We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Edmonton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10065 100th St, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 89 hotels in Edmonton
honolulu
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Edmonton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

From check in to check out, I felt truly valued. Love the history and glamor of this beautiful Hotel and the proximity to downtown venues. Valets and bellmen were excellent. Front desk staff very helpful and friendly. Cleaning crew super accomodating. It was Christmas so spa area was a little messy. Lounge staff super nice. Menu limited and expensive. Stunning views of river valley.

Room Tip: Haven't had a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    103
    39
    17
    4
See reviews for
46
105
22
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The hotel has great service and the staff were very kind during my stay. Rooms and bed's were comfortable but the room needs some updating for the price paid. The wallpaper in the bathroom were coming off and there were some spots on the carpet. Shower was a little dirty as well and the toilet cover had a hard time staying up. The room just needs to be a little cleaner but I had a soundless sleep and service was top notch at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Mac is the best, it has everything you want during your stay in Edmonton.
Excellent restaurant, great lounge, very pleasant staff, beautifully appointed rooms with everything. A tremendous spa area, neat clean with everything operational, steam room, hot tub, pool, exercise equipment ... it's a great hotel in the heart of downtown Edmonton.

Room Tip: Ask Erin at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights over New Year's. It is in an excellent location -- close to the downtown New Year's festivities; LRT and bus stops; and, downtown shopping. The employees were polite and friendly. The service (in the restaurants and at the front desk) was a bit slow -- maybe, they were understaffed. The hotel was beautifully appointed -- the Christmas decorations were very pretty. The Confederation Lounge was a very cozy place to enjoy dinner and evening night caps. The pool was the best I've ever used in a hotel -- ten meters long, so, could actually do some lengths. The bed was super comfy and our view was excellent -- kind of wished we'd gone in summer so we could look over the grounds and the river valley. I only have a few complaints: parking was EXPENSIVE; we got charged for internet (again, expensive) even though I'm part of the President's Club; the tv seemed to distort the picture (made the actors look wider;) and, the smoke alarm flashed really brightly. But, overall, a grand stay at a grand hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us was at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald over the holiday season. Your comments are much appreciated and have been shared with the departments to ensure your concerns are addressed.

At the same time, we are very pleased to see that you have enjoyed some of the various facilities that our hotel has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.

Best regards,

Afif Salibi – Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

It's a great hotel, with very friendly staff. I asked for late check out and staff were more than accommodating to meet my request. They have a great breakfast, albeit a bit pricy. I absolutely love the lounge in the lobby, best place to enjoy a drink by the fireplace. Rooms are nice, but could use a bit of a facelift.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Wow! You open the curtains of your riverview luxury hotel room in the morning and you see a prairie sunrise you have ever dreamt of. Overlooking the river, the Mac (this is how Edmontonians call this hotel with a lot of affection) is an amazing island of peace and luxury in downtown. Staff is amazingly friendly, big guestrooms, all bathrooms renovated and in great shape and if you pay the increment to a riverview room you have a stunning view! Can't get any better in Edmonton!

Room Tip: Pay the extra couple of $$ for a riverview room. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate the feedback regarding your stay with us at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald.

The team was delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay. Your comments regarding your guestroom, the views and the friendly customer service is appreciated and has been shared with the team. They all work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Connie Jakob-Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Friendly and professional staff from the valets, front desk and housekeeping. Cannot stress more how friendly the staff were. We were there for one night, Christmas party. The food was good and the room was nicely decorated. We had a city view room. Must mention how comfortable the bed was! Slept great! Thank you again to the staff for making our visit very enjoyable! Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback regarding your recent experience at our hotel. We were delighted to see that you have enjoyed the services offered at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald. Our team works very hard to ensure that your stay is memorable and your warm comments will be shared with all the departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,


Connie Jakob-Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Edmonton
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Fairmont Edmonton
Edmonton Fairmont
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald Edmonton, Alberta
Address: 10065 100th St, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#6 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#9 Family Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Downtown Hotel located 30 km from international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.