We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Stay in a Historical Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10065 100th St, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 91 Hotels in Edmonton
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Lovely Stay in a Historical Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights over New Year's. It is in an excellent location -- close to the downtown New Year's festivities; LRT and bus stops; and, downtown shopping. The employees were polite and friendly. The service (in the restaurants and at the front desk) was a bit slow -- maybe, they were understaffed. The hotel was beautifully appointed -- the Christmas decorations were very pretty. The Confederation Lounge was a very cozy place to enjoy dinner and evening night caps. The pool was the best I've ever used in a hotel -- ten meters long, so, could actually do some lengths. The bed was super comfy and our view was excellent -- kind of wished we'd gone in summer so we could look over the grounds and the river valley. I only have a few complaints: parking was EXPENSIVE; we got charged for internet (again, expensive) even though I'm part of the President's Club; the tv seemed to distort the picture (made the actors look wider;) and, the smoke alarm flashed really brightly. But, overall, a grand stay at a grand hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us was at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald over the holiday season. Your comments are much appreciated and have been shared with the departments to ensure your concerns are addressed.

At the same time, we are very pleased to see that you have enjoyed some of the various facilities that our hotel has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.

Best regards,

Afif Salibi – Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    126
    43
    20
    8
See reviews for
62
129
26
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

It's a great hotel, with very friendly staff. I asked for late check out and staff were more than accommodating to meet my request. They have a great breakfast, albeit a bit pricy. I absolutely love the lounge in the lobby, best place to enjoy a drink by the fireplace. Rooms are nice, but could use a bit of a facelift.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Wow! You open the curtains of your riverview luxury hotel room in the morning and you see a prairie sunrise you have ever dreamt of. Overlooking the river, the Mac (this is how Edmontonians call this hotel with a lot of affection) is an amazing island of peace and luxury in downtown. Staff is amazingly friendly, big guestrooms, all bathrooms renovated and in great shape and if you pay the increment to a riverview room you have a stunning view! Can't get any better in Edmonton!

Room Tip: Pay the extra couple of $$ for a riverview room. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate the feedback regarding your stay with us at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald.

The team was delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay. Your comments regarding your guestroom, the views and the friendly customer service is appreciated and has been shared with the team. They all work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Connie Jakob-Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Friendly and professional staff from the valets, front desk and housekeeping. Cannot stress more how friendly the staff were. We were there for one night, Christmas party. The food was good and the room was nicely decorated. We had a city view room. Must mention how comfortable the bed was! Slept great! Thank you again to the staff for making our visit very enjoyable! Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback regarding your recent experience at our hotel. We were delighted to see that you have enjoyed the services offered at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald. Our team works very hard to ensure that your stay is memorable and your warm comments will be shared with all the departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,


Connie Jakob-Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowsnest Pass, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Hotel Macdonald located above the river valley provides an amazing view of the city skyline and is a historic marvel. We enjoyed wandering the rooms and taking in the craftmanship that went into the orgingal construction and later renovations of the hotel. The friendly & courteus service coupled with elegant rooms and excellent cuisine creates an atmosphere that is both relaxing & refreshing. Another bonus is the location which is within easy distance of attractions including a stunning art gallery, botanical gardens, concert hall & museum.

Room Tip: Request a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We decided to come up to Edmonton for a night for my birthday.

The hotel left a great first impression! It is beautiful first of all! We were greeted as soon as we walked in and directed to reception. The check in was quick and pleasant. The girl at te front desk described the amenities to us right away.

Inside the lobby the hotel felt very cozy. They ha a huge "gingerbread" version of the building which was all lit up- it was sooo cute and made it feel like Christmas!


We got room 725, which is AMAZING! it was so cozy. I loved the little "lobby" in our room. Visitors wouldn't be able to see the bed and the tool itself.

The room was a good size and very clean. Need I say I loved the view!!!

The bathroom was large, very clean. The products smell very nice and are actually worth putting in your hair and on your skin, unlike some stuff you get in other places.

The staff was very polite- I appreciated that

We wanted to have dinner at the restaurant downstairs, bR unfortunately they were all booked up. I recommend you make a reso there when you book your room. We looked at the menu and I wanted all of the meals. You can expect to pay near 40 per meal - expected at the level of service and experience you get at the Fairmont.

We had drinks and snacks at the confederation lounge, which was more casual. The wine is about 12-15 per (very decent sized) glass. We had nachos which were the best I have ever eaten!!
Our server was such a nice man. He even brought me a fruit plate with a candle and a "happy birthday" written in chocolate :)

I can't wait to have an excuse to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate the feedback regarding your stay with us at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald.

On behalf of the team, thank you for all your wonderful words regarding your stay with us.
The great comments on your room with a view, the amenities, the warm ambiance, quality of the food in The Confederation Lounge and the attentive memorable service received from the team.

Thank you for visiting with us and we too look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,


Connie Jakob -Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

A stay at the Hotel MacDonald is always a grand event. The service is always stellar and the room was clean, comfortable and well decorated. We were greeted right away without any wait and the wait-staff catered to our needs even when Not much more to say other than well done.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Address: 10065 100th St, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#5 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#9 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Downtown Hotel located 30 km from international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Edmonton
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Fairmont Edmonton
Edmonton Fairmont
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald Edmonton, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.