We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time for A Visit from Corporate Training & Compliance.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10065 100th St, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 89 hotels in Edmonton
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Time for A Visit from Corporate Training & Compliance.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Arrived at the Fairmont Hotel MacDonald last night.... just checked out 2 nights early due to the complete lack of brand polish. In short, the front desk took 25 minutes to retrieve the Presidents Club reservation made via fairmont.com ?? ... followed by an initial room assignment to a basic room facing the street ( despite the reservation for a guranteed river view 'Signature' view room) ... so back to the front desk and more waiting and apologies while the new room key for the correct room was made up. Back up to the room. Window was left open... room was about (-5 C). So back down to the front desk for a 3rd room. Breakfast this morning was delivered 55 minutes after it was ordered via room service... And then final straw, my vehicle was left outside (in -14C) in front of the hotel instead of inside warm and secure... So back up to the room to collect belongings and to check out. Incredible failures from start to finish and about as far from a "Fairmont experience" as I have ever had. Save your energy and stay ANYWHERE else while in Etown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarrettTurta, General Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your comments.

It was very disheartening to hear of the difficulties that you encountered while staying with us. I will ensure follow up is completed with our front office team to rectify any deficiencies. We are known for a very high level of service and attention to detail and it was disappointing to hear that we failed on this occurrence. With regards to your vehicle, we do have indoor heated parking, however for oversized vehicles they do remain outside as they do not fit in our parking facilities.

We do hope to welcome you back to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future so we can restore your faith in us.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    103
    39
    17
    4
See reviews for
46
105
22
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Hotel MacDonald delivers what you expect from one of the old, great Railway hotels in Canada. Excellent service and comfortable rooms, its a great place to stay to either enjoy downtown Edmonton, or just hang out in the hotel and enjoy its ambience. The 'Mac is at its best on a warm summer night when you can sit on the terrace and enjoy a cocktail, overlooking the river valley. The atmosphere of "old grandeur" comes with a premium - it costs about $50.00 more than the "big box" hotels that are located nearby. But don't kid yourself - at its price point, it is still on of the most affordable luxury hotels left in the world.

Be a rock star or a tycoon for the night, and stay at the Mac. It's worth it!

Room Tip: Higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Spent a 3-day weekend at the Fairmont MacDonald in Edmonton. Very well located downtown with excellent access to stores and restaurants and a quick drive to other places we wanted to see. Really friendly staff made the whole trip quite enjoyable. Refurbished hotel overlooking the North Saskatchewan River is just delightful. Clean comfortable room. Try a cocktail in the Confederation Lounge overlooking South Edmonton. Great place for a quick holiday. Now, if they could just do a little something about the weather in March...

Room Tip: Sixth floor has been re-done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

A truly nice hotel. Visually this was a great place inside and out. High on a hill giving from my room really magnificent views of the snow covered terrain and the frozen river. Great atmosphere and the staff were very friendly. I found the bar prices high but the atmosphere was warm and friendly. Would recommend this hotel if you are doing business in the downtown area.

Room Tip: Ask for high room facing the river for beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarrettTurta, General Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your feedback.

It was very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was pleasing to hear your comments regarding our team. I will ensure your comments are shared.

We look forward to welcoming you swiftly back to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

There is only one place to stay in Edmonton and this is it. A model of how to maintain an classic old build and blend in appropriate décor. Service at the bar was perfect. Best part is you are remembered the next day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarrettTurta, General Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments of your most recent stay.

It was very pleasing to hear your feedback and I will ensure your comments are shared with my team. We pride ourselves on a very high level of service and attention to detail and it is always nice to hear our efforts are being delivered.

We do hope to welcome you back to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed here for work conference. As our company typically books with Fairmont, we stay at quite a few. Hands down this one is tops in my books. Rooms were large! Not typical for Fairmont. Updated roooms. Gym was pretty decent and has 2 squash courts to boot. I would happily go back. Our conference cocktails were priced over the top in my opinion. Perhaps the best conference dinner food I have every had to boot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were updated, larger than normal typical Fairmount hotels. Was there for a conference, drinks seemed very pricey for highballs.
Location was great. Lounge was a decent. Service seemed to lack a bit. All in all pretty decent.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Edmonton
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Fairmont Edmonton
Edmonton Fairmont
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald Edmonton, Alberta
Address: 10065 100th St, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#9 Family Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Downtown Hotel located 30 km from international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.