We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful centrally located histortic hotel in Edmonton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald to your Saves list
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10065 100th St, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 89 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Beautiful centrally located histortic hotel in Edmonton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed here a couple of nights and thought this is was the perfect place to explore parts of Edmonton. I found that the room was spacious, comfortable and easy to connect with wifi. The staff was friendly and helpful with requests.

When I arrived, I mentioned to the front desk employee (Mona) that the airline had lost my bag and it had everything I needed for the week. Not only did she empathize with my problem but she took it upon herself to make multiple calls to the airlines and reported back to me what she found. The bag ended up coming the same night. I think it is rare to find that degree of care and concern by a hotel staff member.

I would definitely stay here again as it is located right next to the largest outdoor park system in North America and close to downtown restaurants and retail shops.

Room Tip: My room faced the back and at night I could see the colorful pyramids of the botanical gardens out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    151
    50
    23
    11
See reviews for
75
161
34
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was my first experience staying at a Fairmont Hotel and I was not disappointed having visited others on previous occasions, mainly involved in propping up the local economy by exchanging cash for the local beer on offer. This was a family affair however and after check in and discovering our room was not as per our booking, I enquired with Front Desk. This was met with a smile, an immediate solution which included an upgrade. The location and views are excellent with a range of dining options, all of which come with high level of customer service. It also opposite Ruth Chris's Stakehouse, which I will also be reporting on. I highly recommend the Fairmont Hotel Macdonald. Check out my review of the Fairmont Lake Louise coming soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review on the Trip Advisor site. We were very happy to read that your visit with the family was indeed memorable and that the level of service from the team was up to the standard that Fairmont is known for!

Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again in the near future.

Best regards,

Afif Salibi – Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The hotel looks stunning overlooking the frozen river. We had a wonderful stay in Edmonton. The staff were extremely courteous and could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. We had a wonderful room and the New Year's brunch was something else. The ballroom was amazingly decorated and the food absolutely magnificent. The dinners in the Harvest room were magnificent as was the service. All in all an exceptional experience.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the higher levels are a little too warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

From check in to check out, I felt truly valued. Love the history and glamor of this beautiful Hotel and the proximity to downtown venues. Valets and bellmen were excellent. Front desk staff very helpful and friendly. Cleaning crew super accomodating. It was Christmas so spa area was a little messy. Lounge staff super nice. Menu limited and expensive. Stunning views of river valley.

Room Tip: Haven't had a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The hotel has great service and the staff were very kind during my stay. Rooms and bed's were comfortable but the room needs some updating for the price paid. The wallpaper in the bathroom were coming off and there were some spots on the carpet. Shower was a little dirty as well and the toilet cover had a hard time staying up. The room just needs to be a little cleaner but I had a soundless sleep and service was top notch at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Mac is the best, it has everything you want during your stay in Edmonton.
Excellent restaurant, great lounge, very pleasant staff, beautifully appointed rooms with everything. A tremendous spa area, neat clean with everything operational, steam room, hot tub, pool, exercise equipment ... it's a great hotel in the heart of downtown Edmonton.

Room Tip: Ask Erin at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights over New Year's. It is in an excellent location -- close to the downtown New Year's festivities; LRT and bus stops; and, downtown shopping. The employees were polite and friendly. The service (in the restaurants and at the front desk) was a bit slow -- maybe, they were understaffed. The hotel was beautifully appointed -- the Christmas decorations were very pretty. The Confederation Lounge was a very cozy place to enjoy dinner and evening night caps. The pool was the best I've ever used in a hotel -- ten meters long, so, could actually do some lengths. The bed was super comfy and our view was excellent -- kind of wished we'd gone in summer so we could look over the grounds and the river valley. I only have a few complaints: parking was EXPENSIVE; we got charged for internet (again, expensive) even though I'm part of the President's Club; the tv seemed to distort the picture (made the actors look wider;) and, the smoke alarm flashed really brightly. But, overall, a grand stay at a grand hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us was at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald over the holiday season. Your comments are much appreciated and have been shared with the departments to ensure your concerns are addressed.

At the same time, we are very pleased to see that you have enjoyed some of the various facilities that our hotel has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.

Best regards,

Afif Salibi – Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Address: 10065 100th St, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#2 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#10 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Downtown Hotel located 30 km from international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Edmonton
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Fairmont Edmonton
Edmonton Fairmont
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald Edmonton, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.