We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald to your Saves list
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10065 100th St, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 89 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at the Macdonald because we were going to an event at the Shaw Conference centre, which was nearby. It was a very nice hotel, though it wasn't as impressive as other Fairmonts. We used the pool, which was quite large. I was disappointed when I heard it was in the basement but it did have windows and even doors going outside, which would have been nice if it was warmer! I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Next time I would ask for a river view room rather than a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate the feedback regarding your recent stay with us at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald.

Thank you for visiting with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Connie Jakob
Guest Relations Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    161
    52
    24
    11
See reviews for
89
176
34
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I love staying at this hotel when I am in Edmonton. It is a convenient, beautiful hotel with great views of the river valley. My room was updated nicely but still had the classic charm of the hotel and the staff was friendly and helpful. Room service was prompt and accurate and the food was excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay downtown; I think it is a great choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review from your recent visit with us at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald. Your recommendation as a place to visit and stay when in Edmonton is much appreciated.

Thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Best regards,

Connie Jakob
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

A bit dated, but the service at this hotel excels... they look after you really well, and there is nothing left to be desired. The price was also quite competitive. The sable fish with soy glaze (a special) was delish.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We took the kids and stayed 1 night in a grand deluxe river view room and it was the best hotel experience. The staff / service was second to none and when speaking to staff, they actually enjoy working at the hotel which is nice to hear. The hotel has an air of welcome one and all and not at all pompous or stuck up. Yet it kept its luxury feel / status throughout our stay. The breakfast buffet was freshly cooked foods as well as cold european style fruits and cheeses. They were all very tasty indeed. We also spent the $32 on valet parking which was worth it considering minus 27c, we really felt for the staff outside valeting the cars, but they had happy smiles! The tiniest improvement would be to offer, as its an international hotel, more choice of newspaper than the Edmonton Sun!! We have experienced the Jasper Park lodge and yes the scenery there is clearly superior but it is the Macdonald staff that made our stay far more enjoyable than JPL, we will return Hotel Mac, thanks!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete such an extensive and detailed review of your recent visit to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay and sincerely appreciate your wonderful feedback on our property, service and team.

Your input on the choice of newspapers has been noted and shared with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,


Afif Salibi -Direcotr of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed here a couple of nights and thought this is was the perfect place to explore parts of Edmonton. I found that the room was spacious, comfortable and easy to connect with wifi. The staff was friendly and helpful with requests.

When I arrived, I mentioned to the front desk employee (Mona) that the airline had lost my bag and it had everything I needed for the week. Not only did she empathize with my problem but she took it upon herself to make multiple calls to the airlines and reported back to me what she found. The bag ended up coming the same night. I think it is rare to find that degree of care and concern by a hotel staff member.

I would definitely stay here again as it is located right next to the largest outdoor park system in North America and close to downtown restaurants and retail shops.

Room Tip: My room faced the back and at night I could see the colorful pyramids of the botanical gardens out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was my first experience staying at a Fairmont Hotel and I was not disappointed having visited others on previous occasions, mainly involved in propping up the local economy by exchanging cash for the local beer on offer. This was a family affair however and after check in and discovering our room was not as per our booking, I enquired with Front Desk. This was met with a smile, an immediate solution which included an upgrade. The location and views are excellent with a range of dining options, all of which come with high level of customer service. It also opposite Ruth Chris's Stakehouse, which I will also be reporting on. I highly recommend the Fairmont Hotel Macdonald. Check out my review of the Fairmont Lake Louise coming soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review on the Trip Advisor site. We were very happy to read that your visit with the family was indeed memorable and that the level of service from the team was up to the standard that Fairmont is known for!

Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again in the near future.

Best regards,

Afif Salibi – Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The hotel looks stunning overlooking the frozen river. We had a wonderful stay in Edmonton. The staff were extremely courteous and could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. We had a wonderful room and the New Year's brunch was something else. The ballroom was amazingly decorated and the food absolutely magnificent. The dinners in the Harvest room were magnificent as was the service. All in all an exceptional experience.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the higher levels are a little too warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Matrix Hotel
#7 of 89 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 stars 918 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Edmonton
The Westin Edmonton
#36 of 89 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 stars 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#3 of 89 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 stars 559 reviews
Downtown
Union Bank Inn
Union Bank Inn
#16 of 89 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Address: 10065 100th St, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#1 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#5 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#8 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Downtown Hotel located 30 km from international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Edmonton
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Fairmont Edmonton
Edmonton Fairmont
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald Edmonton, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.