went way up!
The room was just beautiful, the draperies and bedding were exquisite! And the two arm chairs were just a pleasure to sink into.
The bed was extremely comfortable as were the pillows. We loved the duvet...light weight but nice and warm on a cold March weekend.
We had asked to have the bar fridge emptied, as we didn't need what was in it but need the room for some medication. The original room my hubby booked already had that done, but because we had changed rooms it wasn't of course emptied. A wonderful young lady came to the room, not 15 minutes after we arrived and emptied the fridge for us.
Soon after we settled in, there was a knock on the door and a room service man was there with a plate of assorted chocolates and "Happy Birthday" scrolled on the plate in chocolate...what an unexpected treat and I believe we have Calan to thank for this also.
We went and explored the hotel...sneaking a peek into the ballroom (where it was set up for an event)...breathtaking!! We went into the Wedgwood room and I don't even know how to describe it...so intricate, sophisticated, classic....words fail!
We then went to the Confederation room for a drink and dinner. The food was good but the service was excellent...just the right amount of attention without feeling like the waitress was "hanging" on you. I wish I could remember her name...she was so friendly and attentive.
Calan dropped by our table, bringing us some historic information on the hotel, as we had mentioned at check in that we loved history. He suggested that, if we were interested we stop by the concierge desk the next day and see him.
We did just that and were amazed to find that he was willing to take us up to the "8th floor" (very exclusive suites there) and give us a personal tour of some of the suites! They were breath taking...all of the ones we saw...I never even imagined that Edmonton (or maybe anywhere in North America) would have these kinds of suites...the class, elegance and history of these rooms is amazing!! Thank you again to Calan...this made the weekend so much more special to us!
We had dinner in the Harvest Room (Calan escorted us to the reception desk and introduced us to the maître d as the evenings V.I.P. guests...I blushed but I felt just like royalty!
We were lucky enough to be at the hotel during Edmonton's "Downtown Dining Week" so we ate from the special "Executive Menu" prepared for this event. All the food was excellent...but the braised short rib was maybe the best thing I have EVER eaten!! Thank you to the chef and all the kitchen staff...the meal was fantastic and we're coming back next year for dinner to see what you create!
Ivan was our waiter and he was so friendly and made us feel just like V.I.P.'s (although we saw him giving the same level of service to other tables...but I think he makes everyone he serves feel special). He did a great job of explaining the food when it came, making sure everything was alright and that we were enjoying our meal. The maître d stopped by twice to check on how we were enjoying everything and even cleared our dishes when he was there once...I loved that he didn't feel/act "above" doing that...you can tell that the staff are a real "team" and work together seamlessly. The "pace" of the meal was especially nice..not feeling "rushed" through dinner...having a chance to enjoy the meal and the ambiance of the beautiful dining room.
(When we were getting ready for supper, I was putting on my makeup in the bathroom. I accidentally knocked over my bottle of foundation...it broke on the tiles and it made a huge mess...I mean REALLY bad...foundation all over the bathroom floor, the door, towels etc. We picked up the glass and tried to clean it up...but there was just no way to do it without cleaning supplies. We had a reservation for dinner and we had to leave the room or miss our reservation. I called housekeeping...very embarrassed and feeling very bad about such a mess. The lady who answered the phone was great, told me not to feel bad and made me feel a little better. By the time we got back from supper, housekeeping had been in the room, totally cleaned up the mess...and then had gone the "extra mile" and tidied up our room, replenished our shampoo, made our bed and turned it down for us! I can't thank them enough...I wish I knew who to thank, personally, for such hard, dedicated work...but to whoever it was I really appreciated it!!)
We went swimming in the pool and spent some time in the hot tub...both were really nice...clean and elegant. We looked at the gym...but didn't work out...but it is very well equipped (says my husband...he goes to the gym but I don't so I'll take his word for it).
The staff at the gift shop were very friendly and helpful. My only wish was that there was some souvenir that was reflective of the hotel itself (something with it's picture, information on it...not sure what...there were some postcards, but that's all I noticed like that).
Calan also gave us a late check out time so we could enjoy the hotel for a little longer.
When we checked out James helped us through the process and we extremely friendly, polite and professional.
The hotel costs more than others we have stayed in, in Edmonton, the food and drinks are more expensive...but it is totally worth it!!! This was not just a "weekend away" it was an "experience"....we left both feeling contented and like we had just come home from a much longer "holiday"...totally relaxed and refreshed.
Thank you to everyone at the hotel...the building is incredible but the staff make it an "experience to remember".

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river valley...you won't want to close your curtains!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    121
    42
    20
    8
See reviews for
59
128
26
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Arrived at the Fairmont Hotel MacDonald last night.... just checked out 2 nights early due to the complete lack of brand polish. In short, the front desk took 25 minutes to retrieve the Presidents Club reservation made via fairmont.com ?? ... followed by an initial room assignment to a basic room facing the street ( despite the reservation for a guranteed river view 'Signature' view room) ... so back to the front desk and more waiting and apologies while the new room key for the correct room was made up. Back up to the room. Window was left open... room was about (-5 C). So back down to the front desk for a 3rd room. Breakfast this morning was delivered 55 minutes after it was ordered via room service... And then final straw, my vehicle was left outside (in -14C) in front of the hotel instead of inside warm and secure... So back up to the room to collect belongings and to check out. Incredible failures from start to finish and about as far from a "Fairmont experience" as I have ever had. Save your energy and stay ANYWHERE else while in Etown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarrettTurta, General Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your comments.

It was very disheartening to hear of the difficulties that you encountered while staying with us. I will ensure follow up is completed with our front office team to rectify any deficiencies. We are known for a very high level of service and attention to detail and it was disappointing to hear that we failed on this occurrence. With regards to your vehicle, we do have indoor heated parking, however for oversized vehicles they do remain outside as they do not fit in our parking facilities.

We do hope to welcome you back to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future so we can restore your faith in us.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Hotel MacDonald delivers what you expect from one of the old, great Railway hotels in Canada. Excellent service and comfortable rooms, its a great place to stay to either enjoy downtown Edmonton, or just hang out in the hotel and enjoy its ambience. The 'Mac is at its best on a warm summer night when you can sit on the terrace and enjoy a cocktail, overlooking the river valley. The atmosphere of "old grandeur" comes with a premium - it costs about $50.00 more than the "big box" hotels that are located nearby. But don't kid yourself - at its price point, it is still on of the most affordable luxury hotels left in the world.

Be a rock star or a tycoon for the night, and stay at the Mac. It's worth it!

Room Tip: Higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Spent a 3-day weekend at the Fairmont MacDonald in Edmonton. Very well located downtown with excellent access to stores and restaurants and a quick drive to other places we wanted to see. Really friendly staff made the whole trip quite enjoyable. Refurbished hotel overlooking the North Saskatchewan River is just delightful. Clean comfortable room. Try a cocktail in the Confederation Lounge overlooking South Edmonton. Great place for a quick holiday. Now, if they could just do a little something about the weather in March...

Room Tip: Sixth floor has been re-done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

A truly nice hotel. Visually this was a great place inside and out. High on a hill giving from my room really magnificent views of the snow covered terrain and the frozen river. Great atmosphere and the staff were very friendly. I found the bar prices high but the atmosphere was warm and friendly. Would recommend this hotel if you are doing business in the downtown area.

Room Tip: Ask for high room facing the river for beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarrettTurta, General Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your feedback.

It was very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was pleasing to hear your comments regarding our team. I will ensure your comments are shared.

We look forward to welcoming you swiftly back to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

There is only one place to stay in Edmonton and this is it. A model of how to maintain an classic old build and blend in appropriate décor. Service at the bar was perfect. Best part is you are remembered the next day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarrettTurta, General Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments of your most recent stay.

It was very pleasing to hear your feedback and I will ensure your comments are shared with my team. We pride ourselves on a very high level of service and attention to detail and it is always nice to hear our efforts are being delivered.

We do hope to welcome you back to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed here for work conference. As our company typically books with Fairmont, we stay at quite a few. Hands down this one is tops in my books. Rooms were large! Not typical for Fairmont. Updated roooms. Gym was pretty decent and has 2 squash courts to boot. I would happily go back. Our conference cocktails were priced over the top in my opinion. Perhaps the best conference dinner food I have every had to boot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Address: 10065 100th St, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#3 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#10 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Downtown Hotel located 30 km from international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Edmonton
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Fairmont Edmonton
Edmonton Fairmont
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald Edmonton, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.