We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all you could want in a shopping experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Edmonton Mall

West Edmonton Mall
8882 170th St, Edmonton, Alberta T5T 4M2, Canada (Summerlea)
780-444-5200
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 shopping in Edmonton
Type: Malls, Amusement/ Theme Parks, Water Parks
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The world's largest shopping and entertainment complex, with a roller coaster, tropical rainforest and an indoor bungee jump, in addition to the over 800 stores and 20 restaurants.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“all you could want in a shopping experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

west edmonton mall has all you could ask for in shopping/dining...and hotels.....there is a lot of walking but if you are a senior there are electric medi scooters if you can't walk far....any of the restaraunts we were in had excellent food and service....we stayed in the hotel there and it was very clean,quiet and comfortable and the rates weren't unreasonable....there is a theme park if you have children....and a wide varity of stores to shop in

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    352
    167
    31
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely mind boggling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Before my most recent visit I had been to West Edmonton Mall once, when I was three years old. Now that I'm 30 I've made a return trip and the scope of the mall is truly mind boggling, there was a store for just about everything that you could think of, including the dozens of clothing stores but more impressive to me there were several stores with pop culture collectibles in the mall! I'm used to having to go from place to place across the city to find a differing selection. Only downside was that there is so much to see that I did not have time to take it all in during my brief stay!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wainwright, Alaska
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fun Mall for the whole family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I visited the mall in June 2013. This mall is huge!!! It is the largest shopping mall in North America (5,300,00 sq ft.) and the tenth largest in the world. There are over 800 stores and services, parking for more than 20,000 vehicles, it has a indoor theme park that houses the Mind bender Roller Coaster, it has the worlds second largest indoor water park with the worlds largest indoor wave pool. You will also find a sea lions rock and Caverns inside the mall. It has a indoor ice rink, amazing movie theater, miniature golf, bowling alley, pool hall, arcade and several themed areas such as Bourbon Street, China Town and Europa Blvd. There are several restaurants as well and so, so much more. It is a must see place if your in the area. My family and I had a wonderful time, very enjoyable!!! Warning: make sure to take plenty of Moo-lah! :)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“the busiest all-in-one mall in alberta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

an all-in-one mall perfect for people living in remote areas outside edmonton. it has it's own hotel, water park, theme park, miniature golf, shooting range, bowling alley, video game arcade, cinemas, ice rink. it has tons of restaurants and shops. don't understand though why it doesn't have toys r us, future shop, nor best buy. it gets really crowded in the afternoon until the evening, especially on weekends.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“West Edmonton Mall, Canada.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I visited there along with my family and relatives, its a very big mall. Mostly all the things were available under one roof, such as branded and local shops of cloths, jewlery, shoes, cosmatics, medicine, travelling agents, cinema, food courts, fish aquariums, shooting area and etc. etc. There was a very good theme park and a big ice skating court, my son spend most of his time over there. We all enjoyed a lot.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Edmonton Mall also viewed

 
Edmonton, Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to West Edmonton Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Edmonton Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added West Edmonton Mall to your Saves list