We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace, History and Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald to your Saves list
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10065 100th St, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 90 Hotels in Edmonton
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jasper, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Peace, History and Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Wow! You open the curtains of your riverview luxury hotel room in the morning and you see a prairie sunrise you have ever dreamt of. Overlooking the river, the Mac (this is how Edmontonians call this hotel with a lot of affection) is an amazing island of peace and luxury in downtown. Staff is amazingly friendly, big guestrooms, all bathrooms renovated and in great shape and if you pay the increment to a riverview room you have a stunning view! Can't get any better in Edmonton!

Room Tip: Pay the extra couple of $$ for a riverview room. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate the feedback regarding your stay with us at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald.

The team was delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay. Your comments regarding your guestroom, the views and the friendly customer service is appreciated and has been shared with the team. They all work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Connie Jakob-Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    134
    45
    22
    10
See reviews for
65
142
28
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Spruce Grove
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Friendly and professional staff from the valets, front desk and housekeeping. Cannot stress more how friendly the staff were. We were there for one night, Christmas party. The food was good and the room was nicely decorated. We had a city view room. Must mention how comfortable the bed was! Slept great! Thank you again to the staff for making our visit very enjoyable! Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback regarding your recent experience at our hotel. We were delighted to see that you have enjoyed the services offered at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald. Our team works very hard to ensure that your stay is memorable and your warm comments will be shared with all the departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,


Connie Jakob-Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowsnest Pass, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Hotel Macdonald located above the river valley provides an amazing view of the city skyline and is a historic marvel. We enjoyed wandering the rooms and taking in the craftmanship that went into the orgingal construction and later renovations of the hotel. The friendly & courteus service coupled with elegant rooms and excellent cuisine creates an atmosphere that is both relaxing & refreshing. Another bonus is the location which is within easy distance of attractions including a stunning art gallery, botanical gardens, concert hall & museum.

Room Tip: Request a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We decided to come up to Edmonton for a night for my birthday.

The hotel left a great first impression! It is beautiful first of all! We were greeted as soon as we walked in and directed to reception. The check in was quick and pleasant. The girl at te front desk described the amenities to us right away.

Inside the lobby the hotel felt very cozy. They ha a huge "gingerbread" version of the building which was all lit up- it was sooo cute and made it feel like Christmas!


We got room 725, which is AMAZING! it was so cozy. I loved the little "lobby" in our room. Visitors wouldn't be able to see the bed and the tool itself.

The room was a good size and very clean. Need I say I loved the view!!!

The bathroom was large, very clean. The products smell very nice and are actually worth putting in your hair and on your skin, unlike some stuff you get in other places.

The staff was very polite- I appreciated that

We wanted to have dinner at the restaurant downstairs, bR unfortunately they were all booked up. I recommend you make a reso there when you book your room. We looked at the menu and I wanted all of the meals. You can expect to pay near 40 per meal - expected at the level of service and experience you get at the Fairmont.

We had drinks and snacks at the confederation lounge, which was more casual. The wine is about 12-15 per (very decent sized) glass. We had nachos which were the best I have ever eaten!!
Our server was such a nice man. He even brought me a fruit plate with a candle and a "happy birthday" written in chocolate :)

I can't wait to have an excuse to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate the feedback regarding your stay with us at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald.

On behalf of the team, thank you for all your wonderful words regarding your stay with us.
The great comments on your room with a view, the amenities, the warm ambiance, quality of the food in The Confederation Lounge and the attentive memorable service received from the team.

Thank you for visiting with us and we too look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,


Connie Jakob -Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

A stay at the Hotel MacDonald is always a grand event. The service is always stellar and the room was clean, comfortable and well decorated. We were greeted right away without any wait and the wait-staff catered to our needs even when Not much more to say other than well done.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed here for a work conference. The hotel is in a convenient location if you want easy access to downtown or to transit. This means that parking is not included so you'll need to add $28 a day to the cost of the room if you have a car, but you don't necessarily need one if you are coming in from the airport and staying downtown. The room I had was larger than I expected given that the hotel is a heritage hotel, but I had a wonderful view of the bus station. The bed was comfortable and it was quiet - I didn't really hear noise outside the room. My only real complaint is that the shower didn't have great pressure and it was not hot even when it was turned as hot as it would go. I didn't eat in a restaurant, but we had catered meetings and the catering and meeting spaces were fantastic.
I would stay again, but I don't know that I would pay Fairmont pricing if I were not travelling on business.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the river valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We have well noted your remarks regarding the shower pressure and water temperature and this has been worked on and rectified accordingly. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have faced.

Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Afif Salibi
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
301 helpful votes 301 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Beautiful historic hotel in downtown Edmonton very close to everything. The lobby and the public rooms are restored and look fabulous. When I checked in I thought to myself this is going to be a very nice luxurious hotel to stay in. Service was top notch everywhere but check in which was ok but not what I expect from the Fairmont. Food was very good and the lounge was a very inviting space with live music in the evenings and very good but very limited menu.

The surprise came when I opened the door top my hotel room, the room was not large for sure but the bathroom was pathetic and the tub was chipped in many places, the bathroom was dark and small....come on the Fairmont is better than this! This is a 4* hotel and not up to the Fairmont name when it comes to the guest rooms so be aware of what to expect.

At the end of the day probably still one of the better hotels in Edmonton just ton't compare to other Fairmonts and you will be fine.

Room Tip: Sorry I don't have any tips on how to get a good room at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.

We were certainly disappointed to read that your stay was not up to your expectations, especially with your check-in experience and the quality of the bathroom in your guestroom.

Please know that your experience has been shared with the departments involved and will be taken into consideration in the care and upkeep of our castle on the hill.

At the same time, we were glad to see that service received from our colleagues overall was top notch, which is a great testimony of us offering our renowned Fairmont luxury service to all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Connie Jakob
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Address: 10065 100th St, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Downtown Hotel located 30 km from international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Edmonton
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Fairmont Edmonton
Edmonton Fairmont
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald Edmonton, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.